Forest Valley Cottages is rated 5/5 by visitors (30 reviews)

Forest Valley Cottages

Self Catering at 6kms along the Rheenendal Road, Knysna, Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 30 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Forest Valley Cottages in Knysna?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Garden Route.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 30 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

June 2015


Review by Carol Turner (Cape Town)

Excellent accommodation - perfect for weekend get away. Stunning forest views with everything you need including fire place, jacuzi, braai and breakfast delivered at your door! Mark was a very good host and really went the extra mile to make our visit special.

December 2014


Review by Chris Joubert (SA)

Firstly would like to thank you for your amazing hospitality and wow your cottages really blew us away. Absolutely amazing. Will be recommending it everywhere and we will be back for sure very soon!!!

We stayed in the Sandstone HONEYMOON AND GET-AWAY COUPLES unit.


June 2014


Review by Johan (Knysna)

Good morning Mark

I great big thank you firstly. It feels like I have had a three week rest!

I want to compliment on the cottage facilities. I have been all over between here, Oudtshoorn up to Langebaan and the Jacuzzi bath is the cherry on top. The fact that you DStv facilities with radio and dvd, braai area and utensils and an amazing shower makes you one of the best stays I have visited over the last few months. And then not to forget the amazing view as the sun creeps over the hills towards Forest Valley in the AM.

Other than that, 150%.

Thank you.

April 2013


Review by Mr & Mrs Parker (South Africa)

Thumbs Up!
Honeymoon Romance Thumbs Up!
Outstanding Views Thumbs Up!
Thank you
My husband and I enjoyed a mid-week break and we want to thank Mark and the staff for a truly memorable experience. The cottage is beautifully situated; the views breath-taking and the atmosphere is as serene and peaceful as advertised. The pictures on your website give a glimpse of paradise and that is exactly what we found! Thank You - we will definitely recommend Forest Valley Cottages to all couples wanting that romance and privacy essential to "Quality Time!"
Thank you Mark - we won't forget the experience - you have a wonderful place. We hope to make it back there soon!!!

April 2013


Review by Barry Crous (Sa)

Hi Mark,

Just want to say thank you! Had an awesome time at Wild Iris, you've captured your surroundings magnificently!

Thanks again and hope we get the privilege to come visit you again.
Barry Crous

April 2012


Review by Sharon Vosloo (Stellenbosch)

Hi Mark & Colleen

Everything your clients say is true. In 2007 my then boyfriend and now husband took me for a weekend to Forest Valley. I fell in love with the place instantly.We visited it 3 times after that. Recommended it to friends of ours. Who was very,very impressed!!!!
1.The views from the deck is amazing.
2.The privacy is great!
3.All the cottages is neat and tidy.
4.You and your staff are very friendly.

We WILL return to Forest Valley as soon as we can.
Sharon Vosloo

March 2012


Review by Anna (Cape Town)

We had wonderful time in the cottage Glory Dawn!!! Thank you Mark for your hospitality:)
What a view! We miss this place so much!!!
Forest Valley is the best place to relax and admire beauty of the nature...we will be back for sure:)

March 2012


Review by Mark And Rebecca Hamilton (Nottingham, UK)

Review: WOW..WOW..WOW! we have so enjoyed this wonderful place, thanks so much..and what a bath..EVERYTHING was perfect!

November 2011


Review by Heila And Marcel (JHB)

Hi Mark
We have arrived and the place EXCEEDED our WILDEST EXPECTATIONS! Thankyou very much for the fruit basket...we really needed something on arrival...and after our wedding and flight.
I will make a turn at the office tomorrow to sort out the money's.
Heila and Marcel

October 2011


Review by The Shaws (Cape Town)

Dear Mark and Colleen and staff
Thankyou for spoiling us.We had such a great and relaxing time.Be sure that we will tell ALL our friends and family about this wonderful place that we discovered.
Our stay was memorable THANKYOU!
The Shaws

July 2011


Review by Kobus&Regina (Southern Cape)

Hi M and C

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic.........

We would like to thank you for all the hard work you put into your establishment. One can see that you like (and know)what you are doing. We had a wonderfull and relaxed weekend and everything was perfect. We only missed the guest book . Please could you forward us links where we could leave comments of our stay the past weekend.


Kobus and Regina Koekemoer

March 2011


Review by Mandi & Clayton (Port Elizabeth)

Tranqil, private and with a breathtaking view what more could anyone ask for! The equisite decor & luxurious stay is what I recommend to anyone who is looking for a breakaway..... Forest Valley Cottage (Sand Stone) will be seeing us again!

February 2011


Review by Cheryl-Ann (London)

Thank You Mark,

Wild Iris was everything it said on the tin, what a fabulous place, the view, the cottage the whole package.. we had a truly memorable stay.

I cannot give enough praise

July 2010


Review by Sandra (SA)

Thanks Mark

I just want to thank you as well for our fantastic stay earlier this month - Justin & I loved Glory Dawn and it was for me personally my favourite part of our honeymoon travels! The reason I enquired with you for December is because a colleague of mine is going on honeymoon in December and I seriously recommended your cottages, so I just wanted to check if you had anything available for them. But thank you anyway - you may see us there again one day! It was lovely!



July 2010


Review by Mark (UK)

WOW..WOW..WOW! we have so enjoyed this wonderful place, thanks so much..and what a bath..EVERYTHING was perfect! Mark and Rebecca Hamilton NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND!

June 2010


Review by Sheron (Cape Town)

Hi Mark,

We just wanted to thank you for a wonderful weekend. Your place is really special and very tranquil. We can not remember when we had such a lovely relaxing time. Your place a very nice, neat and organised. Thank you for thinking of everything. Also thank you for the wood it came in very handy.
Many thanks to Feston as well for being so helpful. I will certainly and already recommended your place and hope to visit soon again. Maybe this time we will be lucky and able to get one of the honeymoon getaways.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Sheron Samuels

May 2010


Review by Junaid (JHB)

Hi Mark, How you doing ?

Mark I just wanted to compliment on the wonderful service that Forest Valley accommodated me and my wife,and just because of that excellent reception I will like to book your cottages again for December ( if available ) , I am looking for 3 Cottages in the dates from 28th December to the 3rd of January.

I sincerely hope that you have these dates available for us , as I want to share this experience with family and friends.

Looking forward to your response


Junaid Nomani

Team Lead : Purchasing Hub
Absa Group
17th Floor,Towers Main
160 Main Street
Johannesburg CBD 2001


March 2010


Review by Brian&belinda (Cape Town)

We just want to say thankyou so very much for all the great experiences we've had at Forest Valley Cottages. We have had the most enjoyable stay and hope to be able to come and stay again sometime.
Thankyou and GOD bless.
Brian & Belinda 28-31March

February 2010


Review by Dirk Coetzee (George)

Thanx for a wonderfull weekend! Your place is amazing!

November 2009


Review by Casper & Reinet (George)

The second HONEYMOON was better than the first..thankyou so much!

April 2009


Review by Sharee & Ernest White (Port Elizabeth)

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Earth Rose! We had the perfect Honeymoon and would defnitely reccommend it to anyone! Only one word to describe it : Tranquility......... Thanks, Ernest & Sharee White

February 2009



Stayed in GLORY DAWN found the accomodation EXCELLENT, with the gereral cleanliness EXCELLENT, the price vs value, EXCELLENT, and it certainlly met ALL our expectations. It was FANTASTIC, loved everything about this place.. WILL RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!

January 2009


Review by Nadia (Cape Town)

My husband and I spend 2 amazing nights at Forest Valley Cottages, specifically Glory Dawn cottage. What an absolutely amazing experience. It is breathtaking ... something you just have to experience as there are no words! Very highly recommended!

January 2009


Review by Leanda (Cape Town)

I stayed in Lavender Edge with my husband and 2 girls, aged 9 and 5. We had an awesome time. The cottage is beautiful, everything in excellent condition. The views will leave you breathless. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

December 2008


Review by Kim (Mosselbay)

just wanted to say THANK YOU to all of you who assisted in making our stay soooo fabulous! Sandstone is an INCREDIBLE cottage, very romantic, quiet, peaceful and just full of great energy!

David & I thoroughly fell in love with the cottage! The service, is top
class & the discreet nature of how this is carried out is highly

Thanks again for making our stay such a memorable one! I do hope that we
can return again & will certainly recommend this to anyone traveling down
your neck of the woods!

November 2008


Review by Mark (Knysna)

I would like to thank you and complement you on your lovely set up. The superb setting and views just made the stay nice and relaxing. I would have preferred to thank you in person but our timing was out,

Thank you again.
Riaan Senekal

November 2008


Review by JR & Chrisna (Jhb)

Thank you so much for the wonderful time we spent in the tranquil environment! - we have really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit you in future again.
Thank's also for the detail provided in terms of what to do, we really found that very informative and helpful.Hope you have a wonderful festive season
JR and Christa Coetzer

August 2008


Review by Rehan (C.Town)

Thank you, Baie dankie vir n wonderlike 3 dae van honeymoon dit was heerlik om daar te wees. Net soos jy hier onder s A Realy cool place. Ek sal dit dit graagte vir enige iemand verwys en dit was jammer date k nie die laaste paar dae ook daar gespandeer het nie want dit was teleurstellend.

Groete en baie dankie vir die gasvryheid.

July 2008


Review by Sheron (C.Town)

Thank you, Baie dankie vir n wonderlike 3 dae van honeymoon dit was heerlik om daar te wees.
Net soos jy hier onder s A Realy cool place
Ek sal dit dit graagte vir enige iemand verwys en dit was jammer date k nie die laaste paar dae ook daar gespandeer het nie want dit was teleurstellend.
Groete en baie dankie vir die gasvryheid.

April 2008


Review by TROY& DANIELLE (C.Town)

I just wanted to say thank you for time we spent at Forest Valley. It was the perfect place to be for our Honeymoon. The peace and quiet has been absolutely perfect. We had to leave early the Friday morning; so we didn't have the opportunity to thank you personally.

Thank you again.
Troy & Danielle Jones

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.988611
Longitude: 22.983889

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 50km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
July 2008 - 30 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap