Newlands Homestay is rated 5/5 by visitors (13 reviews)

Newlands Homestay

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 17 Avenue Grande, Newlands, Cape Town, 7700, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 13 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Newlands Homestay in Newlands?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Southern Suburbs.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2015



Newlands itself was a great alternative to Fresnaye or Sea Point where I usually stay. It is a leafy elegant suburb sitting beneath the impressive edge of Table Mountain. It's a short drive to the City or Atlantic Seabord and directly on the route to Constantia & beautiful False Bay. I could stroll down to watch first class international cricket at the iconic Newlands cricket stadium.

I intended to stay at Newlands Homestay for just 3 days but I spent almost 3 weeks there during my wonderful trip to South Africa and Namibia.

Mine was the double bedded en-suite Pool Room overlooking the sparkling pool. It was exactly what I was looking for both upon arrival from London & upon my return from 2 weeks on the road in Namibia. It was spacious & private with its beautiful big bed, immaculate linen & simple but perfect furnishings. I couldn't have wished for more.

Wendy and Stan, the owners & hosts made me so welcome. They were so friendly & helped me in many ways from adaptor plugs & computer leads to travel ideas & destinations. We shared many enjoyable conversations. Also, being a dog lover there was the added bonus of Bella & Donna, two of the softest & friendliest Border collies that you will ever meet.

How wonderful to sit drinking the first coffee of the day looking out over the beautiful pool & lovely garden & then to stroll down to Newlands village or up to the world famous Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. I would certainly stay with Wendy & Stan again at Newlands Homestay and recommend it most highly.

February 2014


Review by Ted Heape (Oxford, England)

I have had 2 holidays in Cape Town during the last 2 years. For both I stayed at Newlands Homestay- a 3 week stay in January 2013 and a 5 week period in February/early March this year. Hosts Wendy and Stanley Linley were there to meet me at the airport on each occasion and they returned me there on leaving for England.
My accommodation each time was in the Pool Room which is self-contained and has all necessary amenities. There are 2 beds which are very comfortable! Wendy cooks an excellent breakfast which gets every day off to a good start.
Newlands Homestay is situated in a quiet, residential area. It is a 10 minute walk to Cavendish Square which has a large Shopping Mall and Restaurants. Stanley offers a taxi service and it is only a 10/15 minute drive to the centre of Cape Town. I would recommend to anyone wishing to visit the region. They would be well looked after!

November 2013


Review by Jonas Kipfer (Basel Switzerland)

I have been staying at Newlands Homestay several times and will return next year for another nine days. This lovely place offers clean and very comfortable rooms at very reasonable prices. But besides from that, the owners Wendy and Stanley are extremely kind and very helpful hosts. Furthermore, the guesthouse is conveniently located between the city centre and the winelands of Constantia in an upmarket, very safe neighborhood. This place will always be my second home far away from where I live. I cannot wait to return and therefore, can only recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet, clean and cosy place to stay.

March 2011


Review by Candus (Dubai, UAE)

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to Wendy for an amazing visit to Newlands Homestay. From the intitial step of making the reservation, I was impressed. Professional, yet warm & approachable, Wendy made us feel welcome & answered questions with ease & patience.

Newlands Homestay is an ideal home-away-from-home Bed & Breakfast. It is in a peaceful garden setting & the room is private & spacious. The bed is luxurious and, being a frequent traveller, I would place it in the same class as the chain of Marriott Hotels which are renowned for their luxurious beds & linen!

I would definitely recommend Newlands Homestay to my family & friends.

Thank you Wendy for your hospitality, & I look forward to spending many more vacations at Newlands Homestay.

Many thanks

March 2011


Review by Jen Johnstone (Johannesburg)

What a wonderful place to stay. Wendy and Stanley are the perfect hosts. The room was separate to the house, spacious and comfortable, with kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge. I,m looking forward to staying there again.

February 2011


Review by Richard & Dawn Fisher (Durban, South Africa)

Dear Wendy

We are back home now and would just like to thank you for your warm hospitality and especially the champagne breakfast last Sunday.

We don't come to Cape Town very often but would certainly like to return to Newlands Homestay if we do.

Kind regards to you and Stan

Richard and Dawn

July 2010


Review by Avery, Lizzie & Rebecca (New York, USA)

Dear Wendy & Stanley, Thank you both so much for taking care of us this last month. Our stay in Cape Town has been amazing & we appreciate everything that you did to help! Thanks again, we will be sure to look you up when we move here. All the best, Avery, Lizzie & Rebecca

April 2010


Review by Colin Francis (Perth, Australia)

Hi Wendy, I really appreciate the help you have been - with sending & receiving e-mails & phone calls. You have made this a most enjoyable holiday. Once again, thanks you very much for your hospitality. Regards Colin

November 2009


Review by Derek Wilcock (Cape Town)

Hello Wendy,

Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.

Our friends from overseas enjoyed their holiday here in South Africa and the
friendliness of families such as yourselves played a big part in making them feel so very welcome.

Kind regards,

Derek and Kathryn Wilcock.

November 2008


Review by Loren (Cape Town)

Morning Wendy

Your service to me alone was superb, Wendy & Grant could not thank us enough. They had a fantastic time @ your stunning B&B.

Wendy once again, thank you!
Everything of the best for you for 2009.

God Bless

May 2008


Review by Don Shezi (Johannesburg, Gauteng)

Wendy, I wish to express my profound gratitude for the treatment I received on my two day stay at Newlands Homestay. I liked the homely set up that your place provided me with and the friendliness with which you unreservedly displayed. Chris was absolutely friendly and I would like to say, keep up those standards. I am sure a lot of people would agree with me that customer service is lacking in a lot of areas in this country but with the attitude you have, I am happy to see I found it impressive. Keep up the good work guys. If I am in Cape Town again, I will certainly book in with yourselves.

March 2008


Review by Kent & Marianne (Stockholm, Sweden)

Best Wendy!

We hope you had a fine and good cycling ride in the Argus Cycle Tour.

Thank you for the BEST Bed & Breakfast of all our stay. Your hospitality was great.

Kind regards
Kent & Marianne

March 2008


Review by Jonathan (Port Elizabeth)

Dear Wendy,
Jessica and I so enjoyed our stay - thank-you so very much for all that you did to ensure that we were so well looked after. I shall place your business card on our staff notice-board and also recommend you to parents looking for accomodation in Cape Town.
Many thanks once again - we look forward to our next stay!

Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.97722222155556
Longitude: 18.455833333333334

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 17km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 12h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
May 2008 - 13 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap