Granny Mouse Country House is rated 5/5 by visitors (10 reviews)

Granny Mouse Country House

Hotel at R103 Old Main Road, Balgowan, Howick, 3275, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 10 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Granny Mouse Country House in Balgowan?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Natal Midlands.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 10 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

April 2016


Review by Tanya (South Africa)

We had such high expectations of Granny Mouse and were disappointed in a few areas.

The bed looked like it was not made up properly, the sheets were all crumpled and the bedding was half tucked in and half out. It was very messy underneath the top layer. Only one side of the bed had a heated blanket.

I liked the fireplace, was nice to walk into the room with a lit fire going.

There was an infestation of ants in the wooden window frames. When I opened up one of the windows, many large ants came inside. A staff member came to sort it out and sprayed Doom. Our room smelled of Doom for a while and on a nice crisp and cool late afternoon, we had to leave the windows open for a while letting all the warmth out.

We had our little one with us and before we arrived I was assured that when I need any of her food warmed up that I must just place a call at reception and they'd send someone over, no problem. On the first night we had to call a few times because no one came.

We stayed for two nights. After the first night, the next morning, we placed the make up room sign on the door, as we were heading out early to explore the Midlands. When we returned we were met with a messy room that was not made up yet, and it was now late in the afternoon. I called reception to ask why and she simply said they make up the rooms for new arriving quests first.

It seems that there is definitely a lot of room for better management and planning. Really not up to scratch. I have stayed at more affordable places were service and attention to detail far exceeded Granny Mouse. Sadly we will not stay there again.

The main section, where the restaurant is, is very cute and interesting - with all the different rooms were you can sit quite privately.

My family & I still had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Midlands enjoying the cool weather.

March 2016


Review by Chrystalla O'Reilly (Durban)

My daughter had her wedding on 26/3/16. What an amazing setup and the hospitality was extra ordinary. Ane and crew done an excellent job, the service was over and above our expectations. Thank you.
PS. The best wedding venue ever.

December 2014


Review by S. Lissoni (Gauteng)

Stayed over December. My family & I were so impressed - the food, service, wonderful Christmas lunch. The rooms are five star. The staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful, gorgeous place. We will be back for sure.

November 2014


Review by Roberta Pieterse (Bedfordview Johannesburg)

We arrived at Granny Mouse, after a particularly stressful time in Jhb. After a day or two we felt so rested and refreshed. We were treated so warmly by all your staff, especially Stuart!! He was very attentive at all times. The lady who cleaned our room, was a delight. The room was always immaculate, and the turn down so beautifully done. And the food!!! Wow, really wonderful, so all in all a wonderful experience!!

November 2011


Review by Mike Allen (Johannesburg)


September 2010


Review by Lesley-Anne Myburg (Durban)

Such a wonderful place. Lovely staff, fantastic food and accom. Really cannot fault anything. Look forward to our next visit.

February 2010


Review by Kathy Du Plessis (Pretoria)

This is one of the few times that I can honestly say that everything about this property was excellent. The staff went out of their way to ensure that everyone of our needs were taken care and from the gardeners, housekeepers all the way through the rank to the new owner were superb. The food was the cherry on the cake!! A highly recommended destination to all looking for an escape into a small piece of heaven.

September 2009


Review by Helen Rushton (Cape Town)

I dont have enough time in my day to sing the praises of Granny Mouse! We (and 30 friends) stayed at the hotel from Sept 24 - 27th and we got married in the chapel and had the reception at the Caversham Room. The hotel itself is a spectacular venue, the food sublime and the service faultless. Emma is a fantastic wedding coordinator and we cant thank the entire staff of Granny Mouse enough - it was a wonderful three days and we cant wait to go back. The spa and its staff also deserve a special mention. So thanks Granny Mouse very very much.

December 2008


Review by Bronwyn (Eston)

Granny Mouse is an amazing venue, my husband and I would just like to say a big thank you to the staff and a big thank you to Leanne for her amazing food wow, I haven't tasted food like that anywhere else, truly an amazing experience .

November 2008


Review by Debbi Dale (Durban)

We had our Conference at Granny Mouse and it was absolutely amazing , what a stunning property and the food was excellent as well as the service deffinately reccommend it , Value for money as well.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.423914
Longitude: 30.094958

Closest airport(s)
Oribi Airport - 45km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome by prior arrangement.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
August 2005 - 10 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap