The Stables Lodge is rated 4/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (36 reviews)

The Stables Lodge

Guest House / Self Catering at 85 Jonkershoek Road, Stellenbosch, 7600, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Very Good

from 36 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Stables Lodge in Stellenbosch?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Winelands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 36 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2016

Excellent

Review by Cobus Oosthuizen (Johannesburg)

Ideally located... Peaceful and tranquil setting... A sense of home away from home. The hospitality of the hostess is exemplary, and we had an awesome stay... Thank you!

September 2016

Excellent

Review by Stacey (George)

Wonderful stay, beautiful location, friendly hostess. Thank you for making us and my fury kids feel so welcome.

August 2016

Excellent

Review by Matthew (Port Elizabeth )

Very pleasant host. Excellent comfortable/tidy accommodation situated very near Stellenbosch center. All at a very reasonable price. I will definitely visit again!

June 2016

Excellent

Review by KT (St. Paul)

This lodge was recommended. The staff is very friendly and was able to accommodate us last minute. We found the room neat and clean. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous.

May 2016

Good

Review by Nikki (Pietermaritzburg)

Easy access from the car to the room. Everything you need. Loved the walk from the Stables up the Jonkershoek road before breakfast. The scenery is too beautiful!

March 2016

Very Good

Review by Tom Heinemann (Copenhagen)

Wonderful, quiet place. Good service and a great help with our laundry.

March 2016

Very Good

Review by Robin Clark (George)

We enjoyed our stay. The reception was very good and our accommodation just what we required for the weekend.

March 2016

Excellent

Review by Wayne (Johannesburg )

Great! Thank you

December 2015

Excellent

Review by MC Boonzaier (Pretoria)

We had a really pleasant stay. The rooms are comfortable and has a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

December 2015

Excellent

Review by Abraham Pramod (Port Elizabeth)

Excellent atmosphere, very clean and neat rooms, friendly staff and close to all activities in stellenbosch

September 2015

Excellent

Review by Dané (Howick,KZN)

We absolutely loved our stay at The stables Lodge! Besides the cleanliness,extreme comfort and beauty of the mountain chalet - We had the most wonderful service from all staff and the management. It was one of the most helpful,friendly and most accommodating management I have ever experienced and such a value for money.
The location is so convenient and tranquil,yet close to all the places you would want to go in Stellenbosch and the Cape Winelands.
Thank you so much Ilaria for your special rates,hospitality and for making our 3 week stay one to remember. Will definitely come again!

August 2015

Excellent

Review by AP (Durban)

Our stay at The Stables Lodge was extremely pleasant. The chalet is very comfortable and quiet. The staff was soooo friendly and welcoming. It is a great location to explore Stellenbosch, the Winelands and Cape Town. Just excellent!!!

June 2015

Very Good

Review by Nicky Mears (Cape Town)

Really clean and comfortable establishment and was perfect for my business trip. Close to Lanzerac and peaceful and quiet. Very reasonable rates and good value for your money.

May 2015

Excellent

Review by Linsey Schluter (Cape Town)

We loved our stay at The Stables Lodge in Stellenbosch. Our son was playing in a rugby tournament and we just needed a place to stay for the night with our 2 boys - and needed a B&B with inter-leading rooms. Stables was a great option, a gorgeous room with everything we needed, separate (but inter-leading) room for our boys. Ilaria was BRILLIANT and looked after us so well. Even adding an extra mattress when a friend of my son decided to stay as well. We were made very welcome and had a great stay. Lovely breakfast in the morning too, really set us up for a morning of rugby. Thanks Ilaria, we will definitely stay again.

April 2015

Very Good

Review by Rob Finlay (Durban)

A comfortable weekend stay very close to Lanzerac where we attended a wedding.We stayed in a well appointed self catering flatlet with a sparate entrance.There is secure off road parking.Thanks to Ilaria for her friendly hospitality.

April 2015

Very Good

Review by Ria Nel (Potchefstroom)

Very friendly and helpful hostess who attends to special requests.

February 2015

Very Good

Review by Lethabo Kekana (Johannesburg)

I had great stay at The Stables! Ilaria was so kind and I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Sergei Rakitianski (Pretoria)

We spent about two weeks in the Stables Lodge. First of all I would like to thank Ilaria (the owner) for her hospitality. She speaks to every guest and shows sincere interst, gives advices, directions, provides maps, etc. This is very helpful. The location of the guest house is excellent: very close to the town center and in a quiet area at the same time, with stunning view of the mountains. In a walking distance is a famous wine-farm "Lanzerac". Further down along the same street is another wine farm "Stark Conde" with a very good (and not expensive) restaurant, with excellent selection of wines, and with the most beautiful view I ever seen in my life. The Stables Lodge offers (free of charge) a stable and sufficiently fast Wi-Fi connection. Despite the fact that it is just a three-star accommodation, the service is of high quality. The airconditioner helps a lot.

January 2015

Very Good

Review by Markus Schneider (Hamburg)

We had been in Stables Lodge for about 1 week (end of Jan. / beginning of Feb. 2015). We had the self catering unit (Standard Chalet). The rooms are neat and very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped. Outside the Chalet is a small garden with a big tree – a lovely place to have supper in the dusk. The staff is friendly and welcoming. So a place to feel at home. We really enjoyed our stay in the 'Stables Lodge'.

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Richard (Pretoria)

I spent 2 weeks in the Chalet at the Stables Lodge, it was a wonderful stay. Ilaria and the staff were excellent. I enjoyed the nice home-cooked breakfast. Hi-speed Wi-Fi. There is a Spar just 2 minutes walk. Next time im in Stellenbosch, Ill drop in at the Stables Lodge

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Sharlie Opperman (Witbank)

Excellent stay

September 2014

Good

Review by AKINOLA EMMANUEL ADEGOKE (Ile-Ife)

Warm welcome from Ilaria. A peaceful environment. Thermostated regulated heater should be installed inside the rooms prior to winter for visitor from West Africa

September 2014

Very Good

Review by A. Mocke (Cape Town)

My husband and I decided to spend the weekend in Stellenbosch and chose The Stables Lodge for its location (near to Jonkershoek, excellent for cycling).
The owner, Ilaria was very welcoming and insured that our stay was comfortable.
Our room was very lovely and clean, albeit we would have preferred a double bed, which I will mention in my request for our future stay(s). Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.
I will recommend the Stables Lodge and will be coming back for sure

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Wayne Scheltema (Cape Town )

Thank you so much for making it a special day

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Wayne (Cape Town )

Great staff great accommodation. A little jewel.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Wayne And Olivia (Cape Town)

Impecable service! Our stay was memorable. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Anja for the awesome hospitality!!!

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Paul Jandrell (Windhoek)

We had a great stay, beds very comfortable and the rooms very clean.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by Henk Tieben (Rotterdam)

This guesthouse is a treasure in Stellenbosch. Everything is tought of. And al the small things that make life easy are there. The owners (especialy Ilaria) run this guesthouse with heart and soul. When you have a change to stay there you will be surprised and enjoy hospitality as it should be! The bed is better as our own! And the bedlinnen is perfect clean and comfortable.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by LInda (Ferrara, Italy)

Se volete assaporare la tipica atmosfera familiare italiana immersa in un angolo di paradiso non potete non fermarvi a The Stables! Qui le parole ospitalità, cordialità, gentilezza, accoglienza e disponibilità sono di casa. Bella dislocazione, ambienti ben curati sia internamente che esternamente e una buona colazione...la nostra vacanza nella family room "Comfort Italy" si è rivelata una sistemazione ottima, ideale per famiglie avendo una camera comunicante! Un immenso grazie e...arrivederci a Ilaria, Federico, Giacomo e Matteo.

March 2014

Very Good

Review by Mark Hume (Piertermaritzburg)

Very comfortable, clean and perfect for our needs. Ilaria is a wonderful attentive host.

March 2014

Very Good

Review by Karen Fouché (Uitenhage)

We had a very comfortable and affordable stay in the chalet and were once again very impressed the same before - we had previous stays in all their other rooms as well. Very clean and beautiful bed- and bathrooms.

January 2014

Good

Review by Yvette Van Rooyen (Johannesburg)

We were welcomed with open arms. Our stay was comfortable, clean linen and towels. Unfortunately no swimming pool on the premises.

December 2013

Very Good

Review by Bruce Macdonald (Cape Town)

Very pleasant and relaxed two nights in very peaceful surroundings. Made to feel most welcome.

November 2013

Very Good

Review by Marja Pennewaard (Netherlands)

Wonderful place clean and cosy.
We felt very welcome.

October 2013

Very Good

Review by Lanice Holloway (Cape Town)

Thank you for a comfortable stay. The facilities were clean and above all...affordable.

October 2013

Very Good

Review by C. Turner (Durbanville)

I took my husband to The Stables Lodge in Stellenbosch as a surprise for his birthday. He was very impressed with our clean room, spacious bathroom and luxurious bed-linen.

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.93447777744444
Longitude: 18.885230555222222

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 30km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Please note that it is essential to confirm time of arrival, because we do not have a 24 hour reception service.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
August 2013 - 36 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap