Plumtree Cottages is rated 5/5 by visitors (9 reviews)

Plumtree Cottages

Self Catering at 6 Apple Lane, Newlands, Southern Suburbs, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Plumtree Cottages in Newlands?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Southern Suburbs.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016


Review by Inge Cilliers (Rustenburg)

Plumtree Cottages is 'n pragtige, baie gerieflike plek in Nuweland. Lekker naby aan winkels en lekker stil. Pragtige uitsig op berg. Kamers is pragtig ingerig en alles is daar wat jy nodig het. Prue is 'n wonderlike gasvrou en ek sal enige tyd weer daar gaan bly

July 2016


Review by Kathy Lopes (Durban)

A charming cottage and a charming host! Despite being winter ,the cottage was warm and comfortable and was equipped with everything that a traveller would need! It was private and set in a beautiful garden with the mountain forming the backdrop. Amenities were close by - restaurants , a petrol station with a Pick and Pay and it was within walking distance of Cavendish Square. I would be very happy to stay here again and would certainly recommend it to others,!
Kathy Lopes

March 2016


Review by Tessa Watson (Perth)

This was our second stay at Plumtree Cottages and we enjoyed it as much as the first stay. The cottages are very well located, close to shops, restaurants, pubs and Newlands sporting facilities. Security was very good, safe to walk to venues at night, and garage parking facilities available. Prue is an excellent host, very helpful and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Cape Town, and recommend the cottages to friends. Thanks Prue.

March 2016


Review by Susan Haupt (Johannesburg)

We two couples one from JHB and one from Perth spent a wonderful 2 weeks in Plumtree Cottages.
The cottages are well appointed, beautiful garden, private pool and have a wonderful view of the mountain.
Restaurants and shops are close by, as is the Newlands Stadium for sports lovers. Newlands is a lovely, historical suburb. Security is good and we happily walked all over even at night.
Prue is a relaxed, helpful hostess. We will definitely return at some stage.
Sue Haupt.

January 2016


Review by Edgar & Hilary Skipsey (Haddenham)

A wonderful 2 weeks in Prue's Streamside Cottage. A lovely, tranquil setting, with shops, restaurants & wine-tasting all within easy walking distance. A great centre for the Winelands region and all the attractions around Cape Town. Prue was always very helpful and we enjoyed every moment of our time there.

April 2015


Review by Ralf Hoech (Leipzig)

If you want to visit a peaceful place combined with friendliness Prue's cottages are highly recommended by my family and me. The cottages are surrounded by a magnificient garden with all possible colours. It is a quite place and the sleeping quality is very good. Prue is a very kind and reliable person who tries to please you throughout your stay. In addition it is recommendable to visitors that look for a safe place in Cape Town. Security is guarding the street all day long. This place is great and if I will ever come back to Cape Town I will send a second request to this friendly owner.

Ralf (31 years old), Nadine (26 years old) and family (between 45-55 years old)

March 2014


Review by Karen Jacobson (Newton, MA, USA)

A hidden gem in a very accessible Southern Suburb of Cape Town. The two units are extremely charming, clean, and a delight to stay in. The grounds are a secret garden, gorgeous to sit in, with Table Mountain as a backdrop and a lovely plunge pool to enjoy on hot days. Walkable to Newlands center with coffee shops and markets. The area feels very safe. Prue is the ideal hostess, always available and helpful but also very respectful of personal space. We are eager to stay here again on future trips to Cape Town and have recommended it to friends as well!!

February 2014


Review by Annette Kirkley (Kingston-upon-Thames)

A beautiful and very restful haven tucked away within sight of Table Mountain, with a helpful and informative host. Plumtree Cottages are set in a delightful suburb with amenities close at hand and within easy reach of the airport, the centre of Cape Town and many other attractions.

January 2014


Review by The Coles (Hibberdene, KZN)

A peaceful and restful haven during a frenetic few days in Cape Town. Perfectly positioned for all areas of Cape Town and Prue could not have been more helpful. Highly recommended and we will be back. Thank you Prue!!

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.97318899933333
Longitude: 18.45628

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 15km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
March 2010 - 9 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap