Haus am Strand is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (28 reviews)

Haus am Strand

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 83 Sands Road, Wilderness, Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 28 reviews.

Verified Reviews

To maintain the integrity of our reviews and ensure they are from legitimate guests who have actually stayed at our properties, only guests who have booked and paid for their stay via SA-Venues.com may submit a review. Please either login to your guest dashboard, or use the link provided on the review request mail which is sent 2 days after check-out. Thank you!

 

Reviews & Comments

Showing 28 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

March 2016

Excellent

Review by Peter Knieschke (Deutschland)

Nicht nur das "Haus am Strand" ist ein Traum sondern auch die Gastgeber "Rita und Mike"! Das Haus liegt wirklich direkt am kilometerlangen Sandstrand von Wildernes und ist nicht nur von der Farbe her mit Abstand das schönste Haus in der ganzen Bay. Man merkt sofort, dass die ganzen Appartements und der Garten nicht von der Stange gestaltet wurden sondern mit viel Liebe von Rita und Mike. Von den Liegeplätzen die auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen im Garten verteilt sind - hat man es nur ein paar Schritte bis zu seinem Apartment und auch zum Strand. Die geschickt im Garten integrierten Grillplätze haben wir auch oft genutzt und von dort bis in die Nacht hinein - mit einem Glas Wein in der Hand - auf den Ozean geblickt. Wir fühlen uns hier sehr wohl und kommen bestimmt wieder. Auch der Ort auf der anderen Straßenseite bietet ALLES, was man zum Leben brauch. Viel Liebe Grüße von Petra und Peter aus Deutschland

March 2016

Excellent

Review by Peter Knieschke (Deutschland)

Nicht nur das "Haus am Strand" ist ein Traum sondern auch die Gastgeber "Rita und Mike"! Das Haus liegt wirklich direkt am kilometerlangen Sandstrand von Wildernes und ist nicht nur von der Farbe her mit Abstand das schönste Haus in der ganzen Bay. Man merkt sofort, dass die ganzen Appartements und der Garten nicht von der Stange gestaltet wurden sondern mit viel Liebe von Rita und Mike. Von den Liegeplätzen die auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen im Garten verteilt sind - hat man es nur ein paar Schritte bis zu seinem Apartment und auch zum Strand. Die geschickt im Garten integrierten Grillplätze haben wir auch oft genutzt und von dort bis in die Nacht hinein - mit einem Glas Wein in der Hand - auf den Ozean geblickt. Wir fühlen uns hier sehr wohl und kommen bestimmt wieder. Auch der Ort auf der anderen Straßenseite bietet ALLES, was man zum Leben brauch. Viel Liebe Grüße von Petra und Peter aus Deutschland

June 2013

Excellent

Review by Petara (Marl)

Nachdem wir schon so viele gute Bewertungen vom „Haus am Strand“ gelesen haben, mussten wir es auch mal „live“ erleben!
Und es ist ein Traum-Urlaub geworden - mit Worten einfach nicht zu beschreiben…..
Nicht nur das liebevoll eingerichtete sehr saubere Haus und der wunderschöne Garten, auch Rita und Mike, die uns tolle Tipps für Ausflüge und Essen&Trinken gaben, machten den Urlaub zum unvergesslichen Erlebnis!
Auch wir werden Wiederholungstäter!!

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Petdro (Marl)

Zum wiederholten Male waren wir im "Haus am Strand" und sind immer wieder auf's Neue begeistert!!
Die Lage DIREKT am Strand ist perfekt, die Delfine kann man von JEDEM Bett aus sehen.
Alle Suiten sind in mediterranen Farben gestaltet und liebevoll eingerichtet. Täglich wird geputzt.
Sollte man tatsächlich noch einen Wunsch haben, sind Rita oder Mike sofort zu Stelle, geben Ratschläge und Tipps wo man gut essen gehen kann.
Das "Haus am Strand" ist auch ein sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für die verschiedensten Aktivitäten und Ausflüge.
Wir kommen immer wieder!!!

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Tina Vd Merwe (JHB)

This truly is a little piece of heaven on earth. Thank you for a wonderful stay the three weeks were the best as always. Everything was perfect. Will see you REALY SOON.xxx

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Sone (Gauteng)

Amazingly peacefull excellent service graete wiev what more can one person want in a holiday.
Rita your the best.

April 2012

Excellent

Review by Marcy Van Der Male (Cape Town)

WOW!!!! The view is incredible... the rooms are beautifully decorated, thoughtfully put together to attend to every need and clean... and the service is spectacular. We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our honeymoon. A beautiful location- right on the water with the waves crashing peacefully as you sleep. A perfect getaway paradise!

October 2011

Excellent

Review by Petra Und Arno (Marl)

Wieder waren wir im "Haus am Strand" und wieder waren wir absolut begeistert! Die Lage ist einfach unbeschreiblich schön, die Suiten liebevoll eingerichtet, und Rita und Mike tun einfach alles, damit die Gäste sich rundum wohl fühlen. Trotz der vielen guten Tipps was man unternehmen kann, möchte man am liebsten den ganzen Tag nur im wunderschönen Garten liegen und die Delfine beobachten. Ein Traum!

July 2010

Excellent

Review by Angela (Roermond)

Planing our first South Africa holiday we discovered the "Haus am Strand" by chance. We didn't regret because we found a paradise!!! From the very first beginning (planing and booking) till the last day of our stay we were accompanied by Rita, the owner in such a nice, friendly and more than perfect way, so we we were not any longer unsure about travelling South Africa!
The appartement we've booked (Honeymoon Suite) was that nice that we felt at home from the very first minute! Sunny, in bright colours, very clean and with free Wlan!! The perfect place to calm down, relax and enjoy the holiday from the very first beginning!
We found all we needed: a nice and clean kitchen with all the things you need to prepare a breakfast, little lunch or dinner (although it wasn't nessecery because you can find a lot of restaurants where you can have all this for very little money just around the corner inbetween a 2-minutes walk; By the way: Don't miss a visit in the restaurant "The Girls", you won't be disappointed) But it's nice to have a fridge to cool down your Champagne to enjoy it on the balcony!)
The bathroom was perfect! Big enough with a nice Whirl-Pool and even from there you could see the ocean!!!
But the very best was the very comfortable Queen Bed with direct view to the ocean!! We could watch the dolfins playing in the waves and the whales jumping out of the water nearly every day.
The appartement was cleaned perfectly by very friendly maids!
Concerning security: We didn't feel unsecure for one minute! Mike, the housekeeper, was always there to answer questions, take care and give a lot advices for trips and things to do to make it a perfect holiday.
We could also enjoy the very nice garden with it's lovely fireplaces, plants, palm trees, flowers and a lot of interesting birds to watch. Only a few steps downstairs from there - and you enter the beautiful clean beach to have long beach walkes or just having a sun-bath! (Even in July/August!!)
All in all we had the perfect holiday in "our" "Haus am Strand"!!! We've already booked our next stay in December/January to find out what's South Africa like in the African Summer!
We didn't even look for another accomodation this time. We did before we came the first time to Wilderness and we've checked out nearly all the other places in "Sands Road" (The "place to be" in Wilderness) during our last stay in July but we didn't find something that's better concerning the relation price- service. Of course again "Haus am Strand"! There you live in the "Millionair's Row" for a reasonable price!
Thanks a lot Rita and Mike !!! Looking forward beeing there again in December!!

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Stan (Seattle, USA)

Our five night stay at Haus am Strand was most memorable. The setting right on the ocean is spectacular, our apartment was very clean and well furnished, and Rita - our hostess extraordinaire, was wonderful. We were able to walk to wonderful restaurants in Wilderness and it was just a short drive to weekly markets, golf, sight seeing, and so much more. Rita gave us many helpful hints of what to see - including the whales in our "front yard"! A perfect spot to stop while exploring the Garden Route.

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Anderswie (München, Germany)


Ausblick Eine der schönsten Unterkünfte die ich bisher hatte. Hier stimmt einfach alles.
Sehr sauber und eine traumhafte Lage. Da wir erst sehr spät am abend angereist sind, hatte uns die Eigentümerin "Rita" eine kleinigkeit zu essen und zu trinken gebracht. Einfach sehr herzlich und zuvorkommend. Die "Travel Suite" ist sehr liebevoll eingerichtet und aus dem Bett möchte man garnicht mehr raus ;) Wir werden jedenfalls auf jeden Fall wieder kommen.
Anderswie, München, Germany

May 2010

Excellent

Review by Anne Thomas (Germany)

Super Lage, Super Unterkunft, Super Gastgeber!!
Schon zwei Mal haben wir unsere Südafrika-Rundreise im "Haus am Strand" ausklingen lassen- jedesmal begeistert. Die Appartments sind klasse und -wirklich- unmittelbar am Strand. Die Gastgeber sind toll und sehr hilfsbereit. Sehr zu empfehlen ist auch das Appartement in Kapstadt - zentrale Lage und toll ausgestattet.
Gruß an Rita und Mike, weiter so.
Anne und Thomas us Kölle

April 2010

Excellent

Review by Knierim (New Zealand)

Didn´t book in advance, just looking for a nice place to stay with view to the sea. The apartments are nice, the view is excellent and it´s close to shops, restaurants etc. The owner is very friendly. This all makes Haus am Strand a place to recommend !

April 2010

Excellent

Review by George, (UK)

1. April: We arrived here planning to stay for 3 nights and ended up staying 7. Fell in love with this beautiful apartment from the first moment. It is situated directly on the beach with lovely gardens. The apartment itself is clean, bright and sunny. Decorated to compliment the surroundings in lovely yellows blues and creams. Rita and Mike our hosts are lovely. Rita makes you feel so welcome and is very helpful with information about where to visit. Because of her and Mike we saw places we probably wouldn't have bothered with. We especially liked the canoe trip to the waterfall they told us about. Great fun. Although they are on hand to help when needed they also give you the space to enjoy your holiday without interference. This is a self-catering apartment but there is a small supermarket about 5 minutes away. There are also numerous restaurants just a short walk away where we had some really lovely meals with wine of course. There is a larger shopping mall about 15 minutes drive away if you want a larger variety of shops. This guest house is perfectly situated. Wilderness is a lovely area and there are plenty of places within easy reach and loads to do from here. You can reach Knysna, Tsistikamma, Plettenberg Bay, Mossel Bay to name just a few. When it came time to move on we were really torn between staying and going. We could have stayed much, much longer. All in all a wonderful guesthouse, to wake up in the morning,lie in bed and watch the waves, heaven. Wonderful hosts, wonderful area. We shall definitely be going back.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Ann Thomp (UK)

First saw this property on previous visit whilst on beach. Spent four glorious days there, didnt want to move, so relaxing. The house is right on the beach minutes from Wilderness village which has several restaurants, shop etc, lovely accommodation, utterly charming . Will definitely go back hopefully for a bit longer. Our stay there was the favourite part of our holiday.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Siegmar Und Ellen (Germany)

Wir verbrachten herrliche Wochen in Haus am Strand in Wilderness. Die Lage direkt am Meer mit herrlichem Garten. Die Zimmer hell unf freundlich , mit allem ausgestattet was man zur Selbstversorgung braucht. Tägliche gründliche Reinigung von freundlichem Personal.

Die Zimmer alle mit Blick auf den Indischen Ozean, alle mit Balkon oder Terrasse.Sehr individuelle Betreuung duch die Eigentümerin Rita und Mike, der für alle technischen Fragen ( Internet usw. ) ein kompetenter Ansprechpartner war.

Sonnenliegen mit Sonnenschirmen für jede Wohnung standen zur Verfügung.
Wir haben uns in den 2 Wochen rundum wohlgefühlt und würden jederzeit wiederkommen.

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Knierim (Germany)

Das Quartier Haus am Strand/Beach Bungalow hatten wir bereits von Deutschland aus für fast 3 Wochen im Januar und Februar vor gebucht
.....und wir fanden, wie erhofft, ein kleines Paradies.
Das gilt sowohl für die liebevoll eingerichteten Zimmer,
den traumhaften Ausblick, das freundliche Personal und unsere
Gastgeber Rita und Mike, die alles taten, damit wir uns wohl fühlten.
Der Aufenthalt in Wilderness war als Höhepunkt unserer 6 wöchigen
Reise gedacht, und obwohl auch unsere vier anderen Quartiere sehr
schön waren, es war wirklich DER HÖHEPUNKT !

March 2010

Excellent

Review by Arno&Petra (Marl, Deutschland)

Wir waren am schönsten Platz der Welt!!
Das HAUS AM STRAND ist WIRKLICH genau am Strand!!!! Vom Garten über den Strand ins Wasser! Wir blieben ganze 2 Wochen in der "Ocean-Suite", die einfach zum Wohl fühlen ist. In hellen Farben, einer tollen Küche, mit Balkon UND Terrasse und das Beste: vom Bett aus sehen wir die Delfine!!
Und unsere Gastgeberin Rita ist unglaublich herzlich, wenn überhaupt noch Wünsche vorhanden sind - Rita erfüllt sie sofort!
Durch die super Lage des HAUS AM STRAND konnten wir viele Ausflüge unternehmen, von Mossel Bay bis zum Tsitsikamma, oder zu den Cango Caves. Am Abend freuten wir uns auf "unser" HAUS AM STRAND und mussten nicht täglich andere Unterkünfte suchen.
Eines steht fest: wir kommen wieder!!!!!

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Burkhardt (Cape Town)

What a true 5 star beach holiday. The accomodation is done with such love and thought for the holidaymaker. Also a fantastic romantic get away. Truly recommendable.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Hemi (Pietersburg, South Africa)

We stayed at Haus am Strand for 7 nights. The location of this house could not be better. It is situated right on a tranquil, beautiful, sandy beach. You wake up to the sound and sight of the ocean. The house is self-catering and has all the necessities if you wish to cook as well braai. There are ample loungers where one can relax and just look at the sea. The rooms are cleaned regularly. Mike met us on our arrival and ensured everything was fine and all our needs were met. He was just a phonecall away if you needed to contact him.

There are several restaurants just a short walk away as well as a laundry and a small supermarket. Wilderness is very centrally situated and Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay is no more than about an hour or 2 at most, away. George which is just minutes away has a larger shopping mall where there are various shops, restaurants and a supermarket.

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Visser (SA)

Recently we returned to this great place at the beach, and again had the most wonderful time! waking up with the sea nearby, breakfast in the lovely garden, the very friendly reception and service by Mike, the lovely cleaningladies.....the total was Perfect! we will be back in June (and several times after that I hope!) fam. Visser, Pretoria

January 2010

Excellent

Review by Tillos (Stuttgart Germany)

Wir hatten mit "Ocean-Suite" das große Los gezogen. Einfach toll das Appartment.
Vom Bett auf´s offene Meer sehen, Frühstücken auf dem Balkon mit einer Aussicht die einem den Atem verschlägt und morgens in aller Hergottsfrühe aus dem Bett fallen und am Strand spazieren gehen.
DAS IST DAS HAUS AM STRAND!

December 2009

Excellent

Review by Werasch (Germany)

Supertolle B&B Unterkunft mit Terasse und Garten direkt am Strand, natürlich mit Zugang (keine 20 m zum Meer). Sehr gepflegter Garten mit Grillmöglichkiten, nebenbei können Delfine Beobachtet werden, die hier laufend vorbeiziehen.

Deutschsprachige Besitzerin, die auch sehr gute Tipps für Unternehmungen in die nähere Umgebung gibt.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by Herts, (UK)

Recently stayed at Haus am Strand on a tour of the Garden Route. We managed to stay in the ocean view suite which is simply lovely. From the bed you can watch the dolphins in the ocean! The suite has all mod cons and is beautifully decorated. The owner is lovely and looked after us very well even to taking loads of pictures of us as we were leaving after we commented that as a couple you don't tend to get many phots with both in, thanks Rita. Couldn't recommend the house any higher than say we had a fantastic time and would go back again on our next tour, simply lovely.

October 2009

Excellent

Review by B Packer (Düsseldorf, Germany)

Die Lage der Unterkunft ist sensationell, direkt am Strand und ebenfalls unmittelbar im Ortszentrum (nur die Straße überqueren, schon ist man am Supermarkt mit Geldautomat, der Tankstelle, der Post, sowie den vielen Restaurants und Shops in Milkwood Village!)

Haus, Garten und Zimmer sind super gepflegt und mit viel Liebe zum Detail ausgestattet, die Besitzer sind ausgesprochen gastfreundlich und zuvorkommend! Im Vergleich zu anderen Unterkünften in Wilderness ein extrem gutes Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis!

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Silvi (Switzerland)

Wir waren aus Zeitgründen leider nur 2 Nächte im Haus am Strand und haben es sehr bedauert. Gerne wären wir länger in diesem Paradies geblieben. Die Zimmer sind liebevoll eingerichtet, mit allem was man benötigt. Der Garten, direkt am Sandstrand gelegen lädt zum Faulenzen, Geniessen und Braaien ein. Die Gastgeber snd sehr herzlich, unkompliziert und hilfsbereit. Alles was man braucht ist in unmittelbarer Nähe zu finden. Auf unserer nächsten ZA-Reise sind wir sicher wieder Gäste im Haus am Strand.
Silvi, Bern, Schweiz

September 2009

Excellent

Review by Silvi (Switzerland)

Wir waren aus Zeitgründen leider nur 2 Nächte im Haus am Strand und haben es sehr bedauert. Gerne wären wir länger in diesem Paradies geblieben. Die Zimmer sind liebevoll eingerichtet, mit allem was man benötigt. Der Garten, direkt am Sandstrand gelegen lädt zum Faulenzen, Geniessen und Braaien ein. Die Gastgeber snd sehr herzlich, unkompliziert und hilfsbereit. Alles was man braucht ist in unmittelbarer Nähe zu finden. Auf unserer nächsten ZA-Reise sind wir sicher wieder Gäste im Haus am Strand.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Clesira Berg (Germany)

Erlebenswert! Erste Sahne!
Das 3.x in SA,das2.x gardenroute,das erste mal mit freundin,das erste aber sicher nicht das letzte mal in wilderness und in ritas puppenstube(n) incl.sensationellem meeresblick/rauschen(auch im bett liegend!).leider hat es unser zeitplan nicht erlaubt,hier ein paar tage zu genießen.das werden wir ganz sicher nachholen ...unsere empfehlung:erste sahne!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.995374999666666
Longitude: 22.575794443777777

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 15km

Children policy
Children 12 years and older are welcome, unless by prior arrangement.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
May 2010 - 28 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2017. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap