Sandown Lodge is rated 5/5 by visitors (23 reviews)

Sandown Lodge

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 10 Glebe Road, Rondebosch, 7700, Southern Suburbs, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 23 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Sandown Lodge in Rondebosch?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Southern Suburbs.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 23 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2014


Review by Kathryn Wright (UK)

A wonderful place, great hospitality, would highly recommend to anybody.

February 2014


Review by Carolyn Woollard (England)

Absolutely delightful; in particular the breakfasts. We especially enjoyed the fantastic picnic breakfast provided for us to have on the top of Lion's Head. Very memorable.

February 2014


Review by Zelda Hunter (Port Elizabeth)

Delightfully quiet.

January 2014


Review by Jochen Grubendorf (Cologne)

The perfect place to stay!

November 2013


Review by Rudolf Luthi (Switzerland)

Spent 4 nights in this beautiful lodge, a quiet place to relax after long travels, with great hospitality.

October 2013


Review by Dennis Partway (New Zealand)

A lovely base. Great breakfasts and great hosts.

October 2013


Review by Alistair Keil (Scotland)

Our return to Rondebosch and Cape Time for the first time in 10 years showed that lots has changed but the friendliness and hospitality of South Africans remains the same! The lodge is lovely, the breakfasts wonderful and a perfect base for all our Cape Town adventures.

July 2013


Review by Trevor And Felicity Bailey (Parkview, Johannesburg)

Very conveniently placed, very comfortable and Vanessa very accommodating.

February 2013


Review by Charles And Liz Fontaine (Gauteng)

Beautiful, comfortable and such friendliness and hospitality! Lovely stay.

March 2012


Review by Gaile (London)

I've stayed here 3 times now - and will stay again next time I'm in Cape Town. I always book one of the spacious self-catering cottages, which open on to the beautiful garden where there is now a fabulous new barbecue area. It's conveniently located, very easy to find, and there's plenty of safe, off-street parking. Owner Vanessa is always wonderfully helpful. Highly recommended.

March 2012



We loved our week at Sandown Lodge, not only because of the beautiful house and the large, safe, enclosed garden, but also because of the feeling we got that our hosts were wonderfully generous. We arrived to find our little kitchen fully stocked. The fridge was full of fruit, cheese, jams, yoghurts, eggs and even a big glass bottle of milk. The cookie-jar was full, there were whole bottles of various coffees, and boxes of tea – the place felt like home. And every morning we were treated to something wonderful from Vanessa’s kitchen! It was great.

February 2012


Review by Angela And Rolf Schneider (Munich, Germany)

My husband and I felt completely at home here. Sandown Lodge is situated in a very good, safe residential area. We had a spacious bedroom and bathroom with a kitchen/veranda that opened up onto the lovely enclosed back garden. Super! Breakfast was always a pleasant surprise with fruit salad, freshly baked muffins or delicious quiches. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable, and it was. They were very friendly, hospitable and helpful. We will definitely be back. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

October 2011


Review by Tracy Kirsten (Durban)

Vanessa made myself and my four schoolgirl charges feel so at home. Nothing was too much effort for her. Beautiful accommodation, lovely surroundings, and such value for money. Highly recommended!

July 2011


Review by Bev Van Vuuren (New Zealand)

A wonderful cottage to unwind after a long flight. You were very welcoming & absolutely amazing right from the start of our booking through to our stay. The cottage was private, warm & very inviting. Of course, lets not forget your wonderful breakfasts, your cooking & baking is certainly amazing! The house is wonderfully situated & in close proximity to all sites. A definite YES from all of us.
Thank you so much for making the start of our holiday just wonderful.

April 2011


Review by Bianca Brebnor (Johannesburg)

Absolutely fantastic! The place was clean, spacious, had lovely decor and a light and airy but cosy, homely feel. Our fridge and kitchen were restocked every day with lots of breakfast goodies, even a declicious quiche and freshly baked muffins! Our hosts were very friendly and the location was great. Most highly recommended.

April 2010


Review by Angela (KwaZulu Natal)

I have no hesitation in recommending this brilliant spot. The efficient, thoughtful way in which Vanessa dealt with us, from initial inquiries to our departure after a most enjoyable stay, was noteworthy. The establishment is enormously comfortable, quiet and most attractively decorated. Its location is convenient for touristy adventures as well as for shopping and business trips. We look forward to a return visit.

December 2009


Review by Lisa (Atlanta, Georgia, USA)

We had a fantastic stay. What a lovely cottage, very clean, rooms serviced daily, and the hosts were very helpful. A wonderful self-catering option in a central location.

September 2009


Review by Ed & Sonia (Moscow)

This is an excellent place to stay. Very convenient location, great accommodation & breakfast in relaxing setting, with wonderful hosts. Very reasonably priced.

August 2009


Review by Gary Schwartz (Costa RIca)

As a single traveler, the family was especially kind in spending time with me and helping with all my plans....Mr. Weim even offered his golf clubs if I wanted to play at one of the many nearby courses.
Mrs. Weim helped me with a crisis (I lost my wallet in town) and even invited me to dinner with the family on my last night!

The room was great, I wanted for nothing...The location is REALLY easy access to main roads in and out of town....I would stay here again, absolutely.

July 2009


Review by Jenny (New York)

I stayed here for over a month and so happy I did. Tastefully decorated, clean, safe, comfortable bed, wireless internet, separate study area, across the street from a UCT shuttle stop, and fresh baked muffins each morning! The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful—on the first day I arrived, not knowing the neighborhood very well, one of the owners drove me around and even took me to the market. I would highly recommend this place.

April 2009


Review by Gerard Kempff (Pretoria)

Our stay at Sandown Lodge was great! We stayed over Easter weekend and the Wiums were superb hosts. It is close to some nice parks, shops and all the main routes and the room and breakfast were excellent. Highly recommended!

February 2009


Review by Jean Rusch (Gauteng)

Our stay at Sandown Lodge was extremely pleasant, with hot fresh muffins every morning, straight from the oven! The accommodation was comfortable and clean and we could not have wanted for more. The owners went out of their way and went that extra mile for us, literally, by taking us to Cavendish Square when we were unable to find it! I would highly recommend this establishment.

October 2008


Review by Aylwin Family (London, UK)

We moved to SA for a year in Oct 08, and arrived at Sandown Lodge fresh from the airport with an 18 month boy, staying 3 weeks. We could not have chosen a better place. The accommodation was lovely and comfortable, and the welcome was superb. The Wiums are a lovely family, always happy to offer advice and to ensure their guests are happy. The Lodge is wonderfully located, you can get to anywhere very easily. We would highly recommend it for short or long stays.

Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.96442305555556
Longitude: 18.477941110444444

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 10km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 21h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
April 2009 - 23 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap