Old Beacon Hill is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (19 reviews)

Old Beacon Hill

Self Catering at 1 Old Beacon Hill, Lowlands, Estcourt, KwaZulu Natal, 3310, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 19 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Old Beacon Hill in Estcourt?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Battlefields.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 19 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

July 2016


Review by Susan (Johannesburg)

My daughter & I stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Beautiful surrounds and the accommodation was perfect, it had everything we needed. We really appreciated the comfortable beds with electric blankets at the end of a wonderful day of exploring & sightseeing. Thank you.

October 2014


Review by Manqoba Kubheka (Newcastle )

What a lovely place, we really love the place it beautiful so much of nature, marvellous decoration inside cottages I really liked it in future my home will take that theme. Thanks Old Beacon Hill for your comfort till next time

August 2014


Review by Stan And Tilly Webster (South Africa)

If you want to get away from the madding crowd, Old Beacon Hill is the perfect place to be. The accommodation is spacious and clean and has everything that one needs. Old Beacon Hill is perfectly situated for quick access to the N3 and the R103 allowing you to explore both the "Battlefields" and the "Drakensberg Mountains." The hosts, Ed and Adele, know how to be available and yet not intrusive. We look forward to our next stay there.

August 2014


Review by Christine Terblanche (SA)

Very impressed with the lovely self-catering log cabin we stayed in for one night over the weekend. Everything was supplied, even fresh milk in the fridge! Lovely linen and thick towels as well as plenty of hot water. Ed was welcoming and most hospitable.

April 2014


Review by Alta Van Niekerk (SA)

The accommodation is spacious, exceptionally neat and clean, and very well equipped. Beautiful surroundings. We had a lovely stay and I strongly recommend Old Beacon Hill.

March 2013


Review by Marlinde Melissen (Den Bosch, Netherlands)

We had an excellent stay here. Perfect accomodation with a perfect view. Lots to see and do nearby, like good hikes and views. The accomodation is spacious, well equipped and decorated with style. Very friendly owners. We would definitely come back here!

May 2012


Review by Jan Human (South Africa)

What a nice place to stay!! Friendly people, clean, good facility, very good value for money

April 2012


Review by Ayanda Mkhize (South Africa)

A very nice and neat place. Loved it and will reccommend to friends !

December 2011


Review by Gill Harrold (United Kingdom)

High quality accommodation with lovely furnishings. Very well situated for the Drakensberg National Parks. Only 15 minutes drive from nearest decent supermarket. Owners on site for help and information but privacy respected.

October 2011


Review by Hendrik Oosthuizen (South Africa)

We arrived at Old Beacon Hill at around 10:40 pm and were greeted with a friendly smile despite the time. The cabin is stylishly furnished with soft bedding. Old Beacon Hill even provided tea, coffee and milk which was a welcome surprise after the long trip. I would recommend this establishment to all my friends and family. Well done!

May 2011


Review by Darryl Van Der Merwe (South Africa)

We got way more than we bargained for! Very hospitable owners and a beautiful place! Will certainly book this wonderful place again!

May 2011


Review by E. Venter (South Africa)

Was only there for one night, but I will most definitely visit again. It was like I was at home relaxing !

January 2011


Review by Ameena Hoosen (Durban)

Very relaxing and peaceful. The cottage is abosultely neat and makes you feel very at home. Absolutely spacious and comfortable. If you want total relaxation this is the place to choose.

December 2010


Review by Janet English (Durban)

Relaxation at its Best

It was awesome - truly the best place I have been to where you can just relax in your own space and absorb all the beauty around you. To Adele and Ed - amazing hosts - thank you for a wonderful stay

December 2010


Review by Leanne Katemba (Johannesburg)

We spent 6 days,including Christmas at Old Beacon Hill. What an amazing time we had!! The cottage was perfect and cosy, the scenery is beautiful and tranquil. Child friendly. The boys had a great time. The location is perfect for drives and outings.The hosts were welcoming and helpful and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Just what we needed. Thank you Ed and Adele for a beautiful holiday!!

September 2010


Review by Dave Charles (Ballitto)

This was an unexpected delight. The accommodation is bright and cheerful with so many thoughtful touches you feel instantly welcome. They really go the extra mile to ensure your comfort - and the location is picturesque.
We loved it !

June 2010


Review by W. Oxley (Durban)

What a place to feel relaxed, at home in and in awe of God's beauty. An amazing host family who made our comfort and relaxation their priority.... Highly recommended. Beautiful, spacious and beautifully decorated....

March 2010


Review by Andre Landman (Johannesberg)

We wanted idyllic, tranquil and peaceful - and that's just what we experienced at Old Beacon Hill. Accommodation lacked nothing and Ed and Adele were helpful and unobtrusive. Recommended to the weary seeking a bit of solace.
Andre Landman, South Africa - 08 March 2010

January 2010


Review by Rochelle VanGraan (Durban)

Best rest ever!!!!!

It was fantastic! The property is secure, the rooms and living area are spacious and neat. Very homely and child friendly. The scenery is beautiful and very tranquil. Warm & friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome. You know how it is said, "what you see is what you get", well at Old Beacon Hill, you get so much more! Can't wait for our next holiday. Thank you Ed and Adelle - we really appreciate how you made our stay such a comfortable and memorable one.
Rochelle Van Graan, South Africa - 04 January 2010

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.021785
Longitude: 29.893257

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 170km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
April 2010 - 19 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap