Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

This guesthouse has wonderful ambiance, a beautiful setting, and is easy to access and a great place to get out of the hustle and bustle and stress of say, working at or attending events at Gallagher Conference Center which is a stone's throw away. What makes it completely magical however, is the owners'and manager's hospitality and wonderful engagement with their guests. If you can find a reason to spend a night or two here, do!

June 2017

Abigail Godsell (Johannesburg)

Verified reviewexcellent

A lovely plot full of old buildings set among colorful gardens and a real retreat for the night in a busy city. The welcome is warm and the breakfast absolutely lovely. Thank you again, Sonia see you next year!!

February 2017

Jules Cranfield (London UK)

Verified reviewexcellent

We couldn't have wanted for a more charming, quiet and comfortable place to stay in Jhb. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated without being overdone, and every aspect of a comfortable stay had been considered. The hosts were friendly but lefts us be. It was one of the nicer places I've ever stayed.

September 2016

Sally Howes (Pietermaritzburg, Natal)

Verified reviewexcellent

We love staying at Bag End Guest House. Whenever we go to Gauteng, this is the place we will stay. The relaxed country style quirky house and hospitality is what we like. Sonia is a excellent host.

May 2015

Rob Blakey (Tzaneen, Gauteng)

Verified reviewexcellent

This B&B was Beautiful, Spacious & Clean, Breakfasts are fantastic and I will definitely be back. What a lovely setting, Peaceful and Quiet but a stones throw away from the shops. Thanks Again, Ger.

June 2013

Gerard Ryan (Ireland)

Verified reviewexcellent

The facility is neat, clean, stylish and secure. The breakfast was beautiful and tasty and served with an early morning smile. The manager is friendly and has an excellent customer focus. I will return for a second stay and can personally recommend this accomodation facility. Thanks Sonia Koos J Kriek van Bloemfontein

June 2012

Koos J Kriek (Bloemfontein)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a lovely and peaceful place to staty at. A wonderful atmosphere and most friendly and helpful owners. We will visit agains and highly recommend Bag End as a guesthouse.

November 2011

Benita Swanepoel (South Africa)

Verified reviewexcellent

It’s a short mail to say thanks for everything and hope that we will meet again. The place is beautiful, very quiet, have a great breakfast and nice room with all the facilities. I enjoyed a great 2 weeks in your place. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. You and your husband were very friendly and extremely helpful, making me feel at home in the house.

September 2011

Daniel Zukerman (israel)

Verified reviewexcellent

Just a short mail to say “thank you” to you, your Family and staff for making our Family’s stay at Bag End such a thoroughly pleasurable experience! I have been to Gauteng many times and never have I experienced such a quiet, peaceful and restful retreat, so close to the urban hub of the City. Thank you also for making such an effort to accommodate us with our 6 month old baby in the middle of winter! I would not hesitate to recommend Bag End Guesthouse as a top accommodation option in the Midrand. Kind regards Grant Higgo

June 2011

Grant Higgo (Cape Town)

Verified reviewexcellent

What a delight to discover this beautiful tranquil place - the ambiance of gentle grace. Hospitality warm & welcoming. I have actually stayed at Bag End Guest house for a few weeks during 2010 when I moved house - it was A home from home Will be back - no doubt. Highly recommend this beautiful place.

May 2011

Heidi Ernani Drew (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

We enjoyed it so much! We have visited lots of Guest Houses but this was a very special stay! The warm hospitality and food were outstanding! . We will be back! Thaks, Tony.

March 2011

Tony van der Poel (Secunda)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 890
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • Bag End Guest House

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.