The Hout Bay Hideaway is rated 5/5 by visitors (12 reviews)

The Hout Bay Hideaway

Bed & Breakfast at 37 Skaife Street, Hout Bay, 7806, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 12 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to The Hout Bay Hideaway in Hout Bay?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Atlantic Seaboard.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 12 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2009


Review by Joe Brock & Gillian Parker (London)

Wonderful place. Sue and Martin are delightful and made us feel totally at home. Everything about Hideaway has quality, the deep beds, leather armchairs and thick comfy bath robes. Breakfast on your balcony and a bath in the garden! Saltwater pool is luxury and the garden goes on and on, like a rabbit's warren. Brilliant value, this is the place to stay in Hout Bay.

February 2008


Review by Hilary Hunter (Richmond, London)

I have just been staying at the wonderful HOUT BAY HIDEAWAY which is owned and run by a lovely couple Sue and Martin Collins.

The house is superb; five stylish rooms in which there is a small kitchenette so you can self cater if you don't want to venture out to dine. Delicious breakfasts are served in your room or on the verandah outside your room. Martin and Sue look after you personally with warmth and kindness and the whole experience was a joy. I shall return.

January 2008


Review by Natacha Weijma (Amsterdam)

My boyfriend and I started our South African holiday here with another couple. We loved the rooms (very luxurious), the garden (like eden), breakfast (too much too nice.. I loved the fruit and cakes. The next morning they gave me more! :), but most of all we loved the friendly owners. (It is not the commercial kind of kindness, but you really feel welcome!)

Martin gave us good advise about things to do in the region and helped me out to book a sharkdive. He never told me himself, but I heard that he had done lot of trouble to arrange it all. Not telling me about it makes me feel more gratefull afterwards. (So if you read my review Martin, thanks again!!).

Looking back on my holiday. This was the most nicest place to stay in South Africa. I can recommend this place to everyone!

January 2008


Review by Dawn Norris (Chesterfield)

This guest house is a little luxury nestled in scenic surroundings. A group of us visited and had the place to ourselves, we were very well looked after with a fantastic breakfast spread (including continental fruits, breads, cheeses, hams, fresh tea, coffee and juices etc and/or eggs and bacon) being served to us each morning on the terrace. The rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished with the extras included, such as robes to wear during your stay, all adding to making you feel very comfortable.

If a restful afternoon is called for then the sun deck and pool in the gardens are ideal.

The main area of Hout Bay is about a 5 minute walk down the hill and has plenty of varied and excellent restaurants. The nearby shopping centre has everything you might need to buy. The beach at this resort is very picturesque with lovely white sand and pure blue sea. There is also a busy harbour area where you can either go to a bar for a drink and watch the world go by, grab a bite to eat or catch one of the many boat trips to seal Island (well worth a visit).

Other popular areas to visit are all within an easy driving distance from this well located accommodation.

The luxury surroundings, beautiful views and level of service mean we will certainly return for another stay here and look forward to it.

December 2007


Review by Katherine Morton (London)

What a wonderful place to call a home from home in South Africa!

Sue and Martin are the rare sort of people who genuinely enjoy being hosts - and are fabulous at it. They know when to be there and when not. They took me (and my friends) under their wing, were fantastic when one of my friends was unwell and looked after us "hand, foot and finger" as my grandmother would have said. But it's not intrusive hospitality. Sumptuous breakfasts, incredible humour and a wonderful venue to spend Christmas and New Year.

The guesthouse is elegant, spotlessly clean and has a lovely garden, terraces and a salt water pool. All the rooms have bags of character - my favourite has to be the one overlooking the bay, though the one at the back overlooks the pool. The garden room is a suite and the middle room (where I spent two weeks) is a good size and doesn't get any noise from the rooms on either side.

There were tears all round when we left - a very good sign that we hope to come back.

Hout Bay is a 15 minute walk down the hill (though I was lazy and got ferried around!) and there are plenty of pleasant restaurants - my favourite was the calamari at Chapmans or the fish and chips at the harbourside Sea Rocks (?) where you can get the best hake and chips for a pittance. Don't miss going up table mountain and visiting the wineries or the gardens.

All in all, an amazing holiday. Thanks!

November 2007


Review by Jenny Seymour (Coventry)

We stayed with Susan and Martin at the Hout Bay Hideaway as part of our honeymoon. We had a fabulous time and they made us feel truly welcome. Each room is individually decorated and has its own benefits. We stayed in a room at the front of the property and the balcony had fabulous views of the bay, which was cool because the whales were in the bay when we stayed.

The outdoor bath, what an experience!!!!!!

The stay was fabulous made even better by the nice touches of Susan and Martin.

We liked the spec of the rooms, the balcony and the views
We disliked nothing

June 2007


Review by Patricia McAteer (Dublin)

"A little piece of Heaven in Cape Town"

I have spent an excellent few days at the Hout bay Hideaway, and cannot praise it highly enough. The hosts, Sue and Martin Collins gave a warm and courteous welcome to all their guests, and provided an efficient yet discreet service which allowed privacy to us by being unobtrusive.

The setting and location are glorious and the house which offers 4 luxurious rooms, is well appointed and peaceful. I stayed in the Sentinel room, which was spacous and offered everything I could have wanted. As we were on the side of the house, I had the side of the verandah to ourselves, perfect for relaxing or eating breakfast outdoors. The breakfast was served to my room at the time I requested, and was a feast comprising a choice of cereals, fresh juice, a selection of fresh breads, a choice of cheeses, and included ham, eggs, yoghurt, preserves and fresh tea or coffee. There is secure parking on the premises for those with cars, and the hosts were able to help with all kinds of information and advice as we were first time visitor to S Africa. There was a fully stocked garden in a private setting, with a swimming pool and I enjoyed a good read whilst relaxing on a sun lounger there. There was plenty to do locally including walks on the beach, visiting the local harbour to see the fish being brought in, and eating in very good local restaurants. Cape Town is about 20 mins away by car with all its well known attractions, but it was lovely to return to the calm of Hout Bay in the evenings. I can warmly recommend a stay at the Hideaway and if you do so I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I did.

March 2007


Review by Graham Ledger (Hook, Hampshire)

What a surprise to enter a place of timeless charm and old-world luxury. Rooms of character remind one of classic style with features of interest - something to talk about back home. Chill out and enjoy the balconies and view of sea and mountains. Enrobe youtself and have breakfast on the terrace - and enjoy a cocktail in the peace of the evening. It is a special experience.

February 2007


Review by VInce And Bonnie P (Madison, CT, USA)

What a paradisal setting, made all the more wonderful by the warmth of the owners who make you feel at home no matter how far you've traveled to get there. We loved it and wish we can get back again soon!

November 2006


Review by Judith Shultz (Bremen)

Das Haus wird inzwischen sehr liebevoll von den Briten Sue und Martin Collins geführt. Die Unterkunft besticht durch geräumige Zimmer mit privaten Veranden, auf denen das üppige europäische Frühstück serviert wird. Und sie lebt von den freundlichen Besitzern, die umfangreiche Tipps zu tollen Restaurants, Wanderungen auf der Kap-Halbinsel und zur Kapstadt-Besichtigung geben können. Auch die Badewanne im Freien neben dem Pool gibt es noch, den Jaguar vom holländischen Vorbesitzer allerdings nicht mehr.

October 2006


Review by Polly Black (London)

I have just returned from a stay at Hout Bay Hideaway with my Mum and my Sister and I have to say that it is heavenly. The rooms are exceptional and would rival any 5* hotel. From the moment we arrived we realised what a very special place this was - the rooms are beautifully decorated with every attention to detail and the balcony terrace was wonderful for breakfast. The bath in the garden is an amazing feature and we made full use of it by having a bath in the glorious sunshine! Unfortunately we only booked there for one night as we would have liked to have stayed there for at least a week. Sue and Martin have certainly created a perfect hideaway and we can't wait to go back.

February 2006


Review by Linda Bonner (Chester)

The Hout Bay Hideaway, is described as a "guest house" but the service and quality of fittings, from the large beds draped in luxurious cotton bedding, the bathrobes, toiletries and double showers are the things 5* hotels boast. The breakfast, served at a time to suit, on your private terrace, is a 5 course meal. Fresh tropical fruit,warm bread and croissants, ham, cheese, yogurt, fruit juice& cereal and unlimited fresh coffee and tea. It's small salt water swimming pool is surrounded by indiginous plants and has decking surrounds and ample steamer loungers. The terraces with hammocks, are built into the hillside and provide both private sunbathing spots and shade from the sun - if required!

What makes the Hideaway extra special are it's host Susan and Martin Collins. Airport transfers, car hire and secure parking are all avaialbe.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.041459999666664
Longitude: 18.36651

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 25km

Children policy
One child under 12 years can be accommodated in The Garden Apartment.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Check in between 14:00 and 18:00 otherwise by arrangement.

Listed on
December 2005 - 12 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap