Hunter's Lodge is rated 5/5 by visitors (24 reviews)

Hunter's Lodge

Bed & Breakfast at Cnr. Grenville & Kingston Roads, Greenacres, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 24 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Hunter's Lodge in Greenacres?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Port Elizabeth.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 24 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

November 2013

Very Good

Review by Rosanne Ludick (Pretoria)

I would like to compliment you & your staff – especially Faith – for the friendly & efficient service which I received during my stay at your facility. I will definitely put you on my list of “go there again”!!

June 2013


Review by Ashraf & Joslynn (Cape Town)

Hi Roy
I just want to thank you for letting us stay at your place. It was most
pleasent as usual. I did not expect the breakfast to come up to the room.
That was a very big surprise. Thank you for everything. We will contact you
first the next time we need some time away from home. And we will recommend
your place for staying at to every one that we know. You are really one of
the rare people that stay in PE that are as friendly as you are.

Thank you again.
Ashraf and joslynn

December 2012


Review by Janett Kweta-Visser (Cape Town)

We would like to thank you for having the most wonderful time at your Lodge. The warmth, your Hospitality was the most wonderful experience, would recommend you anytime. I think you’re not getting rid of us very soon. They don’t call PE “the friendly City” for nothing.

December 2012


Review by Peter & Maja Fisker (Denmark)

We stayed 3 nights at Hunter's Lodge and really enjoyed it. A few days earlier our car broke down so we were delayed, but it was no problem for Roy - he even helped us by finding local mechanics for us.

The lodge has a perfect location in a quiet neighborhood close to the big Greenacres mall. And both the breakfast and the pool is fantastic!

December 2012


Review by Laura Elliott (Burlington, Canada)

I had a most enjoyable stay at Hunter's Lodge for two weeks in December 2012. The room was quiet, spacious, clean and well equipped. Roy is the most hospitable and helpful person who also cooks a great breakfast. I would highly recommend this B & B.

March 2012


Review by Fikiswa Ndoza (East London)

Hunter's Lodge is the place I would always recommend to my friends and family, it is awsome. Roy is so kind and he's making sure that you feel comfortable all the time, the rooms are so neat, he even prepares the breakfast himself.

December 2011


Review by Gavin Byl (Cape Town)

Just want to say thanks for the hospitality over the weekend. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Its great to stay at a place where everyone interacts and has a great chat at breakfast. Normally you sit at breakfast and everyone keeps to themselves.

See you again


December 2011


Review by Carla (Centurion)

Baie dankie vir jou gasvryheid en flink diens. Die kamers is baie netjies en gerieflik. Ons sal beslis weer kom oorslaap as ons in die omgewing is.

December 2011


Review by Xoliswa Dyantyi (Durban)

Thank you for everything, your lodge was awesome, safe and comfortable to stay in,
We really enjoyed our stay there.

Xoliswa Dyantyi
Wild Coast Sun
Revenue Controller

October 2011


Review by Pumza (Cape Town South Africa)

thank you once again Roy from the bottom of my heart, i enjoyed your food & chats @ breakfast. the room was spotless & thanks again for allowing us to fetch our bags later. you are the best!!!! :-)

June 2011

Very Good

Review by Neville Whittaker (Plettenberg Bay)

Myself and three friends spent six nights at Hunter's Lodge during the duration of the All Cape Bowling Tournament in June 2011. Although the weather was miserable it was a pleasure returning to the comfort of the lodge each evening. Further more, we all looked forward to the great breakfasts each morning prepared personally by Roy.

June 2011


Review by Winston Petersen (Cape Town)

I have been spending nearly a week at the Lodge owned by Roy. What an impresssive, cozy and warm welcoming it was indeed. The owner Roy really makes your stay enjoyable and i have decided no other place in PE will see me only Hunter's Lodge.

Keep it up Roy, you are a peoples person. On a scale from 1 to 10 I would say 12

May 2011


Review by Ian Radford (Johannesburg)

Lovely place with fantastic accomodation. Great breakfast. Walking distance to big shopping centre. Rooms are clean etc...Strongly recommend.


March 2011

Very Good

Review by Joanne Robbins (Seattle - USA)

We have stayed at Hunter's Lodge several times. We deeply appreciate the comfort and hospitality. Our volunteer work brings us to Port Elizabeth once each year for a two week stay. Not only is our room comfortable, but the lounge areas give us a place to meet, plan, and get ready for the day ahead.

June 2010


Review by Dennis Passa (Sunrise Beach, Australia)

I have been fortunate enough to have spent a month at Hunter's Lodge covering the World Cup football for my company. I have had an absolute terrific time at this place, thanks to the warm hospitality of Roy and his staff. On a scale of 1 to 10, a most outstanding 10. If you want to feel the spirit and vigour of South Africa through this wonderful place, I'd seriously recommend you stay here on your next visit to PE. And Roy's an amazing cook as well!

May 2010


Review by Abe Ngoepe (Middelburg - E/cape)

Just a kind note to thank you for the very warm hospitality that I experienced at your lovely place.

I particularly liked the personal touch that you, the owner, lent to the whole experience, such as preparing breakfast yourself.

And oh, many thanks for waiting on me earlier than your nornal hours during my stay.

Kind regards,

Abe Ngoepe

May 2008


Review by Koos V/d Spuy (CapeTown)

As a business traveller, I was looking for no frills, no fuss and a spotlessly clean and private room to sleep and work in. I found exactly this at Hunter's Lodge, including excellent breakfasts prepared by Roy himself, including friendly chatter at breakfasts, with all the guests joining in.

I have not enjoyed staying at a guest house in a very long time, as much as I enjoyed staying at Hunter's Rest.
Thank you, Roy.

March 2008

Very Good

Review by Doug (Johannesburg)

Had a most enjoyable stay. The website gives an accurate description of the hospitality and facilities.

February 2008

Very Good

Review by Nadiema G (Cape Town)

Thank you once again. It really felt like home.
Your hospitality was superb.

November 2007

Very Good

Review by Zanele M (Queenstown)

Thnk you for your hospitality, we had a great time.

November 2007


Review by Weskus Fisheries (Lamberts Baai)

Ons bedank jou vir jou gasvryheid. Ons sal jou altyd onthou.
Jacinda, Christine, Jocina & Newline

October 2007

Very Good

Review by Stephen Forbes (Durban)

Breakfast was wonderful and the location perfect.

June 2007

Very Good

Review by Dr Ian F (London)

I would like to thank Roy most kindly for the kindness he displayed to my wife Janice while I was in hospital. Knowing she was being taken care of so well made things much easier for me.

October 2004





Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.944306
Longitude: 25.580057

Closest airport(s)
Port Elizabeth Airport - 7km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, and are accommodated in the two family rooms where there is a spare bed or bunk beds. No babysitting facilities.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 11h00
Check-out by 10h00

Luggage can be stowed anytime from 07h00.
Late check-out by arrangement, please enquire.

Listed on
August 2006 - 24 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap