Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first).

Verified reviewexcellent

Stayed here in January, on pulling up we thought that the place was going to be tiny however inside the accomodation is superb. Rooms were lovely, Pool was small however good to cool off and the breakfast are brillant. This place customer service was amazing, the manager was extremely helpful and could'nt do enough for you. It really was a fantastic stay and was extremely reasonable. I would recommend this as a base for anyone.

January 2018

Markus (Edinburgh)

Verified reviewexcellent

Gem of a Place: Wonderful boutique hotel in Cape Town. Location is fantastic. Just outside of the downtown area in a trendy and safe neighborhood. Within a 2 block walk to shops and a good assortment of restaurants. No need to take taxis in the evening.

April 2017

Darren (New Jersy)

Verified reviewexcellent

An Amazing Place To Stay: In all my years of travelling, this has got to be the best place I have ever stayed. The owners/staff are fantastic and make you feel so incredibly welcome, the rooms are gorgeous - as is the rest of the hotel. (Lauren – Northampton April 2012)

April 2012

Lauren (Notrhampton)

Verified reviewexcellent

More Comfortable Than Home: Stayed at An African Villa while visiting my daughter, studying abroad at UCT. I have traveled the world and have never had a better lodgng experience. From the greeting and briefing by Louis to the personal attention by Jimmy, Cindy and the pups too, everything was spot on. (Seth K – April 2012)

April 2012

Seth (New York)

Verified reviewexcellent

Fantastic Place: A truly wonderful hotel, with helpful friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere, chic decor, gorgeous rooms, delicious breakfasts and a sun trap pool. The whole thing is presided over by two charming, serious looking dachshunds. (Herman D – Durban April 2012)

April 2012

Herman D (Durban)

Verified reviewexcellent

This is a perfect base for exploring Cape Town. Modern, stylish, clean and comfortable. The food is fantastic and all the staff are cheerful. Nothing is too much trouble. Would we stay there again? In a flash!

April 2012

Teamac (Leicester)

Verified reviewexcellent

Louis and Jimmy went out of their way to make us feel welcome even to the extent of allowing us to use their own home to shower prior to a late night flight. We would recommend this chic little guest house to anyone. I really cannot fault it. We will be back !!! Mark and Cathy Thomas Dulwich, London

March 2008

Dr Mark Thomas (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We have been trying to stay at An African Villa on our two previous trips to South Africa but were unable to get in! This time we were lucky and it certainly lived up to its reputation. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. If I had to say anything negative, the shower cubicle was too low at the sides which meant that everything we had placed around the sink was wet by the end but that is a minor problem. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. An African Villa is run like a well-oiled machine but we left there feeling special and determined to get a room on our next trip back.

February 2008

Pickler (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

Lovely place, spacious, well designed, all mod cons, free internet, 'open to all' kitchen, and very comfy beds! We stayed in a standard room, but no complaints, value for money, huge bed, lots of room, calm environment, no balcony but then we paid less than for the balcony rooms and really didnt spend that much time in the room to use one. The outside courtyard is very tastefully done and relaxing, great to chill out with a beer after a long day sightseeing and cool your feet off in the pool....fab!. We felt very spoilt, free ' welcolme' beers on arrival, an overnight emergency kit given to us as we had no suitcases for 2 days (be aware this will happen if you transfer through Heathrow!), a birthday cake given to my partner, and chocolates hung on the door handle for valentines...oh and a small thank you present at the end....perfect hosts all round.

February 2008

dissy (Liverpool)

Verified reviewexcellent

Of all the places I have stayed around the world, nowhere has offered better hospitality - as you walk through the door you are given such a warm welcome, you immediately feel at home. An Africa Villa is a stunning boutique hotel, it is all about detail - nothing is overlooked, and as a guest you are never left wanting anything. I couldn't praise it enough, from the divine breakfasts, to the wonderful smiling and kind staff. The location is great as well, very close to fab restaurants - yet on a quiet street so you don't have all the noise from the rest of Cape Town. Very easy to get around from there too ... it's a short taxi ride to Waterfront, Table Mountain & the beaches. All the rooms looked gorgeous but definitely worth upgrading to superior if possible, they are huge! And such great value for money, we later moved to Camps Bay where we paid double the price for accommodation but the hospitality and details were nothing in comparison. Even if your stay in Cape Town is short, just try to get a few nights at this wonderful place. Enjoy! Lisa & Alex

January 2008

Liza and Alex (London)

Verified reviewexcellent

We stayed in An African Villa's sister hotel, Liberty Lodge, for 5 nights because An African Villa was booked. However, we were able to stay at An African Villa for 2 nights at the end of our stay in Cape Town, and we felt so fortunate to be able to stay here! An African Villa is truly amazing with a beautiful patio with pool, amazing and huge rooms with in suite bathrooms, great breakfast, and amazing interior design. My husband and I didn't even have dinner out for the two nights we were here because we didn't want to leave this unbelievable place! When we arrived, Jimmy, gave us the rundown of the place along with a waiting bottle of champagne in our room for our honeymoon! This hotel is in a great part of town, and we would've loved to stay here our entire vacation in Cape Town, as Jimmy is such a wonderful, gracious host along with all of the staff. We will book earlier in the future to ensure we can stay here because there is no other place like it! Thank you to African Villa for making our stay nothing short of spectacular! We WILL be back!!

January 2008

Peter (Minneapolis)

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent after check-out. Thank you!

  • tonight
    from
  • R
  • 2,030
  • per room per night
    based on 2 persons
instant booking and confirmation possible
  • Your card is safe with us; strictest card verification in the industry and we don't store card numbers.
  • No service fees; you save!
  • We care. Service with integrity.
  • Multiple payment methods:
    credit card, SID instant EFT, bank transfer.
  • All establishment owners / managers are verified (our experience protects you from online fraud)
  • Secure your booking
Our Payment Protection Guarantee only applies if your deposit payment is made via SA-Venues.com
  • An African Villa

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest, independent online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.