Manaar House is rated 5/5 by visitors (13 reviews)

Manaar House

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 13 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Manaar House in Umhlanga Rocks?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2012




June 2009


Review by Camille Garrison (Johannesburg)

We just got back from a weekend in Umhlanga and Ballito and we stayed at the Manaar house for one night and in Ballito one night. We wish we would've stayed both nights at the Manaar! It was so awesome! We were so impressed with the decor, the size, comfort, and the great hosts Jack and Mark. They were so friendly and helpful. We loved it here. The hot tub was the best!

May 2008


Review by Antoinette Louw (Plettenberg Bay)

Our stay at Manaar house was unforgetable. Being in the tourism industry I know not to expect to much as my standards are very high. I booked accommodation at Manaar House through the internet, by just looking at the pictures. I have never been so surprised in my life. Manaar House is a true reflection of the pictures on the website, clean, stylish and felt like home.

Thank you to our host for taking such good care of us, you will see us in the near future. I highly reccomend Manaar House to everyone planning on visiting Durban!!!

May 2008


Review by Kevin Harman (Mid-Glam WALES UK)

The Daughter and I had a marvellous 2 nights in the self catering apartment at Manaar House, so good we are going back this Apr/May for a bit longer. Peace and quiet.
Ideally placed for day trips, very central.
Nothing was to much trouble for both Jack and Mark, wonderful host\'s and the staff, watch you don\'t trip over Gus the little dog they have.
Thanks for a wonderful stay, see you soon.....
Kev And Stevie-Anne

April 2008


Review by Lloyd Price (South Africa)

Comments: We had a marvellous stay at Manaar house. Everywhere is very clean and tidy. Mark and Jack are exceptionally good hosts and make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the self catering apartment and couldn’t have asked for any better. The photos of Manaar House do not do it justice, what you get is even better than what you see!! We fell in love with the place and will most definitely be back.

April 2008


Review by Al Johnson (South Africa)

Wonderfull, I want to thank Mark & Jack for a good stay. The facilities were excellent & the service was friendly as well as professional.
Thank you very much.

March 2008


Review by Sharon Lewis (United Kingdom)

Jack and Mark were fantasic hosts helping out with all sorts of small details which helped to make our wedding a success. I would thoroughly recommend Manaar House to anyone wanting to visit Umhlanga for the quality of accommodation and by far the friendliest hosts I have ever encountered. We will definitely be going back!

March 2008


Review by Lynne And Bruce Mullen (UK)

Dear Jack and Mark,

Thank you so much for everything you both did to make our stay at Manaar House such a wonderful experience. It really did feel like home.

We so appreciated your kindness and hospitality. Manaar House is a very special place and we will be back.

Enjoy the cooler days that you have ahead and we look forward to warmer days ahead this end.

March 2008


Review by Lynne Mullen (Uk)

We loved Manaar House. The hosts Jack and Mark went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

We stayed in the self catering unit which was spotless and very tastefully furnished, open plan with a beautiful bathroom and lovely private patio area off the bedroom area.

The main house and pool area is beautifully arranged so that guests can enjoy this space - it was lovely to sit in a big comfy couch by the pool and relax with the newspaper or take a dip in the pool when we returned after a day on the beach.

We spent our last night in one of the b and b suites - a lovely big bathroom, small kitchen area with fridge etc and private patio area. Our breakfast by the pool watching the birds was such a pleasure before our long flight home. We highly recommend this wonderful gem of a place Manaar House.

January 2008


Review by Samatha Tiley (Bristol, England)

Absolutely fantastic - Jack and Mark are helpful, welcoming and always there to provide a much needed glass of wine!!!

Rooms are comfortable and well decorated and the bathrooms are fantastic. Breakfast next to the pool was very tasty and varied.

Will most definitely be going back as this was without doubt the most relaxed and inviting place I've stayed in, The poolside sofa's are perfect to relax in after a hard days shopping!! (Gateway is very close and those shops are very hard to resist)!!!

And how can I fail to mention Gus, the biggest and friendliest dog I've ever met! Was my very special friend.

Thanks guys!!

December 2007


Review by Linus Gutnecht (Vitznau, Switzerland)

Stayed at Manaar House for the 1st time and had booked it without any recommendation just based on the info's from their website. It was a fabulous place to stay.

The owners, Jack and Mark, made us feel so welcome right from the beginning. The rooms were super and especially the brandnew bathrooms, a treat. Although the weather was bad for 3 days we still enjoyed our stay so much. Lovely breakfasts were served outside under the covered patio by the pool.

The owners know the area very well and can give good advise on things to do, eating out or clubbing. This is the perfect place to stay. The beach and Umhlanga village centre is only a 3 minute's drive away. We will definately be back! Linus Gutnecht - Switzerland

December 2007


Review by Alice Hobday (South Africa)

Our stay at the Manaar house was absolutely fantastic. The apartment exceeded all of our expectations in terms of size, comfort and luxury and we cannot speak highly enough of the hosts Jack and Mark. We were made to feel welcome and completely at home from the moment we arrived and just want to say a huge grateful thank you to Jack and Mark for giving us the best start possible to our stay in South Africa, we can't wait to come back!!

July 2007


Review by Fazeela De Bruyn (South Africa)

Just wanted to say Thanks a million, for making us feel special. We really enjoyed our stay and you made us feel right at home. We will be moving in shortly :-)

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.718255999333334
Longitude: 31.08675999966667

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 25km

Children policy
All ages are welcome in the self catering units but children are not accommodated in the B&B.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
August 2005 - 13 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap