Mermaid Rock Cottage is rated 5/5 by visitors (11 reviews)

Mermaid Rock Cottage

Self Catering at 14 Jackson Road, Simons Town, 7975, False Bay Coast, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Mermaid Rock Cottage in Simons Town?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to False Bay.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2016


Review by Helmuth Schulz (Cape Town)

Thank you that we could stay in your cosy cottage. We had a wonderful time. The view is stunning, especially to see the sunrise, the sunset, the sailing boats and evening sky.
The wi-fi was a great added plus, to be connected and to be able to do searches on art work and to be updated on news items. The TV screen has a good viewing size.
The 2 pictures in the main bedroom go well with the theme and name of the cottage. As well with those in the lounge. The 4 pictures in the twin bedroom fitted well with the decoration of the room.
All in all a tastefully decorated and well equipped cottage.

September 2015


Review by Carey Ackhurst (Citrusdal)

We had a lovely time. The cottage is gorgeous and the views are fantastic! Your place has everything that we needed -and more! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you for the use of your cottage, I'm sure we'll be back sometime.

June 2015


Review by Alison McDonald (Gauteng)

We LOVED staying at the cottage. It was fantastic. Well equipped and comfortable.

January 2015


Review by Robin & Gill Gooch (Saxmundham, UK)

We had another very happy stay at your charming cottage - loved the new shrubs/plantings etc - all doing well and appreciated. see you again next year, hopefully!

December 2014


Review by Jenny Preston (Australia)

Just letting you know that we had a great time in the Cottage, we came for our wedding and party! The house was perfect for my girls, and we loved the verandah area. They did ask about internet but I was delighted that they didn't have it, so they got out and about!! Agents were really great too, extremely friendly and helpful. A bit of trouble with the alarm when we arrived and the agents sister even popped down to help! All in all we had a fab time there.

October 2014


Review by Jo Ellis (Lussat, France)

Charming cottage, perfect location.
We stayed at Mermaid Cottage for just over a week for our wedding. The location is just perfect & safe with wonderful views over False Bay whilst enjoying breakfast or evening dinner on the fantastic outside seating areas. The cottage is well equipped, the 2 bathrooms providing privacy for all. It was clean & homely with good views of False bay even in the rain. Simon's Town has everything you need and Mermaid Cottage is a short walk into the town. Will return & stay again, fantastic value for money.

March 2014


Review by Caroline Allen (London)

Thank you so much for the use of the cottage - it was great to have a quiet place to be based, and everything worked brilliantly. Such a lovely spot in Simon's Town and the whole area is gorgeous to drive around.

January 2014


Review by Amanda Boocock (UK)

We had just under a week at Mermaid Cottage & it wasn't long enough. It's a great location for sightseeing and relaxing by the beach. Handy train links into Cape Town, close to Cape Point & Table Mountain and convenient for the airport. Simon's Town is a lovely historical town with some good local restaurants. The cottage was perfect. The children (and adults) loved it, relaxing on the sun terrace was a great end to the day. Beautifully & tastefully decorated and very well equipped and just a short walk to the beach. Would definitely go back.

December 2013

Very Good

Review by Rose & Maurice (SA)

We loved the cottage, will definitely be coming for another stay at Mermaid Rock Cottage. The location was wonderful, loved being able to walk to the beach and into the town.

December 2013


Review by Noelle Costello (Ireland)

We so enjoyed our stay at the Cottage it has such a sunny feel and pretty aspect, and we'd love to return to Mermaid Rock, for a longer period next time!

April 2013


Review by Robin Gooch (UK)

We are mailing you to say how much we enjoyed our time at your cottage - it was such a pleasure to feel so much at home in such a delightful and comfy place. In fact we are looking forward to our next visit!
Also we did appreciate the effort you made re TV and DVD and most importantly the radio. We found a good CT FM station with lots of great music. Once again we loved all our stay in SA, expect to hear from us again!!!
With best wishes, Robin and Jill, UK April 2013

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.196799999666666
Longitude: 18.443998333

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 43km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on
January 2014 - 11 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap