The Trout and Butterfly is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (112 reviews)

The Trout and Butterfly

Self Catering at 353 Ukhozi Drie, Dullstroom, 1110, Mpumalanga, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 112 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 112 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2016

Very Good

Review by MR E VENTER (JOHANNESBURG)

Thank you for a great stay

January 2016

Very Good

Review by MR E VAN RENSBURG (POLOKWANE)

Loved our stay at The Trout and Butterfly.

Great location for fishing, restuarants and shopping.

January 2016

Excellent

Review by MRS L OOSTHUIZEN (NELSPRUIT)

We satyed at The Trout and Butterfly during our Company training conference in Dullstroom.

It is very beautiful

January 2016

Excellent

Review by MR T TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

We had a fantastic weekend in Dullstroom and as always really enjoyed staying at The Trout and Butterfly

December 2015

Very Good

Review by MR J NEL (PRETORIA)

Loved our Christmas at The Trout and Butterfly.

Thank you to Steve and Jackie for arranging a Chrsitmas tree.

December 2015

Excellent

Review by MR N ROBERTSE (JOHANNESBURG)

We had our year end function at The Trout and Butterfly it was great

November 2015

Very Good

Review by MR J MERRY (JOHANNESBURG)

The kids loved it so much. The boys loved fishing in the Dullstroom dam The Trout and Butterfly is a fantastic venue

Thank you

November 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS Y SNYMAN (PRETORIA)

We really enjoyed our stay Thank you so much

October 2015

Excellent

Review by MR C VAN DER BERG (JOHANNESBURG)

Great stay. Thank you.

September 2015

Excellent

Review by MR R VAN NIEKERK (PRETORIA)

Second visit for us and a first for my parents in law from Belgium.
We had a great stay. Thank you

September 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS A SCHOEMAN (HARTEBEESPOORT)

Great Stay. Very well equipped, Very clean

August 2015

Very Good

Review by MRS DIEKERICKS (PRETORIA)

Lovely stay Thank you

August 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS WHITLOCK (JOHANNESBURG)

Best Womans Day weekend ever. Had so much fun. Thank you to Sannie who looked after us so well.
We will do this again

July 2015

Very Good

Review by MR D PATER (DURBAN)

The enitre family loved The Trout and Butterfly.
The kids rode their bikes, my parents loved the secluded courtyard and my wife and I really enjoyed preparing the meals in the well equipped kitchen

July 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS A S MILLAR (PRETORIA)

A wonderful place to get away and experience the peace of the Mpumalanga highveld. Our son Jordan caught his first fish.

June 2015

Very Good

Review by MR C ROTHMAN (DURBAN)

The propterty met all our expectations.
Clean, well maintained, beautifully furnished and well equipped.
Thank you

June 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS L SEALY (ZIMBABWE)

The Trout and Butterfly is the perfect venue for a family gathering.
We had so much fun. Loved the fireplace and the undefloor heating.

May 2015

Very Good

Review by MR T DOUGLAS (JOHANNESBURG)

From our arrival to our departure everything was great. So nice to know that the dogs were sage in the courtyard when we went out

May 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS E CLARKE (JOHANNESBURG)

Lovey venue, Centrally located but with a feeling of being in a different world. Thank you

April 2015

Very Good

Review by MRS W NEL (PRETORIA)

Our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly

So good to see the standards as as high as they were on our first visit. Thank you to Sannie (housekeeper) who looked after us during our stay

April 2015

Excellent

Review by MR LOUBSER (JOHANNESBURG)

A fabulous 3 day break. Everything was perfect. Thank you

April 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS BURKE (JOHANNESBURG)

A most special place. Thank you for a wonderful Easter weekend.

March 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS COETZEE (Newcastle)

The perfect half-way stop en route to the Kruger Park. The Trout and Butterfly met all our requirements. Thank you to Sannie for making us feel so welcome

March 2015

Excellent

Review by MR NESBITT (JOHANNESBURG)

We had a most enjoyable stay at The Trout and Butterfly. Thank you. We have booked for December!!!

February 2015

Very Good

Review by MRS N CHOTU (PRETORIA)

A wonderful weekend getaway.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by MR TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

The Trout and Butterfly offered exactly what we needed for a family reunion. Everyone including the dogs had a fabulous time.
We will be back

February 2015

Excellent

Review by MR TRIM (JOHANNESBURG)

The Trout and Butterfly offered exactly what we needed for a family reunion. Everyone including the dogs had a fabulous time.
We will be back

February 2015

Excellent

Review by MRS VAN DER SPUY (JOHANNESBURG)

Being able to walk into town was fantastic. Loved The Trout and Butterfly. Clean, spacious, well maintained and beautifully furnished.

December 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS V KNIVER (Johanneburg)

New Year in Dullies. Its got to be done. Sannie the housekeeper at the Trout and Butterfly is a gem. Looked after us so well.

Will try to be back for Christmas in July

December 2014

Excellent

Review by MR PIETERSE (LADYSMITH)

The kids loved it, the dogs loved it we loved it. Thank you to Steve and Jackie for going the extra mile when we had car trrouble. We will be back

December 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS WALKER (JOHANNESBURG)

Our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly did not dissapoint. We hope to be back in 2015

December 2014

Excellent

Review by MR BOUWMEESTER (JOHANNESBURG)

We loved our stay at The Trout and Butterfly. So well equipped, and beautifully maintained. Thank you

July 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS A HELLET (Johanneburg)

We have already made our second reservation. Cant wait for September.

The Trout and Butterfly location is fantastic - walking distance to everything.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS S LANGENHOVEN (Nelspruit)

A great breakaway. Kids fished, rode thier bicycles, and had a ball at the bird of prey centre.

The courtyard is ideal for sundowners.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS J LA FLEUR (Johanneburg)

Such a fun weekend in such a wonderful venue. Bookclub mid-year break.

Thank you so much

June 2014

Very Good

Review by MR C BAUWER (Pretoria)

I had the most fabulous birthday surprise. The Trout and Butterfly is the perfect venue.

Thank you to Sannie (housekeeper) who looked after us so well.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS TURNER (Johanneburg)

We had the most amazing long weekend. The Trout and Butterfly is very well maintained and beautifully equipped.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS C DREW (PIETERMARITZBURG)

We stopped over on route to the Kruger Park. Perfect half-way stop. Clean, well kept and fully equipped.

May 2014

Very Good

Review by MRS N GARWIE (Johanneburg)

We had a lovely time. Thank you for accomodating our request for an early check in.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by MR MACPHERSON (Johanneburg)

This was our second visit. So good to see the standards being maintained. The "Yorkie children" had a ball.
We will be back. Thank you

May 2014

Excellent

Review by MR B SIBANYONI (Pretoria)

We had a great weekend. The Whiskey bar should not be missed.

May 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS SUNNASY (Johanneburg)

The kids were safe, the dogs were safe, the parents were happy. Such a great place to escape to. Hope to see you in December

Thank you so much

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Mrs P Emmett (BENONI)

This was our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly, and we were so glad we booked again. Everything was perfect. Thank you so much. Such a wonderful venue for a family get-to-gether.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS FEIS (Johanneburg)

We had an incredible time and were absolutely thrilled with the calibre of the accomodation and service. We will definately stay again. Thanks very much

April 2014

Excellent

Review by SWAN (MALELANE)

Such a fun couple of days catching up with the girls. Thank you we will be back

March 2014

Excellent

Review by MR J BRUWER (Pretoria)

Summer in Dullies. Long afternoons in the courtyard. The Trout and Butterfly has everything.

Thank you so much. Really enjoyed our stay

March 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS G WELHAGEN (Pretoria)

The perfect spot for a weekend away. Sannie looked after us really well. Walked up Suikerboskop and around town.
We will definately be back

February 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS Y YUST (Limpopo)

A wonderful family venue. Kids rode their bikes for hours.
Will be back. Thank you

February 2014

Excellent

Review by MRS E MULDER (Johanneburg)

Great weekend for the whole family. Loved walking to Mrs Simpsons for dinner.
The Trout and Butterfly is beautifully appointed and very well maintained.
Champagne breakfast in the courtyard was such fun

January 2014

Very Good

Review by MRS VIVIERS (Johanneburg)

Post ChrstimasNew Year break. Much needed rest in the perfect venue.

Thank you. See you again

December 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS N MAYLON (Cape Town)

Wonderful pre Chrsitmas break. We will definately be back.
Thank you to Jackie & Steve for accomodating our every need.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS I HOUDET (Johanneburg)

Such a wonderful Christmas venue. Thank you to Jackie for the funky Christmas tree.

We had so much fun

November 2013

Excellent

Review by JENNY DOWN (Johanneburg)

End of year company function. Perfect venue.

Will be back

November 2013

Excellent

Review by MR G TAIT (POLOKWANE)

Second visit. Fabulous stay. Thank you

October 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS M TEIXEIRA (Pretoria)

Such a fabulous weekend. The Trout and Butterfly has everything. Will be back

August 2013

Excellent

Review by MR C LAWSON (Johanneburg)

Loved the privacy and space. See you next year

August 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS C BORELY (Johanneburg)

Perfect venue for a ladies weekend. Loved the bathrooms

August 2013

Excellent

Review by MR S VAN DER MERWE (Pretoria)

Great. Thank you.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS A MULLER (Johanneburg)

IT WAS PERFECT, THANK YOU

July 2013

Excellent

Review by MR W KRITZMAR (Pretoria)

Very beautiful. Thank you for accomodating the extra kids.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS L BEKKER (Pretoria)

The perfect place to stop over on the way to the park. Beautiful and very well maintainted

June 2013

Very Good

Review by MR HARRIS (Johanneburg)

Enjoyed being able to walk to town and the Dullstroom dam. Kids loved it

June 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS ODENDAAL (Pretoria)

WE HAD SUCH FUN. THANK YOU TO SANNIE WHO LOOKED AFTER US.

June 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS T KLOPPER (Johanneburg)

Winter in Dullies. Lovely fire place, Beautiful space. Loved our stay

May 2013

Very Good

Review by MR J. MOSS (DURBAN)

Such a special venue for a family gathering. Throughly enjoyed the ambiance of the Trout and Butterfly. Thank you to Jackie & Steve for all their imput in arranging the event.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS VISAGIE (Nelspruit)

Absolutely fab. Everything we needed. Clean, spacious, beautifully appointed. We will be back

May 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS M VISAGIE (SABIE SAND)

We throughly enjoyed our stay. The Trout and Butterfly has everthing one could want for a completely relaxed breakaway. Loved it.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by MR S.I CLARK (JOHANNESBURG)

This is our second visit to The Trout and Butterfly, and we enjoyed it just as much as the first visit.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by DR D. ROUX (PRETORIA)

We were so impressed with the Trout and Butterfly. Private, immaculate and beautifully appointed. We will definately book again

March 2013

Excellent

Review by MR R. KLIEMA (JOHANNESBBURG)

A relaxing breakaway. Loved the privacy of the courtyard. The housekeeper is really efficient, we wanted for nothing.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS S. MARAIS (PRETORIA)

Great venue, great stay, Will be back

March 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS A. SCHOEMAN (NELSPRUIT)

Difficult to decide who loved it more the dogs or us. We had a great stay. The Trout and Butterfly is beautifully appointed and very well looked after. Thank you so much

February 2013

Very Good

Review by MRS Y MOMMSEN (JOHANNESBURG)

Coperate getaway. So nice to find such andupmarket well looked after venue.
Will book in my private capacity.

February 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS A LEWIS (PRETORIA)

From the making of the reservation, to the check in, to the housekeeping, to the actual venue such a great experience. Loved it. Will be back

January 2013

Excellent

Review by DR E. VAHED (Pretoria)

Enjoyed our stay. Thank you to Jackie for arranging a game of golf at Hightland Gate golf estate. Very well quipped and beautifuly appointed

January 2013

Excellent

Review by MR D CHATER (JOHANNESBURG)

We only have good things to say about The Trout and Butterfly. The home was beautiful, well equipped and Sannie(the housekeeper) was really efficient to!!
We had a wonderful time, and will definately be back, and recommend The Trout and Butterfly to others!

January 2013

Excellent

Review by MRS S ALBERTS (PRETORIA)

Thank you so much we had a wonderful stay. Will be back.

December 2012

Very Good

Review by MRS A KLOPPERS (BRITS)

So good to find a venue that lives up to expectations. Spacious, well equipped, private, well maintained. Everything we had hoped for.

December 2012

Excellent

Review by MAHER (ERMELO)

Really enjoyed our stay. We will be back

December 2012

Excellent

Review by MR DEAN CHATER (Johannesburg)

We only have good things to say about The trout and Butterfly! The home was beautiful, well equippied and Sannie (the housekeeper) was really efficient too! We will recommend The Trout and Butterfly to otuhers!

December 2012

Excellent

Review by MR G. HURRELL (KYALAMI)

What a wonderful place to spend Christmas. Lots of room for the whole family. Carols by candlelight in Dullstroom. We will be back

November 2012

Very Good

Review by LEE (PRETORIA)

Spacious, private, very well equipped. Courtyard is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the company of friends and family

November 2012

Excellent

Review by GILLINGS (WHITE RIVER)

Great venue to excape the heat of the lowveld. Spacious, clean, very well equipped. Kids loved the secret bathroom!!!

October 2012

Very Good

Review by MR P. RISLEY (PRETORIA)

Lots of space, very comfortable, well equipped, well maintained. Great location.

September 2012

Very Good

Review by UREN (PRETORIA)

Great family break just before the onset of Matric finals. My wife loved the very well equipped kitchen. Kids have asked that we book again

September 2012

Excellent

Review by JOOSTE (JOHANNESBURG)

Private, very well maintained and equipped. Loved the walk up Suikerboskop.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by HINTON (PIETERMARITZBURG)

Loved, loved, loved. The Trout and Butterfly, very peaceful, very private. We had such lovely evenings in the privacy of the courtyard. Very well equipped

August 2012

Excellent

Review by VAN LEINDEN (NELSPRUIT)

Fabulous break for the Womens day weekend. Immaculate, well serviced,. Great bathrooms. This is going to be a regular on a breakaway list

July 2012

Very Good

Review by MRS C. HALSTEAD (Johannesburg)

Had a wonderful stay. Jackie even arranged for the kids school uniforms to be laundered so we could stay another night.

July 2012

Very Good

Review by LAMBRECHTS (JOHANNESBURG)

Wonderful break. The dogs loved the walk to the Dullstroom dam.

July 2012

Excellent

Review by MRS R MUDALI (PRETORIA)

Great venue for a family reunion. Very well equipped.

July 2012

Excellent

Review by MRS M. SEQUEIRA (JOHANNESBURG)

Loved walking into town, great vibe. The Trout and Butterfly was just perfect

July 2012

Excellent

Review by MR. J. BEZUIDENHOUT (PRETORIA)

Great venue for a family breakaway.Private, clean and very will equipped.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by MR H. GARRANA (JOHANNESBURG)

A secret garden for the kids. So close to Dullies, loved the space. So good to be able to bring our dogs who had a great time at the Dullstroom dam.

June 2012

Excellent

Review by MS. L SMITH (JOHANNESBURG)

Great stay. Thank you. The four legged children loved it.

May 2012

Excellent

Review by MR N ROETS (MALELANE)

Really enjoyed our stay. Thand you to Steve for making us feel so welcome. The Trout and Butterfly has everything you need for a home from home experiece. Will be back

April 2012

Very Good

Review by BOUWER (PRETORIA)

Very well equipped, and maintained, great location,

April 2012

Excellent

Review by MRS B HUME (Johannesburg)

Fabulous weekend breakaway venue. Kids loved fishing at the Dullstroom dam. Accomodation perfect. Will see you next Easter

March 2012

Excellent

Review by NAGY (PRETORIA)

Had a lovely stay. So good to be able to walk to the restaurants and yet just far enough out of town to have that "country feeling". Very well equipped.
Will be back

March 2012

Excellent

Review by NAGY (PRETORIA)

Had a lovely stay. So good to be able to walk to the restaurants and yet just far enough out of town to have that "country feeling". Very well equipped.
Will be back

March 2012

Excellent

Review by BECKER (NELSPRUIT)

Conforatable drive from Nelspuirt, perfect desitination for a mid-term break.
Well equipped, very comfortable,
Will definately come again.

February 2012

Excellent

Review by DE PLEDGE (ENGLAND)

Loved the privacy and the fact that the kids could be "contained" in the courtyard without feeling cramped.
Beautifully equipped. Cleaning lady very friendly ane efficient.
Thank you for a wonderful stay

January 2012

Excellent

Review by JOHAN VAN DER MERWE (HAZYVIEW)

This was our second visit and we were again very impressed by the standards of The Trout and Butterfly. Well maintanined, elelgantly furnished, and very will equipped.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by WILLIAMS (JOHANNESBURG)

Wonderfula stay, Immaculatly maintained, Well serviced. Nice and private.

January 2012

Excellent

Review by ALLERS (PRETORIA)

So good to find a pet friendly venue. Loved our stay, will be back

December 2011

Excellent

Review by MIKE STOLTZ (JOHANNESBURG)

A throughly enjoubale stay. Very well kept. Lovley staff, great location... just far enough out of Dullstroom to be secluded and near enough to walk to the dam or even down to the pub.
Will definately be back

December 2011

Excellent

Review by MR C. HOLLAND (PRETORIA)

Thnak you for a lovey Christmas. The addtion of an already decoated tree was such a bonus!!
The kids loved the space and the proximaty to town is perfect (no hustle and bustle and yet near enough) We will be back.

October 2011

Excellent

Review by FIONA BROWNE (Jo)

Just to let you know that the Trout and Butterfly is a beautiful place to stay. The facilities were outstanding and the house well equipped and clean.
We would definitely stay there again

Regards
Fiona

August 2011

Excellent

Review by IAN CLARKE (JOHANNESBURG)

A very comfortable, well equppied and mainted home.
Value for money: Excellent
Staff at the veneu:Excellent

July 2011

Excellent

Review by ROBBIE TUINDER (JOHANNESBURG)

What a beautiful home. Excellent service, value for money,
We will definitely book again.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Micheline Haller (SWITZERLAND)

Having traveled extensively through Africa, our stay at The Trout and Butterfly was a highlight.
Wonderful attention to detail, very comfortable beds and superb service.

We loved the courtyard... very private

Thank you so much.

We will be back

April 2011

Excellent

Review by Andrea (Johannesburg)

Love it! Fabulous rooms and facilities, great vibe and excellent hosts - will definitely stay there again!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.41198
Longitude: 30.105981

Closest airport(s)
Kruger Mpumalanga Airport - 160km
OR Tambo International - 250km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2011 - 112 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap