Travellers' reviews of Cape Discovery Tours, rated 5/5 at SA-Venues.com

Cape Discovery Tours

Tour Operator / Cape Town Tailor-made & Scheduled Tours in the Cape & Garden Route

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 20 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been on tour with Cape Discovery Tours?
Let us know what you experienced and how you enjoyed your trip.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Alan Maloney (London, UK)

Garden Route & Addo Elephant National Park

We were recommended to try Cape Discovery by my brother who lives in South Africa and from the very first enquiry Gary could not have been more helpful. He suggested the itinerary and gave us a numbner of options which he wa spleased to accommodate in our tour.His attention to detail was exemplary and his knowledge, whether at the main stops or "off road" was excellent ensuring we knew a little about the area or place we were visiting.
The accommodation we were booked into differed from place to place but it was always comfortable, clean and welcoming. He regularly briefed us about the journey, what we needed to do and when to do it. Lunch stops during journeys were always in interesting and full of character
There were so many highlights on our tour but the top venue had to be Scotia Private reserve and Addo itself. Knysna, Storms River, Mossell Bay, Plettenberg Bay, Monkeyland, Cango caves and cuddling baby ostriches all added to the enjoyment of a well planned and hugely pleasant tour.
Thank you gary for a great time

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Joy Fosster (Ashland OR USA)

General Review

There are not enough superlatives to adequately describe Gary Flynn--as a tour guide, teacher, and friend. Between airport pick-ups and tours we were with him for 7 delightful days. Not only is he an excellent driver, he is informative, thoughtful, patient and humorous. He was flexible with our itinerary changes and very perceptive about our needs and interests. We left Cape Town feeling totally satisfied and knowing we had made a friend for life. Africa lives in Gary, and it's contagious!!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Sonia Berry (Ashburn, Virginia)

A Cape Peninsula Tour

Words cannot describe this wonderful gentleman who was instrumental in providing us with a most memorable experience of Capetown, including the Peninsula Tour and the wine country of Stellenbosch. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days with Gary. He is extremely knowledgeable, most pleasant, most friendly, and most professional; the very best guide we have ever experienced. Our best wishes go forth with him!!!!! We would like to take this opportunity to recommend him with all our hearts to anyone visiting that fabulous part of the world. Thank you so very much, Gary.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Trish And Robert (Sydney Australia)

Off the Beaten Track

We spent 4 wonderful days with Gary Flynn experiencing the majestic scenery and isolation of this area.
We were extremely well looked after by Gary and enjoyed many and varied experiences from the Fossil museum to a picturesque boat trip,San art and lunching with a gallery of baboons.
We had the most wonderful weather in May and this trip was a most memorable experience.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Rafi Shaham (Israel)

General Review

We travelled with Gary 2 days in the Peninsula tour and in Hermanus area and found an experienced, honest, accurate and pleasant guide, who also gave us good recommendations to other parts of our trip. We strongly recommend travelling with Gary.

September 2011

Excellent

Review by Samir Sahu (DUBAI)

Garden Route Tour

Our second trip to Capetown and this time was down the Garden Route... We are really glad that we had Gary with us and it made such a difference to our experience.

We went along the coastal region and Knysna and Tsitsikamma were the highlights for us... Gary's recommendations on places to see and stay were spot on and somewhere down the long stretches of a wonderful drive he figured that we travelled with our tummies.. the restaurant recommendations that followed for Capetown and Garden route blew us away....

Travel to the Cape with Gary and you travel with a friend.... Great destination and Great company... we could not have asked for more.

January 2011

Excellent

Review by Jonathan Hateley (Worcester, Uk)

Cape Winelands

My girlfriend Jess and myself had the pleasure of meeting Gary as he took us for a wine tour, hes knowledgable, very friendly and catered to our needs perfectly. I would suggest anyone going to the Cape Town area take a tour with him as seeing the cheetahs made my day. I would do another tour in a heartbeat if i could get back to SA. Thank you for a great day out.

November 2010

Excellent

Review by Tonia & Mike Cain (Walsall, UK)

Garden Route Tour

We had the pleasure of Gary Flynn as a Tour Guide on our recent trip around S.Africa and we were extremely impressed. He managed to get the balance so right, between being informative and interesting but allowing you some "quiet" time too, hence you did not feel that you had to keep talking all day long. We saw so much and he dealt with everything so efficiently, ensuring that we maximised our time and experienced as much as possible. Always punctual and polite, friendly and so genuine, we would recommend him to anyone who wants to be taken care of and make the most of their time. Thanks for a great trip Gary.

September 2010

Excellent

Review by Ron And Debra McMahon (Ottawa, Canada)

Tailor Made Tour

Gary was superb as a tour guide with outstanding service. Our trip to Cape Town was short and we wanted to see, well, everything. Gary made it possible for us to see the pennisula, taste some wine, do shark cage diving, hand out with the penguins, and see the whales. He provided us with knowledgeand history of Cape Town and South Africa, advice on where to eat, and much, much more! We would recommend his services to anyone and everyone.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Judy And Shimon Levy (Haifa, Israel)

Tailor Made Tour

We fully confirm all that was said by previous reviewers regarding Gary Flynn. We had intended to do a self-drive 8-day Garden Route tour, but about 2 days before the start of the trip, we realized that we were incapable of driving oursleves, since we are unaccustomed to driving on the left side of the road. It would have put us under stress and detracted greatly from the pleasures of the trip. Within 24 hours, we located Gary on your website and made arrangements with him. Not only was it a huge relief, but in the end, it was invaluable to the overall experience.

Gary was polite, easy to talk to, extrememly knowledgeable about all the places along the Garden Route that we wanted to visit, and always had good suggestions, while being open and sensitive to our personal needs and requirements. We highly recommend him as a tour guide!
We should note that the information on SA-Venues website proved to be accurate and reliable.

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Catherine, Sara, And Sandee (Washington, DC, USA)

Garden Route & Addo Elephant National Park

I’d never been to South Africa before and was putting together a ‘girlfriends’ trip for me and two others. I am so pleased to have been able to secure Gary as our guide! Gary was very friendly, resourceful and flexible in advising me on options for our special tour. We ultimately decided upon a 6-day, 5-night tour encompassing the Garden Route and Addo Elephant Park. Within this tour we visited lovely Knysna, Tsitsikamma National Park, Monkey Land, the Cango Caves, and many other delightful attractions in between – everything was enjoyable and comfortable. We also had many, many good laughs - Gary has a delightful personality and humor! I highly recommend Gary… you’ll have a wonderful visit to South Africa with him!

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Lloyd And Darcy Campbell (Brooklyn, New York )

Kruger National Park & Garden Route

This is a great tour. Gary was very attentive in setting up the tour for us. He was very knowledgeable, and allowed us flexibility based on our interests. We saw incredible scenery and wildlife, and we enjoyed seeing the beauty of the country. In addition, Gary was great company. We heartily recommend this tour.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Ronnie (Amman, Jordan)

Tailor Made Tour

absolutely fantastic. gary took my parents around cape town for two days. this included the cape peninsula and the winelands amongst the many other things. it was tailor made for their needs. i am writing this to appreciate garys professionalism, friendliness, punctuality and knowledge of of the area. my parents left cape town with high regards and great respect for gary. i certainly recommend you hire garys services if you are looking to sit back and enjoy the beauty cape town and the beautiful area around it. thanks gary.

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Karin Sinniger (Luanda, Angola)

Garden Route Tour

I picked Gary as a guide for Capetown based on the highly positive reviews of other travellers of his trips posted on this site. We were a party of three sisters and our respective families with a range of ages from a one year old to a 55 year old. Everyone had different interests which we needed to accommodate. Also, our tour was due to start before Christmas and end after the New Year and most accommodation in Capetown and Knysna only took bookings for ten days.

I contacted Gary back in February and immediately got a response and suggestion for our tours and he helped us locate suitable accomodation. He even went to certain places and listened for noise from each room before recommending it to us. Even when he was on tour he would respond promptly to e-mails. He did all this for free and never even asked us for a deposit, unlike every other place we booked with in SA.

He hired a bigger van for our party, made sure there was a baby seat, and was very in tune to the various family members little quirks and likes and dislikes. He even took some of the more active family members hiking up Table Mountain and has offered to scout for real estate opportunities in Capetown.

We had a fantastic time. Every day held a new adventure from checking out the penguins on Boulder Beach; to touring the Cape Peninsula and the wine estates; riding ostriches; scuba diving at Knysna; a township tour of Capetown and even diving with the crocodiles at the Cangu Wildlife Park. A lifetime of memories in ten days.

We had a ball and can´t recommend Gary enough. Gary works for the love of it rather than the money (he is officially retired-- at a very young age!) and only takes on a few tours every few weeks which he leads with passion. Consider yourself very fortunate to go on a tour with him. His rates are reasonable too.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Juergen Heil (Stuhr / Germany)

Garden Route & Addo Elephant National Park

Our Gardenroute - tour in October 2009

The tour was perfectly prepared by our wonderful guide Gary Flynn.
We started the trip in Capetown and went along the coastal area via Knysna, Tsitsikamma, Port Elisabeth to Addo Elephant Gamepark. This part of the tour was an eventful time.

Next drive to Oudtshoorn and to the Cango Caves (The caves are fantastic) We went along remote country roads through Swartberg Nature Reserve. The way back to Capetown was along drive but we had never seen a scenary like this. We drove along Route 62, passed Barrydale, Worcester, Paarl and Stellenbosch with many stops to our choice.

All accommodations during the trip at the different places were very well chosen by Gary. All in all the journey was a very good choice. We got a lot experiences of live in this region, the landscape, places and animals of South Africa.

Particularly to emphasize are the informations about this great country by our guide Gary. He is a really good Africaans and did a very good job because of his livelong experiences. We enjoyed the trip very much and can recommend the tour to everybody.

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Mary Roediger & Brian Muffet (Strathalbyn South Australia)

Off the Beaten Track

We recently did a wonderful West Coast and Cederberg tour with Gary. On this, our second trip with Gary, we were impressed with the biodiversity and beauty of this area. From a nature lovers' point of view this tour is highly recommended. From the beautiful fishing village of Paternoster through Clanwilliam and deep into the scenic granduer of the Cederbergs this trip is not to be missed. Gary does a great job and we will go with him again. He is an exceptional tour guide, either on or off the beaten track.

August 2009

Excellent

Review by Kevin McCluskey (Whitehaven)

Cape Town Peninsula

Just a quick note to say thank you so much for looking after us in Cape Town a couple of weeks ago. We had a fantastic time and really valued your help and knowledge of the places we visited. Our visit would not have been the same without you and we feel we made an excellent choice of guide.

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Chris Troskie (Ellisras)

Cape Winelands

In July '08 I arranged a winelands tour for US clients of mine with Cape Discovery Tours. Gary was punctual, professional, knowledgeable and a real treat! The restaurant that he recommended to us for dinner was as oustanding as his service and I will definitely be using him again in future.

June 2008

Excellent

Review by Gail Beagley (Merritt Island, FL USA)

General Review

My sister and I spent 7 days in Cape Town and Gary was our driver/tour guide the entire time. He was there at the airport to meet us - we did the tour to Cape Point, the Garden Route Tour and City tour. It was a pleasure to have Gary as our guide as he was both very informative and very good company. He lived up to everything he promised in his tour proposal. It was especially fun eating at out of the way spots during the tour - places we would never have found on our own. I have recommended him to friends who are planning a trip there next summer. You can't go wrong with Gary as your tour guide.

May 2007

Excellent

Review by Brian Muffet & Mary Roediger (Adelaide South Australia)

Garden Route Tour

We had a truly wonderful trip with Gary. He was very knowledgable and was prepared to take us to quite special "off the beaten track" places. We enjoyed our time with him and could thoroughly recommend him.
We will be repeat customers.

Contact: Gary Flynn

Telephone: +27(0)21 552-9866
Fax: +27(0)21 552-9866
Mobile: +27(0)82 881-1457

Postal Address:
P.O. Box 50721, Waterfront, 8002, Cape Town, South Africa

Quick Facts

Transport
We do airport transfers, offer a driver / guide service, put together customised itineraries and more.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
August 2006 - 20 Reviews

Payment Methods accepted by the operator

Credit cards are not accepted by the operator. Enquire for other payment options.

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap