About The Lord Milner Hotel
Matjiesfontein was founded in 1884 by the legendary and energetic Scottish railwayman James Douglas Logan. It became established as a fashionable Victotian health spa, and is now well known for its splendid historical buildings and a peace and timelessness that is rare. In testament, the entire Village was preserved as a National Heritage Site in 1975 under the direction of revered hotelier David Rawdon.
Matjiesfontein is a feast for the imagination as between these walls lie a colourful history that includes international cricketers, Olive Schreiner’s residency, fortification during the Boer war as headquarters of the Cape Command, refuge for Jamieson Raid reformers, and controversial war crimes hearings.
Matjiesfontein provides a variety of accommodation options and sleeps up to 94 guests.
Lord Miner Hotel Complex Includes:
• Lord Milner Hotel rooms
• Reston Villa
• Olive Schreiner Cottage
• Old Museum Suite
• The Swimming Pool suite
• Douglas Cottage rooms
Matjies Motel Complex Includes:
• Matjies Motel Twin & Double bed rooms
• Matjies Motel River side rooms Double/Twin
Breakfast and Dining
Located off the main entrance of the Hotel, the dining room boasts the same historic ambiance found throughout Matjiesfontein. Again a Victorian setting filled with period antiques. Here breakfast and dinner. We offer traditional South African Cuisine with a modern twist. The dress code for dinner is smart casual (… but this is merely a suggestion).
The Lairds Arms:
Right next door to the Lord Milner Hotel is the Laird's Arms. Enjoy a quiet pint or pub lunch, but our Karoo Lamb Curry has to be the stand-out!. Pub lunches are served daily 12h00 to 14h30.
The Coffee House:
This occupies what was once Logan’s General Store of 1888. Home cooked hearty breakfasts, healthy light lunches, and a fine selection of home-baked scones and cakes.