Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

We have just spent another holiday in the delightful Barleywood Cottage. Brenda and Tony are super hosts so helpful with everything. The cottage is extremely well equipped and a welcome pack is provided The garden and pool are very well kept and peaceful. We cannot wait to go back next year

February 2016

Barbara Warren (Norwich )

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed in a lot of places in ZA, this is the best, trust me on this. Brenda and Tony are the best hosts we have ever had. Can not do enough for us. Very private and secluded location, we won't go anywhere else in Houtbay. Fantastic cottage and service. Brenda spent hours taking my wife to the doctors. Absolute safe parking for our rental car.

November 2015

Jan Oosthuizen (England)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic location with great hosts and everything one could need or want. Thank you for your hospitality, much appreciated. Will definitely see you again in the future.

April 2015

sydney hayes (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed for 5 weeks and have booked the same 5 weeks next year. The property is well situated and equipped. Brenda and Tony are excellent hosts and are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure your needs are met.

January 2015

Tony and Christine Perrin (Crewkerne)

Verified reviewexcellent

Brenda is the most welcoming host, couldn't do enough for us. Loved the cottage, so private and peaceful. Would recommend the cottage to anyone and Hout Bay is a great area away from the hustle and bustle. Added bonus was the resident squirrel. Thanks Brenda for a great stay.

December 2014

Margaret Price (Brisbane, Australia)

Verified reviewvery good

We stayed with our two children(12 and 14) in this lovely cottage only for five nights, but it feld like home. After a warm welcome from Brenda and Tony, we relaxed in the beautiful garden with lots of butterflies and birds. The cottage is an exellent place to stay when you want to discover the western cape area. Thank you Brend, Tony en Verena for this wonderful stay.

October 2014

Family Mollee (AMSTERDAM)

Verified reviewexcellent

Barleywood Cottage is a rare treat and our very long stay was a true test of quality and consistency to which very few places can lay claim. My husband and I were unusual guests in that we needed a nice place to stay for an extended period while waiting for our house to be built. Due to the time of year, (post-peak season) we were lucky enough to come across this holiday gem – not only did we find a place to stay but we experienced a few months of holiday-like bliss. It is a wonderful cottage offering peace, comfort and refuge. Tony and Brenda are exceptional hosts and were unbelievably helpful during our long stay during which nothing was too much trouble. Even though we weren’t typical holiday guests they made us feel like we were. They often went way beyond the call of duty to cater for our needs. The cottage itself is set in an oasis-like garden which surrounds a beautiful swimming pool. Birds and squirrels abound in this magical haven. I miss it still - suffice it to say I could not recommend this holiday cottage more highly.

March 2013

Lori and Ron Stringfellow (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just back from a six week stay at Barleywood cottage with Brenda & Tony who from the moment we arrived made us feel at home .Cottage was so spacious and comfortable . Location great for Hout Bay beach and golf clubs Thanks Brenda & Tony . We have booked for our return visit next Jan .Dermot & Helen Kennedy

January 2013

Kennedy (Dublin)

Verified reviewexcellent

We had a wonderful stay in Hout Bay for four days. Brenda and Tony were wonderful and the cottage was very quiet and relaxing.

December 2012

Laura (Kampala)

Verified reviewexcellent

We were welcomed by Brenda and Tony on a very cold Friday evening. What was even more memorable was the warm and welcoming, spacious cottage. Brenda had put on the heaters in all the rooms and this made us feel at home immediately. On asking Brenda what I should bring, she replied “Only your clothing” and this was true -absolutely everything else was supplied, even filter coffee!!! The cottage is ideally situated in Hout Bay. We have already started planning our next holiday back to Cape Town. Thank you Brenda and Tony for a wonderful stay.

July 2012

Belinda Hiles (Port Elizabeth)

Verified reviewexcellent

This was my 4th stay in Cape Town, and what made this visit so wonderful was staying at Barleywood Cottage. Tony and Brenda are absolutely consummate hosts and just simply the most wonderful people one could ever come across. The cottage is modern, relaxing, clean, spacious and the Hout Bay neighborhood is gorgeous. I enjoyed my almost five months staying there this year, was very well looked after, and hope to come back soon and stay there soon. The only difficulty was in leaving; Barleywood Cottage is a VERY special place!

May 2011

Stephan McGuire (Pacific Palisades)

Verified reviewvery good

What a lovely and delightful place to be.We felt so happy.Everything was alright.Brenda and Tony did everything to give us a good and welcome feelings.They are really friendly with great hospitality. Indeed :home from home. One thing is clear:we have to return.

February 2011

Quin Warmerdam (The Netherlands)

Verified reviewexcellent

Thank you Brenda and Tony for a wonderful welcome and a very happy 4 day break. Your cottage was ideally situated for meeting up with family in Hout Bay, and provided us with a very comfortable, clean, and perfect retreat. Our girls especially enjoyed the pool which was a secluded and exotic little oasis. It was ideal and I am sure we will return.

February 2011

Harriet and Matthew Eagle (Oxford, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

All previous reviews say it loud and clear. A first visit for me but I hope it won't be the last. Brenda and Tony are delightful, thoughtful people who go out of their way to try and make sure you have a lovely time - on top of the scenery, weather and marvellous accommodation, they succeeded. One of my best holidays - ever.

January 2011

Clair Boluski (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Excellent facilities, wonderful hospitality, stunning location above Hout Bay. A dream holiday for people seeking a peaceful and relaxing holiday, but close to the local shops and the beautiful harbour of Hout Bay - an historic setting full of fascinating shops and restaurants. Already planning another visit.

January 2011

Helena Paterson (Truro, Cornwall, UK.)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had a second, wonderful 7 week stay in this beautiful cottage. The perfect home from home holiday!! We will be back again! Mike and Wendy

February 2010

Mike Denew and Wendy James (Leicester, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

Had such a lovely, relaxing Christmas in the warm sunshine and beautiful cottage and pool. Have already booked again for Christmas 2010!!

December 2009

Paul and Wendy Fincham (Suffolk, UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have stayed at this delightful accommodation 9 times over a period of years. Surely this says it all! The cottage is in a perfect spot and the friendly, hospitality of the owners is second to none. Hout Bay is beautiful and the general atmosphere is relaxing and friendly wherever you choose to visit in the Cape area.

October 2009

Alan and Marion Butcher (Suffolk England)

Verified reviewexcellent

A lovely, peaceful, welcoming corner of the beautiful Cape - we've had several wonderful holidays at Barlywood Cottage over the last ten years or so...

December 2005

Julia and Richard Clarke (Barton Mills, UK)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • from
    1,000
  • R
  • 880
  • unit rate per night
    conditions apply
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Barleywood Cottage

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.