Kuilfontein Stable Cottages is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (12 reviews)

Kuilfontein Stable Cottages

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at Route N1, Colesberg, 9795, Upper Karoo, Northern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Kuilfontein Stable Cottages in Colesberg?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Upper Karoo.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

June 2014


Review by Anton (Prince Albert)

Staying over on a journey from Cape Town to Jozi was always a pain because of the stop over halfway. This is no longer the case. This was our first stay at Kuilfontein and what a nice surprise. Our family room was spacious and well fitted out. We had a friendly pre-dinner drink in the cosy pub, met some new people and then had a delicious dinner in the charming dining room.
It is owner run and Lexi and her staff are great. It's one of those places where you feel that nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast was fresh and delicious, with milk that came straight out of a cow, on the morning you drink it.
I highly recommend Kuilfontein and we will definately be back.

May 2014


Review by Helene (Durban)

My daughter and I stayed at Kuilfontein Stable Cottages on our way from Durban to Cape Town. We loved the fact that it is part of a working farm. We had the most beautiful sunset and we took wonderful photos. We were warmly welcomed by Penny and later joined by Lexi and her family. Before dinner we had drinks in the cozy little pub and met all the other visitors, which immediately made us all feel very relaxed. Dinner was excellent and then to our rooms, which were well fitted out and comfortable. A great place to stop over and we have already booked for December.

April 2014


Review by Marie-Louise (Johannesburg)

We have been staying at Kuilfontein for more than ten years when we travel from Johannesburg to the Cape. It is just fabulous. The welcome by Penny or now Lexie, the gorgeous rooms, the pre dinner drinks in the Rack and Ruin and then the Cordon Bleu dinner. It could be served in any top restaurant and we love that phone call in the car at about 11h00 to order from the menu. We simply love it!

April 2014


Review by Sue (Cape Town)

We have been staying with the Southey's on their Karoo farm, on and off for 17 years - so it must be good. The B&B accommodation is rustic but comfortable and full of character. They have now added a block of self-catering units called "The Paddocks". We had a peep at one of these and they look very good. Its great to break a long car journey and relax at Kuilfontein. You can go for a nice walk on the farm to stretch your legs, and one or more dogs will come with you. Dinner is always good, and you have a choice of three or four main courses (they phone you as you are on the road to tell you what the options are).
Olive Schreiner - author of "Life on an African Farm" lived just down the road at Hanover around the turn of the 19th/20th century (I think), and there's plenty of Boer War history in the Colesberg area.

August 2010


Review by Stefani (Cape Town)

Kuilfontein Stable Cottages is an oasis in the Northern Cape Karoo and a welcome stopover travelling from Cape Town to the Free State. We stayed in Standard Rooms, which are very comfortably converted stables and were spoilt from the moment we arrived. The 3-course dinner was exceptional ... Karoo lamb chops, quail or lemon & herb chicken and the dessert was sublime ... thoroughly enjoyed by all! Now if only they'd start a restaurant in Cape Town :) Our sincerest thanks to Penny, Leigh, Grant and Lexi for making us feel so welcome.

July 2010


Review by Helen (Cape Town)

What a pleasure to arrive at Kuilfontein after a long day on the N2! The cosy pub was a perfect place to wash away the dust of the drive, the rooms more than comfortable and breakfast was delicious.

March 2008


Review by Helder & Ester Perreira (Sandton SA)

Fantastic hosts and a credit to the hospitality industry.

February 2008


Review by John & Anita Meiring (JHB SA)

The most beautiful place to stop over.
Excellent food and hospitality

February 2008


Review by Wynand & Jessica Viljoen (Centurian)

We had a wonderful honeyoon. Thanks for the hospitality.
The food was brilliant and the rooms are gorgeous

January 2008


Review by David Derek Ethne & Irene Page (Nrthumberland UK)

Without doubt one of the nicest places in SA we have visited after several visits to SA. The staff and food the nicest in SA - so friendly.

We'll be back!

January 2008


Review by Jose M Gonzalez (Spain)

Lo mejor de Sudafrica esta en Clesberg - volveremos

January 2008


Review by Moyra & Brian Farmerk (Kent, UK)

Lovely ambiance, excellent dinner, charming staff - a delightful stay

Price Range
Available on request

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -30.800800833333334
Longitude: 24.983833333

Closest airport(s)
Bloemfontein Airport - 230km
Gariep Dam Airport - 62km

Children policy
Children 6 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 09h30

Listed on SA-Venues.com
June 2000 - 12 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap