Kuruma Farm Cottages is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (8 reviews)

Kuruma Farm Cottages

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at Barclay Farm Road, Brandwacht, Worcester West, 6862, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 8 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Kuruma Farm Cottages in Worcester?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Breede River Valley.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2016

Fair

Review by D & K Walters (Cape Town)

My wife and I were invited to attend a wedding in the area on October 29, 2016, roughly 2 hours drive from our home. Having attended weddings before, we knew that festivities carry on long into the night and morning, so naturally, we searched for a place to spend the night and drive home the next morning.
We found Kuruma online and made enquiries into the availability of cottages on August 22, 2016.
There were no cottages available and bookings were still to be confirmed so we requested that Celeste let us know should a room become available.
I emailed again on September 7, 2016, to check if anything had become available as we'd heard nothing from Kuruma. Celeste then replied to confirm dates and then nothing after my response for 3 days after which I emailed again. Celeste replied with a room and amount for the night to which I replied asking for photos of the room in question. Photos were emailed, namely the bedroom, living room and stoep. I replied immediately to reserve the room on September 12, 2016, paid the 50% deposit, emailed proof of payment to Celeste and asked for confirmation of receipt.
So the cottage was booked for the night of the 29th October 2016.
On the day of the wedding, my wife and I went to the Kuruma cottage to pick up the key and leave our things in the cottage as to not disturb Celeste with phone calls at midnight. On arrival, there was no-one to welcome us at the check-in time, Celeste was not in her office/house, so I called to ask where we need to go to leave our things as we'd never been here before. The room that was reserved was room number 4 but as we got to the cottages, we noticed that room 4 was in fact occupied and room 1 was the only one that was vacant. I called Celeste again asking what was happening here, she said that the bookings had been swapped. My wife and I were confused and by now frustrated at the lack of presence of Celeste.
Room 1 was disappointingly dark and dingy with no views, no stoep, it had a strange odour and was definitely not what was depicted in the photos that she'd emailed. We were pressed for time so decided to not unpack, but lock up and leave for the wedding ceremony, 20mins away. This was utterly unacceptable and I decided to call Celeste after the ceremony to get an explanation.
In her explanation, she said that the guests staying in the room we had booked over a month ago, decided to extend their stay and Celeste could not move them to another room, so changed our booking. I was gobsmacked! I stated that she should've let us know so that we could've made other arrangements and that room the room had been booked...a month prior, how could she allow an extension despite a prevailing booking for the very same room. She apologised for not informing us.
I said that we would not be paying the full amount as this was poor ethics in terms of professional business etiquette and was prepared to negotiate a suitable rate for the room. Celeste refused and said she would not be negotiating the rate and that what we could do was cancel and find another place to stay and she'd refund our deposit or pay the full amount, and that we had to decide immediately. I refused to give an immediate response and discussed this with my wife.
Where would we find accommodation at the 11th hour? Nowhere! We decided that Kuruma was not getting our business and so I called Celeste for the umpteenth time and said that we are cancelling and that I was on my way to pick up our things and to get my deposit as I was not prepared to miss the reception. I went back and got our things, returned the key and got our deposit back. Luckily I got back to the wedding, not having missed too much but had to take a conservative approach to the festivities as we'd be driving home in the dark at midnight.

October 2012

Excellent

Review by Dot & Peter Spoor (Fish Hoek Cape Town)

Stayed in cottage 3 this time. Lovely and cozy with beautiful view of the mountains.
We will be back! Thanks Celeste!

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Des And Jenny (Cape Town)

Having stayed at numerous B&B's in the area, we discovered this wonderful get-a-way which gives one the impression you are miles away from the city life ........... lovely accomodation,spotless and warm with a daily rate that is value for one's money........we shall be back,thank you Celeste !

June 2012

Excellent

Review by Peter & Dot Spoor (Fish Hoek- Cape Town)

We stayed in cottage 1 which felt like 'home from home'. It was bitterly cold but there were hot blankets on the bed, a heater in the lounge, comfortable furniture and a good kitchen for self catering. Our hot breakfast served in the farm house was lovely and our hostess warm and welcoming.
We will definitely return but for a longer stay next time - so we can explore Worcester. The singing of the birds all around the property was lovely as well as the quiet and peacefulness.

February 2010

Excellent

Review by Alta Van Niekerk (Oudtshoorn)

What a pleasant surprise!!!!!
We do quite a bit of "sleeping over" and the stay at Kuruma, was definately value for money.
It was sooooooooo nice finding all the luxuries of expensive boarding like white percale linen, neat interioir, grapes on the table etc. and only paying an affordable price..... Celeste, you have a winning recipe for the perfect guest farm !!!!! Thx

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Marelize (Cape Town)

Kuruma is a beautiful home away from home. We enjoyed the surroundings and the cottage was very well equipped. Can definitely recommend to others!

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Fraser Van Rensburg (London, UK)

We had a fabulous stay in a lovely cottage on Kuruma farm with the most beautiful natural surroundings and gorgeous sunsets. The setting is quiet and secluded, beneath the towering Hex River Mountain range, with lovely walking trails through the nearby vineyards, and close to some of the top wineries of the Breede River Valley.The hosts showed great attention to detail and made sure that our stay was just perfect - giving us privacy but also making themselves available if we needed anything.

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Ilana (UK)

We had such a wonderful stay at Kuruma - when we arrived after a long trip from overseas, immediately felt a sense of calm in the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. The cottage where we stayed was lovely, and had everything we needed to make our stay extremely comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.

Our
Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.596546
Longitude: 19.429353

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 120km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
November 2009 - 8 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap