Travellers' reviews of Liziwe's Tours, rated 5/5 at SA-Venues.com

Liziwe's Tours

Tour Operator / Township and Cape Peninsula Tours

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been on tour with Liziwe's Tours?
Let us know what you experienced and how you enjoyed your trip.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2015

Excellent

Review by Colette (Castlebar)

Cape Town Township Tour

I brought my two teenagers to Capetown recently and they both agree that the highlight of the trip was the township tour we booked with Andrew. The tour included a visit to the District 6 museum, the district 6 area, Langa township and Gugulethu. Andrew is such a lovely person and he explains the history,geography and politics of the areas as you go.
I highly recommend this tour.

March 2014

Excellent

Review by Gabriella (New York)

Gugulethu Walking Tour

I had an absolutely amazing time with Liziwe's tours- it left a lasting impression on me.

I would say that the tour could honestly not have been any better. My tourguide, Andrew, is a passionate, kindhearted person and he made my experience really wonderful. He is very personable and will tailor the tour to your interests if possible- just contact him via email (the one on this website). I very much enjoyed walking around Guguletu with him, as he knows it like the back of his hand and you are made to feel completely welcome and safe the entire time. The people who live there are amazing... so kind, so friendly; you really will feel at home. I wish I could visit them again!

You really have to go to Mzoli's if you want a relaxed/fun/very interactive experience, and you are guaranteed to spend time with locals there. The people are so sweet and you will have made so many friends by the time you leave. Also, the music is good and the meat is tasty :)
I would recommend anyone to stay at the guesthouse too. It is beautiful, clean, in a good location, and will really give you a unique experience in South Africa. You might also have the chance to meet Donald, the builder of the guesthouse, and hear his amazing story. He is absolutely inspiring and very funny- he had me crying from laughing so hard!

All in all, my tour was without a doubt the #1 most rewarding and intriguing experience I had in Cape Town (and that really is saying something, considering how amazing CT is)! I would say that the price you pay is nothing compared to the amazing experience you leave with. Don't have any reservations, just go right for it! You will have the experience of a lifetime, guaranteed.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Donna (Atlanta )

General Review

I truly enjoyed my stay at Liziwe's guest house! My mom lives in Durban and we flew over to Capetown. Donald and Andrew met us at the airport. They were extremely friendly and very inviting! Likiwe prepared breakfast daily, Andrew and Donald took us into town and we were able to visit Table Mountain and tour the city. Donald gave me a personal tour and history facts on Guguletu and Capetown. Everyone was always readily available! I enjoyed the company, conversations, and hospitality! Every time my mom visits, she stays at Liziwe's and now I understand why! I highly recommend Liziwe's to everyone who wants a memorable and enjoying experience in Guguletu,Capetown.
I'll definitely be back!
Thank you, Liziwe, Donald & Andrew!
Donna from Atlanta

December 2012

Excellent

Review by Sarah (Halifax)

Cape Town Township Tour

I cannot praise this tour enough! Andrew is an absolutely phenomal tour guide (and person!), who presents the real, honest image of South Africa. He extremely knowledgeable, and provides a personal, unique perspective on the townships that you can't get anywhere else. It was interesting, enjoyable- and for those who may be nervous, it's completely safe- I actually felt more at home, and in the township than I did in the rest of Cape Town!)
It was eye openning; definately one of the highlights of my trip. This is something that just can't be expirienced from the other side of commerical tourbus. It's a MUST for anyone going to Cape Town

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Celeste Vlok (Stellenbosch)

Tailor Made Tour

If you ever want to do a township tour, Liziwe's is the place to go! I was part of a tour group from the University Stellenbosch's Journalism Department. We were 25 South Africans from different backgrounds and never expected to have so much fun in Gugulethu. On arrival, everyone was surprised by the beautiful interior of the fully equipped guesthouse. We watched rugby at a nearby shebeen and had a traditional tasty supper at the Guesthouse itself. Liziwe's cooking is divine and I hope she'll bring out a recipe book in the near future. We did the township tour the next day and ended off at Mzoli's for lunch. Thanks to Andrew for his great organisational skills who tailor made the visit to the group's needs. Whether in on your own or in a big group, Liziwe's will surprise you.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Nicholas Denegre (Stellenbosch)

Gugulethu Walking Tour

My Mother and Father are visiting me for holiday from the U.S and bringing them to the Guguletu township to have Andrew and Donald guide us around was a wonderful experience. We saw how flexible they can be given any circumstance and my family and I felt quite moved after the tour today and experience at Mzoli's Place. Never did we feel unsafe because of the hospitality and warmness of the Liziwe's family and business.

All the best to the Andrew and the LIziwe family!
Nicholas, Mark and Ann

November 2011

Excellent

Review by Tom (Moscow, Idaho, USA)

Cape Town Township Tour

Andrew is a fantastic tour guide. Whitey accompanied us on the tour and expertly drove us to the various township destinations that Andrew had planned for us. We visited a traditional healer, which was a very powerful experience---strong vibes. We shared traditional beer (umqomboti) with the woman who brewed it and visited a shebeen. We also visited a primary school, had lunch at a busy braai place, Mzoti's, and took a walking tour of the informal shacks accompanied by Donald, who explained what it's like to live without running water, without indoor plumbing and without garbage pick up. Everyone we met in the township was very friendly. It seems like everyone knows Andrew and Whitey, and all have big smiles and a hearty hello for them. It truly was an enriching and awakening experience to see a small glimpse of life in the township and a small introduction into Xhosa culture. We highly recommend that everyone who is interested in life and culture of South Africa visit a Township. Liziwe's Tours directed by Andrew are fantastic. One is able to get on the street and meet the neighbors and share a moment in life. It's a moving experience.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Romy (St.Gallen)

Gugulethu Walking Tour

We had a great walking tour trough de township of gugulethu. It was an unforgettable experience to walk with you in the township, to see how the people life and how the village is organized...
Thanks andrew and "donald"!

August 2011

Excellent

Review by Julia G (London, UK)

Cape Town Township Tour

One of the biggest highlights of our family holiday to Cape Town was our Township Tour arranged with Andrew. We would like to thank Andrew and Duke for a really inspirational tour of amongst other things a trip to the Sangoma, an amazing visit to the primary school in Gugulethu where we visited every class, a walk through the community meeting everyone on the way. We even saw where a scene in our favourite film, Invictus, was filmed! Lunch was at a brilliant location and will never be forgotten!

Andrew gave us a real insight into life in the community for which we really cannot thank him enough. For ourselves and our teenage children it was an experience that will stay with us forever and we keep looking at the photos of the happy, smiley faces that greeted us at every turn. We loved the fact that we walked, and were not just driven around to view other peoples' lives from the comfort of a minivan.
Andrew and Duke, thank you so much again for the wonderful tour!

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Zhu (Stockholm)

Tailor Made Tour

It was amazing experience to hang out with the tourist guides around the township and taste the wine from Spier wine yard....

Thanks Andrew and our driver (sorry, i am not able to spell your name)
Cheers

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Wilna Rust (Cape Town)

Cape Town Township Tour

I was recently part of a small group of architecture students from UCT doing a research project on the urban upgrade of Guguletu. We realised that we needed assistance with interviewing local people on their perspective of new developments in the area.

I saw Liziwe's ad on the internet and contacted Andrew to ask whether they will be willing to give us a special, "more academic" tour of Gugs. And thanks to Andrew and Bulelani driving us around and translating for us, we managed to get all the info needed and had a wonderful time doing so.

Thanks to Liziwe, Andrew and Bulelani!

Cheers,
Wilna

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Sean Russell (Toronto, Canada)

Cape Town Township Tour

Thanks to Andrew, we had an unbelievable tour.
Instead of taking us on a tour, Andrew led us in a way that we experienced the area. It was a very moving, powerful and eye opening experience.
Thanks so much Andrew and Zanta.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Claire C (Toronto)

Cape Town Township Tour

I have Andrew to thank for an amazing day in the townships. The tour was not only interesting and educational but very eye opening. I loved Andrew's approach to the tour as well. While he helped us understand the reality of township life his focus was on showing the strengths and positive aspects of the townships. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Cape Town.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Sharon Mohr (Toronto, Canada)

Cape Town Township Tour

A township tour was something I vowed not to do - it felt too intrusive, too voyeruristic. I was, however, convinced by others to seek out Andrew of Liziwe's Tours. Andrew believes in stopping the van, getting out and meeting the people. We interacted and learned. We ate at a sidewalk braii, bought a sheep's head which we shared with locals, and even bought a communal pot of fermenting beer in a township bar (I use that term loosely). So we did our (very) small bit to contribute to the local economy. We didn't feel unsafe and even had a gentleman come up to us and thank us for our interest in the townships. Township tour are becoming popular which may change the way the tours are received by those living there - which is even more reason to use someone like Andrew who actually lives in a Township and has an excellent feel for what is appropriate and what's respectful. This is an important part of South Africa and I wish South Africans themselves would take the tour.

November 2009

Very Good

Review by Julie, Hogan, Nanette & Robbie + Kids (Mbabane Swaziland )

General Review

We had a wonderful time. Andrew and Co. gave us a real Cape experience. They were willing to be flexible, fun to be with and gave us their full attention for two solid days. If you are looking for a great tour of the cape, with no frills, but great way to experience all the Cape has to offer, with people who are knowledgable about all areas, Liziwe is for you. Thanks guys!!!

June 2009

Excellent

Review by Rashni & Rohan Dharmadasa (Cape Town)

Tailor Made Tour

We had a wonderful experience touring cape town with Liziwe's Tours. We immediately felt at home and fell in love with Cape Town. Thanks Andrew and Liziwe for a super stay!!

Contact: Liziwe

Telephone: +27 (0)21 633-7406
Fax: +27 (0)21 633-7406
Mobile: +27 (0)73 385-2911 / +27 (0)72 035-9560

Postal Address:
NY111, No 121, Gugulethu, 7750, Cape Town, South Africa

Quick Facts

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 2007 - 16 Reviews

Payment Methods accepted by the operator

Credit cards are not accepted by the operator. Enquire for other payment options.

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap