Somerset Stables is rated 5/5 by visitors (10 reviews)

Somerset Stables

Guest House at Corner of Somerset and Donkin Streets, Graaf Reinet, 6280, Karoo Heartland, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 10 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Somerset Stables in Graaff Reinet?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Karoo Heartland.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2013


Review by Peter And Colleen (Cape Town)

Reinette's personal attention made us feel so welcome. Great restaurant recommendation (with a booking on our behalf). Accommodation was excellent - and the breakfast just wonderful. The best was the fascinating history - an amazing collection of items of historical significance...and the stories that go with them! Fascinating! And what a lovely garden!! We will undoubetly return!! Thank you, Reinette for a lovely stay!

January 2013


Review by Susan Scott (Pretoria)

In January we staydedfor the third time in this lovely guesthouse. We had a Belgian friend, Prof Walter Pintens, with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the stay: Friendly hostess; impeccably clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms; good sercive and an excellent breakfast. Graaf-Reinet becomes even moer attractive after a stay at this guest-house.

July 2012


Review by Mike Odendaal (Pretoria)

What a pleasant surprise it was to find this place! We arrived in Graaff-Reinet without a reservation but were readily welcomed by a gracious and friendly hostess. The stay itself in a beautifully appointed room was wonderful> By the time we left the next morning Reinette the owner felt like family. Somerset Stables is highly reccommended and we will definitely be back!

July 2012


Review by Val Grantham (Durban)

Excellent b@b.From the moment we arrived till we left nothing was any bother for Reinette.She even phoned us to confirm we were on the road and booked us a restaurant for supper as we had had a puncture.Brilliant breakfast good company will return .Highly Recommended

April 2012


Review by Nigel Murray (Boston)

We had a very comfortable night in quiet, tranquil surroundings. What a gracious host and our breakfast was delicious! Thank you. Wish we could spend more time.

October 2011


Review by Grinwis-Sterling (Durban KZN)

What a wonderful stay we had at somerset stables. very well run with wonderful personalised service. stunning antiques and a fabulous breakfast - comfy , well decorated rooms and wonderful linen. you must have the breakfast it is fantastic. very good value for money. highly recommended.

August 2011


Review by C.Meier (Germany )

Sehr warme, persönliche und zuvorkommende Betreuung. Super Unterkunft, geschichtsträchtige Location.
Kann ich jederzeit weiterempfehlen! Vielen Dank Reinette!

March 2011

Very Good

Review by Claire Lemke (Knysna)

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Somerset Stables. Reinette was very welcoming, and accommodated our every need. The double room we stayed in was perfectly adequate and very clean. The breakfast in the morning was held in her historic 'stable' house, with amazing relics from days gone by - a museum in itself. Would recommend it.

February 2011


Review by Fran Blackburn (Abersoch, UK)

An unexpected little gem. The accomodation was spacious, well appointed and charmingly decorated. We were made to feel very welcome by Reinette and the breakfast was excellent and served in her period dining room. The honey from her own bees in her own garden was a real bonus.

February 2011


Review by Patricia (Gordons Bay)

Reinette is a warm host , who does a smashing breakfast! The rooms are great, the bed was wonderful after 8 hours on the road. Nothing was to much trouble, even recommending and booking a wonderful restaurant for the evening. I have been back once and will return every time I am passing through.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -32.253475
Longitude: 24.528136110444443

Closest airport(s)
Port Elizabeth Airport - 260km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
October 2010 - 10 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap