Edenwood Guest House is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (11 reviews)

Edenwood Guest House

Bed & Breakfast / Self Catering at 9 Hammerkop Street, Eden, George, Garden Route, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Edenwood Guest House in George?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Garden Route.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2010


Review by Yvonne (Kildare)

Dawn and Stan are so friendly and helpful, they gave us so much information of things to see and do in the area.
The accommadation was great, so clean and comfortable, If you are going to stay in George this is the place, great location.

February 2010


Review by Alison Templar (Cape Town)

What a find!
This has been one of my best stays at a Guesthouse (and I have stayed at many). The extra special welcome from Dawn & Stan made you feel like a returning friend. My room was exquisitely furnished with all those special "extras" that make it a cut-above-the-rest! Breakfast was very good and I enjoyed our conversation Stan, would have been quite happy to stay longer chatting. Unfortunately my stay was just for one night (1/2 way stopover from Grahamstown to Cape Town) but now that I've found you I promise I'll be back and would love to explore George and surrounds with the help of Dawn's vast knowledge of the area.

January 2010


Review by Sheila Riddell (UK)

We picked Edenwood at random from the internet and consider ourselves very lucky to have done so. Dawn responded to our enquiry immediately and when we arrived made us feel very welcome. The house is very well set up for B&B and the garden and grounds very attractive and pretty. Our room was large and spacious, also very clean. The only slight drawback I would mention is the lack of a socket near a mirror for hairdrier use. We stayed for 4 days and visited restaurants in the area recommended by Dawn and Stan, they were all excellent and very good value for money. We would have no hesitation in recomending Edenwood to friends & family who may visit the area in future. Thank you both for an excellent stay.

November 2009


Review by Rose (Sussex, UK)

Edenwood is a very upmarket B & B. Our room was expensively furnished and very comfortable. Everything was spotless and the garden lovely, full of birds. Dawn is an excellent hostess, she went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed for three nights but could have stayed much longer. We loved the cats. The breakfasts were excellent also, freshly cooked by Dawn.

October 2009


Review by Mr&Mrs Hadley (Birmingham UK)

Thank you Dawn for an unforgetable stay,her knowledge of the area was outstanding,her Guest House was immaculate and her chat at the breakfast table made a very enjoyable stay with ideas of places to visit whilst in the George area.A Guest House thoroughly to be recommended,thanks for your help when we had a trickey situation most appreciated

September 2009


Review by Mr & Mrs B Smuts (Port Elizabeth)

Mr & Mrs B Smuts - PE - dates arrival 20th Sep - departure 24th Sept

Recently we stayed at this lovely Guest House in George and what a lucky
find, as we had been traveling for a few weeks. We were so fortunate to
be able to stay in the lovely Garden Cottage, in this quiet corner of
George, and were awoken to the sounds of birds, and even saw Knysna
Loeries in the pretty garden, from the balcony each morning. Dawn made
us so welcome, and her attention to little details on our behalf, to
make our stay more comfortable were much appreciated. The cottage is
very well appointed and has everything you need for a very pleasant
stay. We have no hesitation in recommending Edenwood and in fact have
booked to return in December.

June 2009


Review by Tom, Harry, Simon And Jane (York, UK)

A whistle stop stay on our whirlwind tour in South Africa visiting friends, family and supporting the British Lions. A very warm welcome on arrival and a very good local fish restaurant recommended, lots of good chat at Breakfast with Dawn and Stan, beautiful setting, just wish we could have stayed longer. Would really recommend Edenwood. Thank you. Tom, Harry, Simon and Jane.

April 2009


Review by Katja & Njue (Cape Town)

Edenwood is more than a home away from home. The view from our room was incredibly beautiful thanks to the inviting garden that screamed of life! The encyclopaedic knowledge of Dawn about George (and of course much more) made our breakfast conversations so much more rewarding. Thanks very much for your hospitality!

February 2009


Review by W. Robinson (Redhill Surrey UK)

Edenwood is a lovely peaceful house with everything of a high standard and where we received a warm welcome. Our Forest View room had a balcony with a great view over the garden and the forest beyond as expected from a previous visit. Dawn has encyclopaedic local knowledge and we were lucky enough to share an excellent breakfast with husband Stan who has a fund of entertaining stories. We are looking forward to another visit there on our next annual trip to SA.

December 2008


Review by Harvey Marshall (London UK)

This was the second time we stayed at Edenwood, having spent a week there in September 2008 and been thoroughly happy on a "holiday with a purpose" visit, as we were buying a house nearby. Our self-catering suite was spacious and welcoming, with a well equipped little kitchen and dining area. It was tastefully decorated, and with a wonderful balcony for the morning sun, giving the opportunity to watch birds and other wildlife (cheeky baboons) in this delightful edge-of-town position. Our hostess was friendly and extremely helpful with advice about what to do in George, and how to find the things we needed for setting up house. We were extremely well looked after, whilst feeling entirely free to come and go as we pleased, and make oursves totally at home. There were little considerate touches - such as a welcome bottle of wine, and luxury toiletries in the shower room - and our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We were very pleased with the quality of this establishment, and of our experience.

November 2008


Review by Sue Bader (Saint Louis, MO)

Edenwood is a home away from home. It was an excellent place to relax in the middle of our trip travelling from Cape Town to Addo. Dawn couldn't make you feel more at home the way she takes care of you and welcomes you into her home. Our Forest View room was large and comfortable. It had a kitchenette with a daily supply of fruit and tea/coffe as well as a nice balcony to enjoy drinks on. The breakfast was fresh and filling - a great way to start busy days. The surroundings are peaceful and relaxing. We also loved playing with the friendly cats - another little reminder of home. Dawn is particularly helpful with recommendations for places to visit, restaurants, and vendors to use for activities and even gave advice from the rest of our journey beyond George given her vast experience travelling all over South Africa with her family. Edenwood is a great location in the middle of the Garden Route from which to visit the beaches of Mosselbai, Botlierskop Game Reserve, Wilderness beach, Oudtshoorn and the ostrich farms (we highly recommend Chandelier's). Our only disappointment was that the babboons we heard in the woods didn't make an appearance on the porch during our 4-night stay.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -33.957208
Longitude: 22.493830999666667

Closest airport(s)
George Airport - 10km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
August 2006 - 11 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap