Gumtree Guest House is rated 5/5 by visitors (8 reviews)

Gumtree Guest House

Guest House / Self Catering at 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn, Karoo, Cape Town, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 8 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Gumtree Guest House in Oudtshoorn?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Karoo.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 8 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

May 2012


Review by Charlie M (Cape Town)

Really, what more can a couple visiting from another city ask for. The Gumtree Guest House made our stay in Oudshoorn truly special. Everything was perfect, from the fact that we were the only guests accommodated there for our stay which made it that much more romantic and special. Phil was very professional and helpful with recommendations of where to eat and things to do. The breakfast was to die for, so well prepared and presented. Thank you so much Phil for your warm hospitality and for making us feel so special. There couldn't have been a better way to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. Thanks to you, it was one we will never forget. Thanks a million :-)

August 2011


Review by Viljoen Roux (Cape Town)

What more can a business traveller ask for - warm hospitality, a very helpful and professional host and hostess, all the neccessary facilities and luxury in a lovely setting! Phil and Linda offer a perfect service! I've stayed there quite a few times on my business trips and everytime is special, relaxing, just what a weary traveller need. Highly recommended to everybody. Thanks very much!

August 2011


Review by James & Lesley Reid (Cape Town)

We spent a very pleasant 2 night stay at The Gumtree Guest House. Phil & Linda were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble - including re-arranging the bed configuration! The breakfasts were more than delicious. Phil's advise on where to eat was spot-on. The setting of the lodge is magical. We will be returning.

July 2011


Review by Leigh M (Cape Town)

We had a wonderful stay over the weekend. We were cozy and warm inside, eventough it was really wintery weather! Phil cooked the 'best breakfast in town' and used local ingredients. The cheese and sausages were delicious. The Gumtree is a great place to stay and central to all the must see attractions in Oudsthoorn. We will definitely be back!

July 2011


Review by Lisa V (Cape Town)

In the beginning of July our family went to Oudtshoorn for a mini-break / long weekend. We stayed at the Gumtree Guest House. We had such a wonderful stay there that we'll never consider another B&B / Guest House in Oudtshoorn! Apart from being incredibly hospitable, Phil and Linda Putzel went out of their way to make our weekend there as comfortable as possible. The room we stayed in was well equipped and very modern and the general ambience of the Gumtree Guest House was very friendly, warm and welcoming!

May 2011


Review by Jarryd Finkelstein (Cape Town)

A really great place stay while travelling on business in Oudtshoorn. Service was friendly and professional and the room was beautifully kept. The Gumtree provided useful information on the surrounding area even including routes that are new to the scene. Also available is free wi-fi access which is handy for the travelling businessman. A real pleasure to find while travelling in the Klein Karoo.

April 2011


Review by Colleen Swart (PE)

We had a very pleasant stay at Gumtree , Phil was really helpful about routes to various places and places to eat. The Gumtree is the best guest house we have been to. We love cats and they have 2 gorgeous cats.
Also. Phil was very helpful when our car malfuntioned and went to get help for us. Thanks.

March 2011


Review by Johann Longwitz (Copenhagen)

Our stop in Oudtshoorn was very "last minute" and Phil was very helpful to put us up for the night, with suggestions of where to eat and visit. As Business Development Manager I travel extensively every month and stay at many 3 and 4 star guest houses and hotels, many of which are considered top class. The Gumtree I would rate as one of the class guesthouses I have stayed at and would highly recommend them to anyone wishing to visit Oudtshoorn.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.588418999666665
Longitude: 22.201094833333332

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 400km
George Airport - 60km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on
April 2011 - 8 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap