Strandfontein on the Rocks is rated 4/5 by visitors (12 reviews)

Strandfontein on the Rocks

Self Catering at Strandfontein, Cape West Coast, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is

Very Good

from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Strandfontein on the Rocks in Strandfontein?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape West Coast.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2016


Review by Adri Van Zyl (Cape Town)

Hierdie was ons derde besoek en ek het dadelik weer geboek. DIE BESTE plek ooit, ek is immers hier gebore en het my matriek hier geskryf. Baie dankie Lida van Zyl, jy is baie professioneel en alles alles is perfek.

August 2015


Review by Wilsenach (Pretoria)

Dit is 'n werklike sprokie! Die huis is pragtig, skoon en baie goed ingerig. Die uitsig wonderlik, jy voel of jy op jou eie eiland is. Loop afstand van die kafee en restaurant.
Ons sal beslis weer hier kom kuier, en vir langer as drie dae die volgende keer.

August 2014


Review by Deon En Frances Smith (Malmesbury,Western Cape)

Lida, 'n Onbeskryflike stukkie hemel op aarde, 'n lieflike skoon en gerieflike huis met niks wat ontbreek nie, 'n onvergeetlike naweek, sal binnekort weer terug wees.

February 2013

Very Good

Review by Koos Brandt (Parow Noord)

Ek ken ongelukkig nie genoeg byvoeglike naamwoorde om Lida se stoep te beskryf nie, maar dit was 'n onvergeetlike paar dae in Strandfontein. Die huis voldoen aan al die nodige behoeftes en nog meer en alles was skoon en netjies met ons aankoms. Om soggens wakker te word en saans aan die slaap gesus te word met die geruis van die see onder jou kamervenster was voorwaar 'n onvergeetlike ervaring. Dankie Lida.

September 2012


Review by Corne,Upington (Upington)

Definitief die plek waar ek sal gaan bly indien ek strandfontein in die toekoms besoek. Om so na aan die see te wees is wonderlik. Ons familie het dit verskriklik geniet. Moeilik om te glo maar ons het twee kaapse galjoene van die huis se stoep af gevang! Huis beskik oor al die toerusting wat jy nodig mag he, badkamers is netjies en huis is splinternuut uitgeverf.
Lida dit was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!

September 2012


Review by Laetitia Coetzee (Kempton Park)

We spent two nights in Strandfontein-on-the-rocks and will definitely return for longer. The views and sounds of the ocean are spectacular! The internal lay-out of the house is spacious and user-friendly. Everything that we needed were provided for. We loved the deck chairs, the surroundings and absolutely adored the view from the main bedroom in particular. Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful house with others.

December 2011


Review by Gary Graham (Thabazimbi)

The dwelling is completely dilapidated and unmaintained. The furniture is badly worn out, broken and dysfunctional.
I was conned and made to believe that the place is so sought after and that I had to pay up front to secure a month long stay in December, but when I arrived I was devastated at the condition of this dwelling. If I did not pay up front I would have left immediately.
The carpets are tattered, The lounge suite is so badly worn and old, its covered in blankets to hide its poor condition, the cupboards are falling apart, the tiles throughout the building are cracked from the sagging floor, blankets are thrown into the cupboards and they also filled with junk preventing you from storing your own stuff, some cupboards are locked and half our personal goods are stored on top of tables due to shortage of storage space, there is no DSTV, the outside furniture is rusted away, the plastic deck chairs are broken and unusable, the steel braai is completely rusted away, the bathrooms are tiny and very tattered, the kitchen cupboards are lined with news paper and there is no place to pack your groceries, the stove plates are rusted away, the dust on top of everything is scary and the smell of cigarette smoke mixed with the stale odour of dampness is unacceptable, the bedroom linen is stained and worn out, there is not a second set of linen there is no maid to clean up.
I last stayed at a place like this when I was started out in life and could not afford any better. This is a complete rip off and I feel that everything you see on the internet is a con and the owner does not care for this place. Itís all about making money and deceiving the distinguished guests, without one ounce of customer care.
Itís a real shame. The only good comment I have is the touch of the God given views and the fact that the prefab house is right on the water. The con and touch of the human element is however horrendous. Shame on you!
The worst is, looking at the disappointment on my families faces, after so many beautiful past holidays I have given them.

July 2011


Review by Yvette Van Rhyn (Cape Town)

I just want to add to the last review is that it is all about location location location. please remember this is the west coast.

February 2011


Review by Rassie Mans (Brackenfell Cape Town)

Dit was voorwaar 'n wonderlike ervaring wat ons gehad die naweek van 18 tot 20 Februarie in Strandfonetein. Die woonhuis was pragtig skoon gewees en jy het alles gehad wat nodig was, voorwaar 'n plus punt, wat meer kan mens vra, die see uitsig was asemrowend, jy word wakker met die branders wat hier teen jou kamer breek , die vars see lug in jou longe. Lida, voorwaar ons moet jou regtig komplementeer oor die pragtige gerief wat ons kon geniet het asook die skoon woonhuis. Gaan beslis weer hiervan gebruik maak.

February 2009


Review by Dave Dean (Coalville UK)

We have stayed here for a number of years and always had a great time, by far best location in Strandfontein !! The owner had always been most helpful to us ( as aliens from the UK ). I am somewhat surprised that a previous tenant moaned about "the owners belongings'. They are locked away which seems to be the practice in most S/C's in RSA. It is Not a place, #thankfully#, for people more used to staying in the synthetic, modern, crowded, 'Chic/Trendy', places in Plet' Bay, Knysna et al which could as well be in Spain or Cyprus. Will be there next year !

November 2008

Very Good

Review by Alex Acker (Bellville)

My perfect day
Being woken up by the thunder fo waves crashing onto the rocks, having a cup of coffee and rusks while reading the news paper and watching the tide come in. Lazing in the sun all day, eating fresh crayfish and Savignon Blanc while wathcing the kids play in the the tidal pool, 20 meters away. Settling down in teh evening with a roaring fire with the pink sunset in the back ground and a rising full moon over Strandfontein. ... all this on Lida's stoep.

The house offers comfortable accomodation and is large enough to accomodate two families with ease. We thought we would be able to keep it a secret, but we can not stop telling people about Strandfontein and Lida's stoep. WE LOVE THE PLACE!!!!!!!!!1

September 2008


Review by Amy (Clanwilliam)

The views at this guest house are outstanding, the house is literally perched on the edge of the ocean; breath taking.
The house and its appliances, however are very worn-out and the guest house is not nearly as modern, clean or cosy as these photos suggest.
During our stay a number of bulbs around the house did not work, the side table lamp did not work and the heater did not work. The duvets were very thin and not very cosy. The TV reception was poor and there was no decoder, though apparently there is a facility to bring your own decoder. The cupboards in our bedroom did not close and were held closed with a piece of wire and there was a lot of clutter (random items like teddy bears, rackets etc) sitting on top of the cupboards.
Despite this we had a lovely stay and made the most of the views but I felt that these photos over-rated the guest house somewhat and gave the wrong impression.

Price Range
Available on request

Contact: Lida van Zyl

Tel: +27 (0)44 533-3285
Fax: +27 0(27) 215-1020
Mobile: +27 (0)83 309-7391

Physical Address:
Strandfontein on the Rocks, Strandfontein, Cape West Coast, Western Cape, South Africa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -31.755555
Longitude: 18.227221999333334

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 360km

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions will be made when pre-arranged with owner, please enquire.

Listed on
November 2004 - 12 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap