Margaret's Place is rated 5/5 by visitors (24 reviews)

Margaret's Place

Self Catering at 47 Nottingham Road, Kensington, 2094, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 24 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Margaret's Place in Kensington?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Johannesburg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2015


Review by Tony & Mary (Durban)

This review is not about Margaret's Place, but about travelers looking for that extra attention to detail in accommodation that equals the "aaaah" feeling when one usually returns home again. Aside from the manicured garden, sparkling heated pool and spotlessly clean and beautiful "feel at home" rooms that make one feel immediately comfortable, the finer touches at Margaret's Place are everything that one looks for at home and the attention to those details are exceptional. Everything is there just like home ... even the shower actually creates a shower of water to wash in instead of the usual pathetic trickle, and there is even a scale in the bathroom. In the kitchen - small cups, big cups, real coffee and real milk, and you can drink the water from the tap. How often does one not struggle to find an appropriate point where you can charge even just one cell phone? Margaret's has a whole bank of 2 and 3 pin plugs to use. Margaret is a seasoned traveler, and this establishment oozes the little comforts she missed while she was travelling, and the charm she quite obviously treasures in her own home. A bonus is the close proximity to amenities, with fuel, malls, restaurants and fast foods unbelievably located just a kilometre away from this quiet location. We have traveled extensively across the country in the past 16 months and there is just no beating this experience ... it is now our home-from-home for all future journeys to Johannesburg.

April 2014


Review by Afzal Khan (Durban)

Hi Margaret,

I would just like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your Place,

We were very comfortable and enjoyed it there, we will see you soon and I will definitely recommend your place

Many Thanks

Afzal Khan

March 2014


Review by Angelo Kriger (Cape Town)

Dear Margaret,

Thank you so much for great hospitality. You have a beautiful, well kept place.

I really enjoyed my stay and will most certainly make Margaret's Place my residence if ever I'm required to be in that vicinity.

As for my charger, I only realised when I was at the airport and in need of the charger.

I will uplift it when next I go to either Jhb or Pta.

Thank you once again for the good memories and a comfortable stay.


March 2014


Review by Philip Acton (Heidelberg)

Many thanks for a fantastic venue!

March 2014


Review by Spike Boaitey (Botswana)

I really enjoyed my stay. The place is safe, clean, comfortable and it is very serene plus very close to shopping malls, restaurants, pubs, hospitals, etc. and Margaret is such a nice person, welcoming and hospitable, I will definitely come back. Thanks.


February 2014


Review by Nicole Den Hertog (Kwa-Zulu Natal)

Margaret's Place is a MUST!
Everyone is so friendly and it feels like a home away from home...

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed ourselves, close by to almost everything. Will definetly stay there again if we go to Jhb.

Safe parking and the Guest house is in a really safe street.

September 2013


Review by Joseph Duruibe (Owerri, Nigeria)

I was in SA for 3 weeks holiday with my wife Joy and our baby David. The room was comfortable, clean and serviced daily. The workers were warm and friendly. We received all the assistance we needed to make our stay a happy one. Margaret and her team of staff were always there and willing to help; and made our stay a memorable one. Margaret's place was just the home we needed for a holiday. We miss you both Margaret and Adrian, and look forward to see you again during our next holiday trip; then David would have been a big boy. Greetings from Joy. Cheers. Warm Regards from Joseph, Joy and David.

September 2013


Review by Tursha Rowland (KwaZulu Natal)

Dear Margaret / Quentin,

Just a short letter to say thank you so much for having us over the weekend - 27th Sep - 30 Sep 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Your Guesthouse is stunning, homely and so well situated. We would have stayed longer if we could have.

Quentin was very helpful and made us feel very welcome... Next time we hope to get to know you.

Thank you again for everything - I will def be telling people about your home. I hope that we will get a chance to come back soon and will be staying with you again for sure.


July 2013


Review by Carol Grobler (Nelspruit- Mpumalanga)

Hi Margaret
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. Excellent facilities and very good service.
Beautiful garden and sparkling pool, a home from home for sure.
Will definately visit again in near future.
Thank you so much Margaret.
Kind Regards, Carol Grobler

February 2013


Review by Fatima And Nimet (Toronto)

Our stay at Margaret's Place was just wonderful. Margaret is a very gracious and accommodating host and no need went unfilled.. Rooms are very well kept and the whole place felt like home immediately. All ten days swept by with absolutely nothing lacking in our comfort. Thank you Margaret and I have no doubt we will see you again. A very special extra thank you for the very late check out on our last day.

December 2012


Review by Nomsa, Sola Aremu (East London)

we really enjoyed our stay at margret's place, very neat and most definately comfortable. it felt like i was in my house. thank u so much margaret and your staff u guys rock

March 2012


Review by Nicolette Kruger (Johannesburg)

On behalf of Kinema Studio of Acrobatics, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for looking after our examiner, Ria, during her stay at your guest house.

She commented on your friendly service, abundant food and wonderful hospitality.

I will be certain to utilise your establishment in the future.

October 2010


Review by Silvina (Córdoba, Argentina)

As usual, staying at Margaret´s is like being at home. You have everything you can possibly need, and as usual a kind and hospitable host, that will make sure your stay is as good as it can be.
Since my first trip to SA I keep coming back, and theres already been five! So, thanks again to Margareth and her team, this time my stay got a bit longer on my way back to the Kalhari, but I enjoyed it anyway!

July 2010


Review by Manita (Almere, The Netherlands)

I'ts already 4 weeks ago since we left South-Africa. We loved it, and you were our favourit hostess!
We hope to visit you once again in the future. We will recommend your place whenever we hear about people wanting to visit Johannesburg. We really loved it.
Kind regards
The Lansky family

June 2010


Review by Lisa Cosgrove (Cocoa Beach)

We have been here almost three weeks and it is just a brillant and lovely place. Margaret and her family are friendly and helpful. The location is very secure and we walked and ate all around . Transportation has been easy even with the World Cup. I would highly recommend Margaret's place.

March 2010


Review by Catherine Bitzer (Bloemfontein)

Dear Margaret!
I wanted to let you know that Mr. Shakhane, who stayed in your Phumula unit together with two friends on Sunday last week, came to me with some feedback regarding your service. He said you were not only very friendly and helpful, but also provided excellent service in a wonderful environment. He highly recommended your place to anyone who needs a place to stay in the vicinity.

So I just thought I should thank you, because service like yours is very hard to find these days. I in turn will also not hesitate to recommend you.

Thank you so much and keep up the good work!


May 2009


Review by Ben Cilliers (Secunda)

Excellent facilities, wonderful hospitality and reasonable rates - what more could you ask for!

April 2009


Review by Glenn Said (Perth, Australia)

Great Home Away from Home We were pleasantly surprised with the high level of service and support from the owner who went out of her way to make our stay an enjoyable one. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to relax and unwind.
Glenn Said, Australia 07 April 2009

February 2009


Review by Gordon King (Durban)

- 4 March 2009
I recommend Margaret’s Place totally and unreservedly. An attentive host who goes way and beyond the “call of duty”, (she happily ferried me to a battery centre when my car battery suddenly decided to expire), beautiful grounds, lovely pool and the self contained garden cottage is peaceful, comfortable and fully equipped. I have never encountered better. Thank you Margaret!
- Gordon King,

February 2008


Review by Zweli Keswa (Pretoria)

We had a wonderful weekend at your place. It was our Anniversary.
Thanks a Lot!!!

February 2008


Review by Jabu (Turfontein)


January 2008


Review by Musa Bhengu (Durban)

Hi Margaret,
I would like to submit my greatest appreciation for the way you took care of us on the 4,5,6 January 2008 during my holiday in JHB and I promise you that your name will be forwarded to all my friends who intend to visit that area in future.

Once more time God Bless You and your family.
Musa Bhengu

January 2008


Review by Rodney Govender (Durban)

On behalf of myself & my family ,I would like to express our sincere thanks for making our stay in Jhb really wonderful & enjoyable.

Thank you & best wishes

November 2007


Review by Paul Anderson (Ulverstone Tasmania Australia)

it was fantastic, margaret was so helpful with information and direction on how to get to places around the city and places to avoid, i highly reccomend staying here.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.19294444411111
Longitude: 28.10688888888889

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 15km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on
February 2007 - 24 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap