Old Thatch Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (12 reviews)

Old Thatch Lodge

Bed & Breakfast at 9 Moolman Street, Swellendam, 6740, Cape Overberg, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Old Thatch Lodge in Swellendam?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2012


Review by Lutz (Rumilly)

Excellent and lovely place. We really enjoyed our stay over there and karin our host is wonderful. She is very nice and we feel like at home. This place is to be remembered forever. We will definetely plan to go back there once again.
Djeam and alain ( france)

August 2010


Review by Robert And Jeanine (Somerset West)

We were pleasantly surprised and Karin is a wonderful hostess. The lodge is an interesting mix of old, new, African artifacts all over... very different, but beautifully decorated.

Karin also suggested 'La Sosta' restaurant, Italian couple cooking with love... you can taste the passion!

Karin packed the fire-place... we had the whole lodge to ourselves and had a most relaxing warm winter evening. Karin spoiled us with a breakfast feast! We went for long walk in Marloth reserve.

Go visit the Old Thatch Lodge!

June 2010



Trés trés bonne adresse sur le Route des vins et jardins pour son accueil, gentillesse, et sa cheminée surtout en juin.....Une atmosphère chaleureuse au point que l'on a du mal à partir. Des hôtes à la hauteur de leur prestation avec un petit déjeuner au champagne. Alors si vous vous rendez à Swellendam je vous dis sans hésitation ; Old Thatch Lodge is the best address you have to stay and enjoy !!!!!

April 2010


Review by Jon Charley (Wymeswold UK)

Carole and I are familiar with the Western Cape but it's at least 20 years since our last visit to Swellendam. Touring on this occassion we had one night at The Old Thatch lodge which was the highlight of our trip. Fantastic hospitality and a breakfast to die for! The accommodation was excedingly comfortable and Karin was the perfect hostess. We wished that we had booked for more than the one night. We'll definitely return very soon.

March 2010

Very Good

Review by REDOUTE Nicole (Saint Denis Reunion)

Une adresse fabuleuse sur la Garden Route dans cette jolie petite ville de Swellendam.. Karin est une personne chaleureuse qui fait tout pour vous procurer un accueil exceptionnel : champagne au petit déjeuner, coupe de fruits joliment préparé, plein de renseignements utiles sur ce qu'il y a à faire !. Avons dormi dans une chambre ( Nous avions la Suite Nectarine ) au décor raffiné , quartier tranquille, jardin luxuriant. Malheureusement, nous ne sommes restés qu'une nuit ! A recommander à tous les amateurs de bon goût.

March 2010


Review by Nicole Redoute (Saint Denis Reunion)

What a marvellous stay we had at Old Thatch Lodge. Karin was very friendly to us : she did her best to give us the feeling of being at home and a lot of tips to visit Swellendam. Nice room ( we stayed at the Nectarine Suite - 3 adults ) in a beautiful garden in a quiet area. Karin is the only guest who had proposed us champagne at breakfast ! A wonderful place where we stayed unfortunately only one night. An excellent stop over on the Garden Route.

March 2010


Review by Ralf (Backnang, Germany)

A perfect stay at Old Thatch Lodge for two nights. The charming atmosphere and excellent hospitality made this stop relaxing and wonderful. Very well suited for stopover when travelling from Garden Route to Cape Town or vice versa. Even perfect for longer stay as "home" base for visiting Bontebok, De Hoop... Karin - the owner, always very polite and helpful - served an excellent breakfast on the terrace.

December 2009


Review by Justin (Basel, Switzerland)

The Old Thatch Lodge was quite simply the best bed and breakfast we stayed at during the five weeks we spent in South Africa. Although Swellendam is somewhat off the beaten track, it's very peaceful and is worth a few days' visit just for the fantastic Old Thatch breakfasts. I have no reservations in wholeheartedly recommending it.

April 2009

Very Good

Review by Tom & Ilse (Amsterdam)

Excellent stay. We have enjoyed the atmosphere and the hospitality which was provided by the host Karin. The evening at the fire place and very nice breakfast which included Champagne was great. For a sleep over in African style is this the place to be.

February 2009

Very Good

Review by Andrew Vine (Limoges France)

As a party of 4 we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The setting is beautiful and the accommodation is very good with an interesting and traditional twist. Our host, Karin was very welcoming and helpful and her breakfasts are out of this world!
We also enjoyed the "floor show " provided by Noodle, Flop, Trinity and the cats!!!!

February 2009


Review by Horst Gnadl (Germany)

We had a very very very warm welcome and It's a beautiful house and location to stay for some very relaxing days. We hat this special feeling to be at home :-) Karin - the owner - very friendly, always trying to help and answering all questions. Special thanks for the reservation at the Italian restaurant around the corner and the tip for the mystical garden. The rooms are very nice and have a personal note, which we loved very much. The breakfast was the best we had during our complete stay (very delicious) and we loved the fresh fruits. Very good value for money. We will definitely be back and recommend the house to our friends.

February 2009


Review by Lichte (Kiefersfelden)

Ein Muss für Romantiker und Freunde eines hervorragenden Frünstücks. Aber auch die herzliche und aufgeschlossene Art unserer Gastgeberin Karin, runden den Eindruck ab. Wir waren einfach begeistert.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.026867999333334
Longitude: 20.43232799933333

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 200km
George Airport - 200km

Children policy
All ages welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 13h00
Check-out by 10h30

Exceptions to check-in / out times by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2005 - 12 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap