Rose Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (12 reviews)

Rose Lodge

Bed & Breakfast at 28 Rose Street, Bo-Kaap, City Bowl, Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Rose Lodge in Bo Kaap?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to City Bowl.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2012

Excellent

Review by René Gagnon (Québec, Canada)

Hélène et moi venons de passer 3 jours de rêve au Rose Lodge. La description faite dans le guide du Routard, édition papier 2011, avait guidé notre choix. Nous avons été enchantés des lieux, propres, fonctionnels, modernes, et encore plus de l'embiance chaleureuse qui y règne. On a trouvé à chaque jour le petit plus qui fait d'un beau voyage un voyage merveilleux. Bruce, le canadien, et ses deux compagnons Coco et Teddy, ses deux chiens, sont accueillants, relax, aidants à tous points de vue. Bruce est toujours prêt à converser en français sans compter son temps pour discuter de tout et rendre notre séjour chez lui comme si nous étions chez-nous.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Johannes Jumat (George)

I stayed at Rose Lodge during May 2011 while I attended a course in Cape Town. I really enjoyed my stay. From the first moment Bruce made me feel at home, provided me with all the info that I need about the surroundings and always ready to assist me in any way. The room I had was top class and was nicely cleaned every day. The two lovely ladies, Abigail and Setu were always friendly and helpful and I loved the two doggies Coco and Teddy. I really enjoyed the morning chat around the breakfast table with Bruce and certainly look forward to visit them again in September 2011 when I need to be back in Cape Town for a few days.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Eva (Edmonton, Canada)

We stayed at Rose Lodge for 9 nights. It was our first ever stay at B&B so I was a bit nervous before arriving at the door. I am happy to report that I worried for nothing. Bruce made us feel comfortable right away. The first impression was the cleanliness - our room and common areas were spotless. The decor was elegant and modern. We loved the location, it was so close to the good restaurants and places we wanted to visit. The very first day we walked to the V&A Waterfront and it was so easy. We rented a car for part of our stay (Bruce helped us with it) and it was easy and safe to park outside the Lodge. For dogs lovers, the resident dogs Coco and Teddy are the best ! I still miss them !!! So, it was a perfect stay in Cape Town.

November 2009

Very Good

Review by Roger And Bonnie Head (Ivins, Utah, USA)

We stayed at Rose Lodge 5 days and it is the perfect place to embark from to enjoy the many attractions of Cape Town. Bruce was extremely helpful to us and Teddy and Coco are constantly entertaining. Rose Lodge is more than an accommodation. It was our friendly home while we were in Cape Town

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Steve Hathway (Cardiff)

If there's any better B&B in Cape Town, one would take some convincing that it's better than Rose Lodge. There is nothing to fault in the accomodation, from the tastefully designed and well equiped room, to the enjoyable breakfast. Rose Lodge is well placed for walking around the city, as well as being surrounded by some very good restaurants, also just a short walk away. One's stay is made the more enjoyable by Bruce, who is a great source of help when considering what to do in Cape Town. He obviously loves his city, and is ready with suggestions of what to visit, and where to dine. And the welcome from Coco and Teddy each morning completes the experience. I can't recommend Rose Lodge highly enough.

February 2009

Excellent

Review by Jody And Tracey (Calgary, Canada)

What a great place to stay. We walked everywhere from here and loved the location. Bruce is a great host and really looked after us. Coco and Teddy were a delight. If you are going to Cape Town, the world's greatest city, please stay with Bruce. The breakfasts were so good too. Try Marco's restaurant a block away for great authentic SA food. Thanks Bruce for a great time. We consider you a friend.

January 2009

Excellent

Review by Nicole (Schaffner)

Suchen Sie ein gepflegtes,sehr sauberes, modern eingerichtetes, sehr zentral gelegenes und ueberaus zuvorkommendes B&B, dann sind Sie beim Rose Lodge genau richtig. Von der Rose Street aus ist alles zu Fuss sehr gut erreichbar, in unmittelbarer Umgebung gibt es unzaehlige gute Restaurants. Taeglich wird ein frisch zubereitetes Obstsalat serviert, und wer moechte kriegt auch noch frische Croissants oder home-made Muffins credenzt. Bruce steht wann immer mit Info's und Tips zur Seite oder fuehrt einem persoenlich durch's Bo-Kaap. Gastfreundschaft ist hier gross geschrieben und die beiden Hunde Coco und Teddy tun das ihrige um Ihr Herz im Sturm zu erobern.

October 2008

Excellent

Review by Faye Gibb (Edinburgh, Scotland)

I've just come home from a fabulous holiday in South Africa and my stay at Rose Lodge was a huge part of that. The location of the Lodge is ideal, just a few minutes walk from the city centre, easy access to the Waterfront, and set in one of the prettiest areas of the city. The rooms are beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and would put a lot of so-called luxury hotels to shame. However, the best things about Rose Lodge are Bruce, toast-eating Teddy and the fabulous Miss Coco Chanel! Bruce is a fantastic host, unfailingly kind and courteous, and very knowledgable and helpful about where to go and what to do. There's a wonderful atmosphere at the Lodge, thanks to Bruce (and T & C of course!), and several very jolly evenings were spent on the stoep supporting the SA wine industry! I really can't recommend Rose Lodge highly enough - enjoy.

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Maud Viti (Aix-en-Provence)

Mon message s’adresse aux français désireux de se rendre à Cape Town. Si c’est votre cas, voici une adresse que je vous conseille vivement : rendez-vous chez Bruce à Rose Lodge.

En effet, je me suis rendu chez Bruce au cours de l’été 2008 et Bruce m’a reçue comme s’il recevait une amie. Je tiens à préciser que je voyageais seule pour la première fois en Afrique du Sud et Bruce a su rendre par ses conseils, son professionnalisme et sa gentillesse rendre mon séjour très agréable (réservations d’excursions aux environs du Cap, taxi, et quelques conseils de sécurité).

Pendant tout mon séjour, Bruce a su se préoccuper de mon bien être en me proposant plusieurs fois de dîner en ville avec d’autres personnes séjournant à Rose Lodge ce qui a facilité les contacts.

De plus, chez Bruce les petits déjeuners sont délicieux et très copieux, ma chambre était très confortable et l’ambiance qui y règne est des plus conviviale voire même familiale !!! sans oublier les deux agréables Coco et Teddy !!!

Un très grand MERCI pour vous BRUCE et toute l’aide que vous m’avez apporté pendant mon séjour en Afrique du Sud.

Maud de France

August 2008

Excellent

Review by Tracey (Amsterdam)

Rose Lodge has everything going for it. It's in a great location, with many wonderful restaurants practically on the doorstep. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is great. But above all that it's homely.

There are only 3 rooms and it's easy to meet and chat with other guests. Bruce really wants to make your stay special. He will go out of his way to give tips and help with booking buses, trips, taxis etc. Nothing is too much trouble. But the stars of Rose Lodge are definately Coco and Teddy, Bruce's two cute dogs - they are gorgeous!

July 2008

Excellent

Review by Katie Fogarty (New York, USA)

My friend and I stayed 5 nights at Rose Lodge. Bruce, the owner, is so wonderful and made our stay in Cape Town so memorable. The rooms are cosy and clean and he makes the most delicious breakfasts! We also loved his adorable dogs Coco and Teddy. Overall, as two young American females, we felt very safe staying at Rose Lodge. We recommend it highly. Thanks Bruce!
 

April 2008

Excellent

Review by Ricarda Roden (Vienna, Austria)

Rose Lodge Is the perfect address for all those who are looking for beautiful and lasting memories. Apart from the extremely fortunate position of his house - EVERYTHING is within reach - Bruce also offers excellent information, advice and tips which save you a lot of time and money. However, the most important thing in South Africa remains the security and the sense of security. Thanks to his first-class contacts, excellent knowledge of the area and good language skills (English, German, and French) you will be protected against all threats and emergencies.
But the most unique and unbeatable thing are his two dogs. Give those two delightful little creatures a bit of affection and you will be overwhelmed with love. Rich, Vienna

Rose Lodge ist die Adresse für alle diejenigen, die wunderschöne und bleibende Erinnerungen suchen. Abgesehen von der äußerst glücklichen Lage seines Hauses – ALLES ist zum Greifen nah – bietet Bruce auch hervorragende Informationen, Ratschläge und Tipps an, mit denen Sie viel Zeit und noch mehr Geld sparen können. Das Wichtigste in Südafrika ist jedoch die Sicherheit und das Sicherheitsgefühl. Mit seinen erstklassigen Kontakten und noch besseren Lage-, und Sprachkenntnissen (Englisch, Deutsch, Französisch) sind Sie vor allen Gefahren und in allen Notlagen geschützt.

Das Einzigartigste und Unübertreffbarste sind jedoch seine zwei Vierbeiner. Schenken Sie diesen zwei entzückenden Geschöpfen etwas Aufmerksamkeit und Zuneigung und Sie werden mit Liebe regelrecht überhäuft. Rich, Wien

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.919304999333335
Longitude: 18.417022999333334

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 20km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
July 2008 - 12 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap