Villa Montebello is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (8 reviews)

Villa Montebello

Bed & Breakfast at 72 Mount Rhodes Drive, Hout Bay, Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 8 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Villa Montebello in Hout Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Gabriele (Germany)

We had a wonderful stay of 6 nights at Villa Montebello. Very good night sleeps, we felt very safe and welcome at this beautiful B&B. Great views to the valley and the bay of Hout Bay. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts with fresh croissants, fruits, eggs and homemade marmalades every morning. Catherine and Patrice are amazing hosts, as a regular visitor of the Cape Area this will be our place to return to from now on. Thank you!

April 2013

Excellent

Review by C MENU (Montreal)

For our 5th visit in Hout Bay and after visiting other high ranked guesthouses, we decided to come again to Villa Montebello which is the only one offering a quality environment and amazing views with a real top quality service. All rooms have awesome views of Table Mountain, Hout Bay valley and sea. Terraces and balconies were a pleasing feature of the rooms with views. Bathroom was fitted out to a high standard (and has a bath and separate shower), there's loads of wardrobe space and the bed was extra-large (king size) and comfy. Rooms also had Satellite TV and European heaters for the cold season. Minibar was reasonably priced with a top selection of drinks wine and South African Champagne. The cleaning service was top. Wifi is included and is excellent. Security is first rate and the grounds are spectacular. The garden heated swimming pool is a plus to be enjoyed alone or with family or friends.

Breakfast was unbelievably good and different every day. French croissants and French breads, fresh fruits (different every day) plain and fruit yoghurts, homemade Scottish marmalade and jams (do not miss the apricot and mint jam), French cheeses, meat (on request), muesli, eggs and bacon made to order...the list goes on. Josephine and Bridget the housekeepers are very keen to please and do a great job of looking after you. The very special Turkish cat: Tamam kept us company at breakfast each day and is brilliant to have around.
Catherine & Patrice are amazing hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they are very knowledgeable about local restaurants and things to do. Patrice was kind enough to advise us according our needs and make reservations for us at several restaurants during our stay and they both helped us out with other things in any way that they could. We booked car hire through Villa Montebello and got a preferential service (delivery at the Guesthouse) rate and additional advantages (e.g. unlimited mileage and no excess).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend this place. After reading the reviews on this site we were looking for faults, but couldn't find anything. It’s really as good as previous guests already said.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by Wolfgang S (Germany)

Die Unterkunft liegt in traumhafter Lage am Hang des "Little Lions Head". Die Rückseite des Tafelberges direkt gegenüber, die Hout bay traumhaft unterhalb gelegen. Ein wunderschöner Garten mit Pool und ausgezeichnete Zimmer. Wir waren dort 6 Tage und werden bestimmt wiederkommen. Als Zimmer empfielt sich die "Suite". Von dort bieten sich die tollsten Ausblicke, auch beim Baden :-). Frühstück im Freinen bei Sonnenaufgang, nicht verpassen. Außerdem sind Cathrine und Patrice hervorragende Gastgeber, die einem immer mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen. Von ihrem reichen Erfahrungsschatz was Reisen in Kapstadt, Südafrika uns Afrika angeht kann man nur profitieren. So wohl und willkommen haben wir uns selten gefühlt. Nachmal ein herzliches Danke an Catherine und Patrice. Die immer freundlichen Angestellten dürfen nicht vergessen werden.
Von hieraus kann man die gesamte Region um Kapstadt bis Gansbaai erkunden.
Ein Tipp für jeden Kapstadtbesucher. Ein Top B&B in Kapstadt und Umgebung!!!!

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Stenhouse (UK)

We spent five nights in this delightful B & B and it would be difficult to find any faults. Patrice and Catherine are perfect hosts,nothing is too much trouble for them. The setting of the house is superb, within reasonable distance from Cape Town and its attractions, but set above Hour Bay with excellent views. There are restaurants and shops...

March 2012

Excellent

Review by HAMM (GERMANY)

Die Villa liegt am Berg mit einem fantastischem Blick zum Meer und umliegenden Bergen.
Sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für Besichtigungen in Kapstadt und Umgebung.
Wir waren dort vier Nächte und könnten uns einen Urlaub von 2 Wochen gut vorstellen.
Patrice und Catherine sind ein sehr sympathisches Ehepaar, die ein ausgeprägtes französisches savoir-vivre auf ihre Gäste übertragen. Das Frühstück ist perfect mit knusprigen Croissants und Brötchen, und abends wird auch schon mal ein leckeres Glas südafrikanischer Wein auf der Terrasse zusammen getrunken.
Insgesamt eine sehr einladende Unterkunft

December 2011

Excellent

Review by Georges SHAFFER (USA)

We recently completed a trip around the world which was highlighted by our 4 night stay at Villa Montebello. Our room was very luxurious, clean, spacious, good closet space with a big bathroom. We had great views out our large windows of the mountains and Hout Bay below. The breakfasts were to die for (especially the freshly baked croissants) and enjoyed in a gorgious setting by the pool and gardens which are surrounded by more beautiful mountains. A great location for daily sightseeing trips in all directions and then a respite coming back for a quiet and relaxing time in the privacy and security of the Villa. All of this was only exceeded by our gracious hosts, Catherine and Patrice, who made our stay both enjoyable and fun. Patrice was especially helpful as we planned our daily excursions to see the best and most in the time we had. We hope to return for another visit in the near future.

December 2011

Excellent

Review by BEKEYSER (BELGIUM)

We hebben hier onze vier laatste nachten in ZAR doorgebracht. Een schitterend verblijf, heel persoonlijke en warme gastvrouw en gastheer. Mooie kamer, verzorgd ontbijt, verwarmd zwembad. Enorme feedback met betrekking tot de omgeving en de mogelijke uitstappen.
Een aanrader ! Bedankt Catherine en Patrice.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by GODERIS (BELGIUM)

We hebben een super vakantie van 3 weken gehad in villa montebello.We zijn er door catherine en patrice ontvangen geworden als vip's, iedere morgen genoten van een prachtig ontbijt op het terras met alles erop en eraan.Het is een guest house die prijs-kwaliteit zijn gelijke niet heeft.De ligging is subliem,en biedt een uniek uitzicht over de baai.Het was goed vertoeven in de prachtige tuin,en het verwarmde openlucht zwembad zorgde voor heerlijke afkoeling.
De luxe kamers zijn ruim en kraaknet,de staff is zeer vriendelijk, behupzaam en niets is teveel gevraagd.
Dit adres is er eentje die ik aan mijn beste vrienden durf aan te bevelen.
Jacques en Christiane Goderis/Oostende

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.017706
Longitude: 18.348149

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2012 - 8 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap