Oude Denneboom is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (26 reviews)

Oude Denneboom

Self Catering at Oude Denneboom Farm, Voor-Paardeberg, Paarl, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 26 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Oude Denneboom in Paarl?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Winelands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 26 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

December 2011


Review by Kemp Family (Jersey Channel Islands)

Probably the best place I've ever stayed in! Top spot in the wildlife department and perfect for our family. Kids enjoyed the pool and the space to just be kids

September 2011


Review by Gill Simons (Swansea. UK)

Thank you both (+1) for sharing this dream. We have had a wonderful couple of days. My husband and I are 120 years old together & well travelled - so new experiences are even more valued. We shared a bottle of champagne with strawberries watching Eland & Zebra - Superb! This is NOT a 4 Star cottage. It is 5 Star+. We hope to return next year. Thank you again for this unique experience. Gill & Doug Simons, Swansea. UK. xxx

July 2011


Review by Gary, Sharon, Hannah & Kevin Laughton (Knysna)

Wonderful place, amazing views, home from home, but everything done so beautifully! Nothing could be changed to make it better. With FANTASTICAL wine, olives and sunset outside on the stoep. Endless hours spent sitting in front of the spectacular fire place playing Scrabble with the family. This truely is the most special get-away one could have, the peace and tranquility of the surroundings is inspirational! Thank you!

January 2011


Review by Cliff Hurter (WINDHOEK Namibia)

Your cottage was the best self catering unit we have used in all our travels, anywhere! The complete privacy, stunning surroundings and not having want of anything more inside the cottage contributed to the best stay we have had, ever. Well done to the De Waal family and please do not change anything in or around this magical place.Julle sal ons gou weer sien!
Cliff en Iroleen Hurter en kinders.

December 2010


Review by Lynn Leonardi (Singapore)

After a crazy year in Singapore we have truly appreciated the calm and silence that we discovered here. Everything about this spot exudes a quiet relaxation and it touches one's soul.Thank you for your kindness and generosity and for sharing this with us. Best wishes, Roberto, Lynn and Steven.

August 2010


Review by Robyn Southgate (Cape Town)

An absolutely magical experience!! Thank you for welcoming us into this little piece of heaven! So good that I'm afraid to share this with anyone! Seeing the wildlife was such an amazing experience. Even more so was waking up with Eland out on our doorstep. Your wine & hospitality was world class and I'm proud to have brought my Spanish guests here! Thank you De Waal family!
Robyn, Jes¨s y Sergio (ESPN)

May 2010


Review by Alison Reidy (Cape Town)

All one could wish for and more! So much care was shown in all the little details and fine touches. What an honour to wake up to herds of antelope on our doorstep! This spot is so peaceful (although the incredible rain storm certainly made us feel warm and cosy by the big, roaring fire!). We're very keen to experience Oude Denneboom in the summer too, so we'll be back. Thank you for an awesome experience. Alison and Julie Reidy.

April 2010


Review by Tamarin Jakins (Port Elizabeth)

Our time spent at Oude Denneboom was exactly what we needed: it is beautiful, peaceful, charming and we found ourselves just wanting to stay at the cottage with great food, great company and an incredible view. We are sad to leave after 4 nights as it simply has not been long enough. Thank you for your professionalism and high standards, it is reflected in the outstanding quality of the cottage. We have high praises for the owners and staff. God bless.
Phil, Wendy & Tamarin Jakins and Craig.

March 2010


Review by Stefan Lakhichand (Den Haag, Nederland)

What a beautiful time we have had. This was an amazing experience and our honeymoon was the best. There is so much to love around here. I thank you for this beautiful concept & allowing us to be a part thereof. You are amazing and we will definitely be back! ! ! Melvina & Stefan, Den Haag, Nederland

December 2009


Review by Jeremy & Ria Price (Gloucestershire, UK)

We can only add our enthusiasm for Oude Denneboom to that of your many other visitors. It is a lovely place - both the cottage and the surroundings. It is like having your own private Game Park. As and when we are in SA again we cannot imagine going anywhere else when in the Cape Town area.
Jeremy and Ria Price, England

November 2009


Review by Christine Alessandini (Cape Town)

This has been a wonderful weekend and a true escape from city life. It feels like visiting family! This cottage is a treasure. We really look forward to spending some time again in this lovely place.
Dave & Grace Ramsay, Nino Puccini, Christine Allessandini.

October 2009


Review by Juli (Paarl)

Peace, Quiet, Tranquility and Luxury - The Perfect Therapy for your Soul. Highly recommended for every city dweller. In fact a must. Feel 10 years younger this morning. Thanks for everything!
Johan, Juli, Janelia & JJ Huisamen

September 2009


Review by Penny Geyser (Hout Bay)

Loved the tranquility, the setting, the cottage itself, the animals, the fireplace and the entertaining birdsong chorus. What a relaxing, rejuvenating weekend. We will recommend it to all our friends and associates. Thanks a million!
Penny & Henrie Geyser

September 2009


Review by Carey Jenkings (Cape Town & Delareyville)

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Oude Denneboom. The setting is breathtaking and we had a great time watching the birds and wildlife. A special family time - a rare treat. We felt utterly spoilt by the whole experience and will definitely recommend it to friends.

August 2009


Review by Parveen Dalvie (Cape Town)

What a wonderful, serene place in which to spend a few days! Sitting on the stoep, drinking your great wine and watching the wildlife. What more could one ask for? We had an awesome time and can hardly wait to come back. See you soon! Parveen & Richard

July 2009


Review by Daniel & Caroline Simoes (Cape Town)

We came away for a break from "lavida loca" and it was exactly what we needed. A roaring log fire; glass of your excellent Sauvignon Blanc and Nat King Cole playing in the background. Heaven! We will most definitely be back for summer nigghts of animal viewing from the "stoep".
Warm regards, Daniel & Caroline Simoes. P.S. The little touches are what made it so special.

June 2009


Review by Michaul & Diane Hosty (Cape Town)

Well worth waiting for. So glad we were able to stay at this beautiful cottage steeped with history. Felt like we had gone back in time, however with all the modern day cons. We felt very blessed to be able to enjoy the rain, mist and beauty of nature around us, and most of all the wonderful fire place and wine! We sure will be back to explore some more. Grandpa had a wonderful time. God bless.
Grandpa Ed, Michael & Diane Hosty

May 2009


Review by The Hillman's (Melkbosstrand)

What a serene experience, surrounded by nature and God's creatures. We loved the little cottage and felt comfortable, rested and at peace. Even the first Cape winter storm that swept over the farm, could not dampen our spirits. The continuous log fire kept us warm and cosy. We woke one morning with the Springbok visiting around the cottage and a short drive around the reserve, rewarded us with seeing Zebra, Wildbeest and Eland. We loved it here and will be back!
Dave & Nicky Hillman, Rhoda Ferreira

April 2009


Review by Cindy Sheard (Cape Town)

Your stunning cottage is the perfect place to explore the winelands from. Why spend Euro's on going to Provence if we have this right on our doorstep! We thoroughly enjoyed our evenings around the braai and our morning cycling around the farm. The game kept a beady eye on us all day & we on them! Thank you, we will definitely be back.
Martin, Cindy & Sarah-Jane Sheard

April 2009


Review by Volker Hagen (Germany)

These days at Oude Denneboom were so relaxing for us that we will certainly come back to visit you and your wonderful cottage. We at once felt very well in the silence and peace of this place with all the nature and animals. We enjoyed the 4 days of our trip from Capetown where we are visiting our daughter, her husband and our little 14 days old grandchild. When we will be back in Germany we will certainly often remember this time. With best wishes and many thanks.
Volker & Margit Hagen, Germany.

March 2009


Review by Andrew Johnson (Perth, Western Australia)

We have enjoyed exploring one of South Africa's hidden treasures. The tranquility and beauty of the sunsets and the sounds of the wildlife are priceless. Many of the larger establishments in SA can take a leaf out of your book - you and your staff are to be congratulated and commended in terms of the level of service provided coupled with the cleanliness of this establishment. Many others have over-promised and under-delivered - you have under-promised and overdelivered.

Andrew & Ellen Johnson

March 2009


Review by Val Wilkinson (Ireland)

This was our first visit to the cottage and it certainly won't be the last. We did not want to leave. The cottage has been superbly designed and fitted out to an exceptionally high standard, which gives an extremely high level of comfort to anyone staying here.

Sitting on the patio watching zebra, wildebeest, eland, etc grazing so close by is something very special - add this to the very hot weather, views and peace - you definitely will chill out.

We left with wonderful memories and hope to return. Our sincere thanks to David, Susan and Jessica for their housekeeping and cheerful attitude.

Jim & Val Wilkinson, Ireland
Mary George-Parker, England

March 2009


Review by Candice Raeburn (Cape Town)

What a stunning place this is and truly a hidden gem. My husband and I absolutely enjoyed the peace & tranquility. The perfect place to start off our honeymoon. We took a drive around the reserve to see if we could spot some animals & found to our amazement groups of wildebeest, zebra, springbok & gemsbok. How wonderful it was to see these animals in real life! We had the pleasure of witnessing a wildebeest pulling rank at a water spot. Spinning round crazy, knocking two others out of the way! What a magical experience to wake up the next morning to find these beasts grazing nearby. We will treasure the memories of this place when we relocate to England as we took 200 photo's in two days! I cannot thank you enough and we will never forget it.
Mr & Mrs Raeburn

February 2009


Review by Trixi Eickhoff (Vredehoek, CapeTown)

We enjoyed the peace and magic of this place tremendously. We also very much appreciated the beautiful details and all the love and hard work that went into making this cottage and its surroundings such a stunning "get away".
Trixi, Bernd & Claudia Eickhoff

February 2009


Review by Joe Grobbelaar (Stellenbosch)

It's been a stunningly wonderful two days staying in the cottage. You have a very special place, a real 'getaway'. We will remember this time forever and hopefully will be back to visit again.
Joe & Jenny Grobbelaar

January 2009


Review by Shaun Temmers (Somerset West)

The peace and tranquility of the surroundings is truly one of a kind. We'll recommend it to everyone in need of a break from "life".
Shaun & Friends

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.629799999333336
Longitude: 18.8655

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 70km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 15h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2009 - 26 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap