Fern Gully is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (7 reviews)

Fern Gully

Self Catering at Fern Gully Forest Cabins, Knysna, Garden Route, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 7 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Fern Gully in Knysna?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Garden Route.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 7 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

February 2014


Review by Sean (Cape Town)

Our family stayed at three different cabins at Fern Gully over numerous dates. The facilities were spotless, well thought out and beautiful. Red Barn was a treat. Food and service was great and the owners are forth coming. Great kiddies play area next to the restaurant too. Thanks guys. Was awesome! We'll definitely return.

March 2013


Review by Suzette Cooper (Port Elizabeth)

I wanted a unique experience for my husband's 30th Birthday and could not have picked a better place. . . we only stayed two nights before continuing our roadtrip but we came home with awesome memories and LOTS of photo's. Encountered quite a bit of bees, met a snake and experienced a thunder and lightning storm. Was absolutely magical being surrounded by forest and the cabins are really wonderfully secluded. The food is wonderful so even if you dont end up staying in one of the cabins I suggest you do end up having a meal at The Red Barn :-)

December 2010


Review by Jeanre Bosch (SA) (Pretoria)

Only stayed 2 nights, but the overall impression was excellent. The people are very friendly and the cabins were neat. The outdoor shower made my day and to see the birds so close to us in the woods was awesome. Great job guys

October 2010


Review by Mare & Adele Greyling (Hout Bay)

This was just amazing! The only problem is that we spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Fern Gully... and after that we were SO spoilt that nothing compared to what we've experienced there. Especially the hot outside shower with amazing views and of course the frequent visits of the Knysna Loeries!

December 2008

Very Good

Review by Wendy & Micaela (Cape Town)

Thanx for the lovely stay. The place is very relaxing and takes you away from the stress of the city life. It is great to wake up to the sounds of nature and the feeling of being in the middle of the forest. Thanks it was great.

October 2008


Review by Mariaan & Mike (Cape Town)

Dear Michelle. Thanx a mil for walking that extra mile for my family. The cabins are smashing and well equipped. You will definitely be hearing from us again especially now that we know dogs are welcome! The perfect getaway from the city life. The Loerie's made it even more special. Thanx a million.
Mariaan, Mike, Lanies & Johan

December 2005


Review by Syd & Carol Rose (PE & UK)

A very short but wonderful stay in your beautiful forest cabin. We enjoyed the early morning call of the bird song and we were privileged to see (and nearly hand feed) two Loeries. Yet another delight on our first trip to S.Africa. Thank you for adding to the wonders of your lovely country.
John & Jacky Rose (UK) and Syd & Carol Rose (PE)

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.948970
Longitude: 22.933919

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 60km
Plettenberg Bay Airport - 36km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome, parents should note that the cabins are on stilts with a 2-bar railing around the deck and the bathrooms only have showers, so the cabins are perhaps not baby and toddler friendly.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 17h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times during Low Season may be arranged, please enqurie.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
April 2000 - 7 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap