Ocean Grove Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (15 reviews)

Ocean Grove Guest House

Bed & Breakfast / Wedding Venue at 740 Von Baumbach Avenue, Glenmore, Munster, 4278, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa . Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 15 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Ocean Grove Guest House in Munster?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to South Coast.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 15 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2016

Excellent

Review by Dr Peter Bartholomew (Pietermaritzburg)

Wow ! What a place to stay, Ocean Grove Guest House.

My wife, Drikie, and I want to thank Arthur and Ursula and their staff for a most fantastic stay over. Unfortunately it was only for one day (7th to 8th May) when we attended our daughter Judy's marriage to Roy.

The wedding ceremony was all set-up on the beach by the team at Ocean Grove. Despite unforeseen rain, it was a fantastic wedding with tremendous atmosphere. Ocean Grove hosted the reception which was second to none and, indeed exceptional! The service at the reception, and the following morning at breakfast, was "spectacular". Judy and Roy indicated to me that the wedding was indeed a spectacular start to their life as husband and wife.

Once again many, many thanks to "Ocean Grove" for superb accommodation and service.

Drikie and Peter Bartholomew
(PS the four star rating is too low)!!!

October 2015

Excellent

Review by Graeme & Gill Leslie (Durban)

Ocean Grove is an exceptional venue which has it all! Set in a large, well-maintained garden and overlooking a panorama of ocean from a spacious pool deck, we were hosted by the owners, Arthur and Ursula. They are welcoming and friendly, knowledgeable about the details of the area and unobtrusively there to ensure a great experience.

We had a family wedding at Ocean Grove where all our needs were met; the food was excellent, personally prepared and plentiful, served with the beautiful sound of the sea just audible in the background where we had been entertained earlier in the day by the sight of whales and porpoises disporting themselves. We were able to relax with our guests and share our joy and excitement without worrying about any arrangements.

Our room overlooked the sea and was both comfortable and spotlessly kept. The peace and space gave the sense of a real getaway, but with all home comforts. We will be back someday I hope, to enjoy these special qualities again.

Thank you so much Arthur and Ursula for going the extra mile for us in every way, not only over the wedding weekend but in all the time leading up to it as well!

February 2015

Excellent

Review by Lindsay And Sugan (RSA)

We went on a weekend break for Valentines . We had such an awesome time. The atmosphere was incredible! The breakfast was divine! The rooms were so luxury. I must say we had a well deserved break. Thank you Ursula and Arthur for being such wonderful hosts.

April 2014

Excellent

Review by JAMES (PIETERMARITZBURG)

I went on a 3 day break and was staying at Ocean Grove, 1st of all I want to thank Arthur and Ursula for making me and my psartner feel so special the way they welcomed us and from the moment I entered the premises it felt like home. From our side and experience its a top of the range place and perfect. We enjoyed the stunning sea view, the garden (greenery), the bar and lots more. I will advise everyone to go to Ocean Grove and you will tell me again. But what a time we had. Once again we thank you Arthur and Ursula we won't stay away too long. God bless you.

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Uta Meyer (London)

We recently got married on Munster beach, and had our reception at Ocean Grove Guesthouse. Arthur and Ursula lovingly arranged the whole event, which turned out beautifully. The attention to detail was astonishing and the beauty of the venue and surrounds more than we could have hoped for. We spent our honeymoon there too, lazing on the beach and going for runs in the scenic neighbourhood and close by national parks. It was an experience that we will never forget and the hospitality and friendly service received at Ocean Grove is unrivaled.

January 2013

Excellent

Review by Horst Goldner (Guending/Germany)

We have been heer the third time, this time for five weeks. It did feel very well, just as it has been before. Mainly we came to play golf on the golf places around this area. We recommend the familiar place Southbroom and the exiting place Wild Coast Sun. Both are not more as 15 to 20 minutes to drive.

May 2011

Excellent

Review by Sabine (Heidelberg/Germany)

We had a very nice stay at the Ocean Grove. Arthur is a perfect host and we enjoyed the beautiful guest house a lot. We had a wunderful brekfast and the restaurant recommendation was excellent.
The house itself is a little paradise. Great ocean view - big garden - completely quiet and so relaxing atmosphere - wonderful beach walk with labrador Roxy. We will come back!

March 2011

Excellent

Review by Horst Goldner (Guending/Germany)

During more than two month at SA, we visited several 4* and 5* B&B Houses. Ocean Grove Guesthouse is a 4* guesthouse, but it was just the best B&B we have been. All rooms are very good, but the best is the pearl room. The rooms ar large to very large, the living and dining area is for the guests and very comfortable. The very often used sentence 'Home from Home!' is really true by Arther and Ursula. They prepare a very good breakfast and by request a very good dinner too. We (two, retiered) have been twice there for two weeks and will come back again.

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Boris Und Kerstin (Hamburg, Germany)

Wir verbrachten eine Woche in diesem wunderschönen Gästehaus und werden die tolle Zeit nicht vergessen! Es war die beste Zeit, die wir in unserem 6 wöchigen Trip durch Südafrika hatten. Die Gastgeber, Arthur und Ursula, sind ausgesprochen hilfsbereit und freundlich. Das Frühstück war einfach köstlich und wunderbar. Der Pearl Room ist wunderschön, Überhaupt ist das gesamte Guesthouse mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Vielen Dank, Arthur und Ursula, für Eure Warmherzigkeit! Wir werden Euch in Erinnerung behalten (und Roxy natürlich auch). Wenn sich eine Möglichkeit bietet kommen wir auf jeden Fall wieder.
P.S. Der "Cape Ruby" ist gut verpackt heil zuhause angekommen und bei jedem Gläschen denken wir gern an die schöne Zeit bei Euch zurück.

October 2010

Excellent

Review by Chris & Clover Miller (Henley On Klip)

PARADISE! ROYAL 5 STAR HOSPITALITY! Thank you Arthur, Ursula and Roxy! We had the most fabulous, relaxing and enjoyable holiday with 5 Star service. The accommodation was the best we have stayed in ever - beautfully decorated, spacious and comfortable. The entire guest house and beautiful grounds are spotless. The breakfasts are delicious, healthy and satisfying (we were full until evening!) with plenty of variety. And the service - we couldn't have asked for anything more - it was faultless. Arthur and Ursula are both genuine, very nice, sincere and friendly, helpful people. We will most definitely be back - repeatedly!

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Adelino / Gilles & Gorette (Johannesburg / France)

Wow!!! If you want an amazing breakfast, tranquil surroundings, beautiful sea view and friendly hosts then you need to stay at the Ocean Grove. The hosts provided us with four camping chairs and cooler bag for the beach which we did not ask for but needed. I asked Arthur if i could park my car in the garage and he had the one garage cleared so that i could park my car. I had cousins from France with me and they referred to the Ocean Grove as paradise. Arthur and Ursula thanks for the wonderful hospitality. May God richly bless you both!!

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Christopher Thomas (Zug, Switzerland)

Choosing accomodation for a holiday via the internet can sometimes be an exerciise in 'hit and miss' planning and so there is always a certain relief when you find somewhere that really lives up to the bill. So it was with the Ocean Grove, as we found it to be a beautifully appointed guest house located in a small piece of paradise.
The Ocean Grove sits in a quiet area close to Port Edward and offers excellent close up views of the Indian Ocean. It is only a very short walk from a superb beach which although public is very quiet and is just like being on a private beach. Although we stayed in March, I'm sure it would, during the season (September - November), be a great location for watching whales and the other marine life which abound.
The rooms at Ocean Grove are large and nicely decorated and Aurthur and Ursula make excellent hosts in that they are accomodating, provide excellent breakfasts - sometimes more than we could eat -and offer a quiet but very efficient level of customer service. I'll be eternally grateful to Arthur who on the morning we left Ocean Grove, took it upon himself to chase us across the Transkei for an hour, just to return my credit card. I'm not sure how many other hosts would offer that level of service to their customers and so thank you.
So, based on our 2 nights stay we'd have no hesitation at all in recommending the Ocean Grove to others and know we ourselves will vist the place again when we revisit the area

December 2008

Excellent

Review by Chris And Cheryl Murray (London)

Fantastic food and friendly people! Thanks so much for a wonderful time! We would definitely be back if we go to the Natal South Coast again!
Thanks again for an excellent time!

September 2008

Excellent

Review by Sylvia And Geoff Bowers (UK)

We first stayed at Ocean grove 18 months ago and can`t get enough of the place! We have been back 3 times to this little piece of paradise! The hosts Arthur and Ursula are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious and the guest house is exquisite. There is a swimming pool and tennis court in the fabulous grounds, and the hosts can even provide a picnic lunch to enjoy in one of the beautiful areas of the garden. We love it there and will definitely be back!

November 2006

Excellent

Review by Gunner And Gill Engbers (Cape Town)

Thank you for making our 1st week of marriage and wedded bliss so wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable! Many thanks “The Newly Weds”
PS. The beds are big and the bedding so comfortable!!!

Tonight From
ZAR1100.00
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -31.001666666666665
Longitude: 30.260555555555555

Closest airport(s)
Margate Airport - 18km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
January 2005 - 15 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap