Searock is rated 5/5 by visitors (16 reviews)


Self Catering at Chartwell Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, Umhlanga, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Searock in Umhlanga Rocks?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2016


Review by Michael Oberholzer (Welkom South Africa)

Tranquility, neatnes, spacious and a very safe place.

The service was excellent and the owner personally attended to detail and the needs of guests. The locality of the apartment is in a safe and strategic place.


November 2015


Review by Prashanth (Boston USA)

Had an amazing stay with friends at Filip's flat - clean, spacious, beautiful view, and very close to restaurants and bars in Umhlanga. Filip was also a great host, very responsive and ensuring we were all comfortable and had everything we need for our stay. The whole experience made our first trip to Durban great - will certainly visit again.
Great unit, perfect location, and wonderful host
Thanks Again

September 2015


Review by Mike H (London, UK)

A beautiful three bed two bathroom apartment within walking distance of the old town restaurants, shops etc etc. Located in a very safe area, which was essential as my wife and I were travelling with our two grandchildren age 10 and 15. The apartment was spacious, a large balcony with superb sea views. Peaceful and quiet, the apartment was just perfect for us in everyway.

Filip our landlord was extremely helpful, on hand if we needed anything. A maid attended the apartment every other day. We love Umhlanga and would definitely stay at Searock again.

August 2015


Review by YN (London)

Outstanding accomodation with exceptional views”

Outstanding accommodation with exceptional views

The apartment is well maintained, spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
The owners topped it off with their professionalism, efficiency, and great friendly attitudes. We will be back and the property will be highly recommended to family and friends.

January 2015


Review by Mandy Walker (Zambia)

“Relaxing, Comfortable with wonderful sea views”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in January 2015

We just spent 9 fabulous days at Searock. The apartment is spacious, clean, airy and has all the amenities one could ask for. The view from both sea facing bedrooms / lounge and verandah are fantastic. Searock is just a stroll away from all the fabulous restaraunts Umhlanga has to offer as well as the beach and Umhlanga promenade.

We will definately be coming back and hopefully it will be soon !

Mandy Walker.

....Forgot to mention Purity the flat attendant...she always arrived with a smile on her face and left the flat spotless everyday..Thanks !

Hi Mandy,

Thanks for your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your experience.

I also thank you for complimenting my staff of taking good care of you.
We are looking forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Filip Engelen

October 2014


Review by Sasha Macs (London)

“Wonderful holiday!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago for a stay in October 2014 NEW

Beautiful flat, perfect location! The owners, Filip and Priscillah were very welcoming and made the check in and check out very easy. The flat is so airy, bright and clean, and in such a good location, walking distance to the beach promenade and to the local shops and restaurants. We had a lovely week there, and would love to come back.

September 2014

Very Good

Review by Lydia K (Midrand)

“Family unit with sea view close to shops !”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in September 2014

Great place!
Enjoyed the stay.
Kitchen: pan needs to work on stove (need a specific pan to heat up on those plates)

July 2014


Review by Michael Bentleye (Lusaka )

Comfortable and relaxing. Excellent apartment, with great views of the ocean. We were welcomed by Filip as we arrived and the apartment was exactly as advertised. Had a fantastic holiday.

May 2014

Very Good

Review by Abdul Sattar Patel Patel (Lusaka)

“home away from home”

The apartment was nice and spacious and well had all the facilities one would want.we had all Dstv channels and the view was great.
we would love to come stay again the next time we are in Durban.

April 2014


Review by Kathryn, Llanelli (United Kingdom)

Just Stunning

A beautifully presented apartment with stunning views of the ocean. It had everything we needed including washing machine and dishwasher. We were also offered maid service at no extra cost. The couple who own the apartment were very friendly, kind and helpful. You are within walking distance of many restaurants and the beach. I would highly recommend this as an excellent place to stay!”

April 2014


Review by Zelda Rautenbach (Midrand)

Reviewed by: Zelda Rautenbach from Midrand

Spacious , modern with an excellent view

The service was punctual and very friendly. The apartment is spacious , very clean and luxurious. Full cable TV and a top kitchen and linen, combined with a wonderful patio makes it almost difficult to leave the apartment. The life of Umhlanga is closeby.

March 2014


Review by M Myburgh (Pretoria)


We received excellent, friendly and personal service from Filip who went out of his way in arranging our stay at Searock. The apartment itself is spacious and beautifully furnished, with picturesque views of the ocean from the bedrooms and lounge which open onto an equally generous balcony. Perfectly situated in a quiet residential area, the unit is a comfortable stroll from the beach and a short drive to the village and shops. We loved the peaceful atmosphere of this home away from home!

March 2014


Review by Fussy Traveler (Johannesburg)

Reviewed by: Fussy traveller from Johannesburg

Great Holiday apartment

Ideal holiday apartment for family of differing needs. Close enough to the beach for the young adults to walk and far enough to be away from the maddening crowd. Large balcony with great view of the sea.
Walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Tastefully furnished.
Filip and Priscilla gracious hosts.
Good security. Would recommend to family and friends.
Wi-Fi would be an extra benefit

March 2014


Review by Quezette Tilley (Welkom)

Great stay

Thanks alot for the wonderfull accommodation.
Very neat and pleasant with a wonderfull atmosphere.
We enjoyed the stay very much.

February 2014


Review by Graham W (UK)

The perfect self catering accommodation! We had an extremely enjoyable stay in this apartment . It was quiet, secure, comfortable and very well equipped . The view from the sunny verandah was lovely overlooking the ocean. Filip, the owner was attentive to our needs . We can highly recommend this holiday accommodation!

February 2014


Review by Cheryl (Midrand)

We loved our stay at Searock. The 3 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious and had everything we needed for our 4 night stay. It is close to the shops and within walking distance of the beach.

The stunning sea view from the patio and two of the bedrooms made it even more special. Filip and Priscilla are always very accommodating every time we stay at one of their units and their service is five star! When we visit Umhlanga we phone them first!

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.73210116
Longitude: 31.08222663

Closest airport(s)
King Shaka International - 12km

Children policy
Children over the age of ten years are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
March 2014 - 16 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap