Dunvegan Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (13 reviews)

Dunvegan Lodge

Self Catering at 106 Clovelly Road, Clovelly, Fish Hoek, Cape Town, South Africa . Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 13 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Dunvegan Lodge in Clovelly?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to False Bay.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 13 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

January 2015


Review by Mr And Mrs Carswell (England)

We have wintered at the Cape since our retirement in 1990. The length of our stay has grown each year and we have recently returned to the UK after ten weeks at Dunvegan lodge. We have stayed at Dunvegan lodge every year since it opened in 1998. We find it conveniently located for golf, beaches, restaurants and shops. The facilities at the lodge are of the highest standard. Our main reason for going year after year is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners Peter and Sylvia snd their staff. for us it really is a home from home.

December 2014


Review by B. Summers (Inverness, Scotland)

This is a long overdue review, because I have been staying in this lodge several times and every time I visit Cape Town. Dunvegan Lodge has it all and for me it is home from home. The owners, Peter and Sylvia, are fabulous hosts and always around to help, advise and even do reservations for you, eg. the local restaurant or a hairdresser! This very hospitable couple go out of their way to help and make sure that you are satisfied and have a happy stay. Yet, you have entire privacy in clean and nicely decorated units. There are quite a few units to choose from and I have probably stayed in most of them by now. I can’t fault any of them! All units are equipped with little kitchenettes, so are great for self catering. The outdoor Jacuzzi and a swimming pool are also wonderful additions. What is most amazing though is the view – from the front balconies you have a view over two oceans: on the left the Indian Ocean and on the right the Atlantic Ocean. Not many lodges in the Cape Town area have access to two oceans within a short drive as Dunvegan! The location is probably what I like about Dunvegan the most. Apart from the fact that it is situated in a picturesque area, it has immediate access to fynbos, the indigenous vegetation full of birds. The bird feeders in the garden attract numerous colourful birds allowing close viewing. This is perfect for the birders like me, but there is also a golf course within walking distance! It is a quiet and safe area, yet close to all amenities. Kalk Bay is fabulous and will entertain you during the evening with one of the best restaurants in Cape Town and, during the day, it is buzzing with life with quirky shops and markets. The centre of Cape Town is a short distance away and the drive is one of the most scenic in the Cape Peninsular. It has good access to southern coast as well the picturesque Somerset West, Stellenbosch and wine route. With its competitive prices, I can’t fault Dunvegan Lodge! I love this place and highly recommend it!

April 2011


Review by I Thomson (Camberley, England)

This was the second time that I stayed at Dunvegan, taking over the whole Lodge for a party of 16 golfers. It is superbly equipped, spacious, and with every accessory you need. Rooms are spacious - all are en-suite and all have catering facilities. There are several large public rooms, and the dining area could seat all 16. The views are tremedous over Clovelly golf course. For the athletic, the hill behind has direct access from the Lodge with great views out to sea, and there are several running routes. For this party of 16 it was perfect!

December 2010


Review by Tim And Irene Wright (Stellenbosch)

We have regularly stayed at Dunvegan over the past two years and have found the facilities, service and the very friendly host and hostess attention to detail outstanding, even Jenna, the retriever makes one feel more than welcome which gives it a true home from home feel. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a special B&B to stay at Dunvegan.

November 2010


Review by Jerome Frantz (Cape Town)

We had a wonderful time and the service was excellent, friendly and professional. Catered for all our needs and even allowed for early arrival, when it was requested. Will definitely revisit Dunvegan

November 2010


Review by Colin Armstrong (Kenton-on - Sea)

We have been regular visitors to Dunvegan over the past seven years and have stayed in every room there is. The facilities are superb and the service is excellent. Sylvia and Peter are perfect hosts and we will return. Dunvegan is well situated to enable one to take advantage of all that the Southern Cape Peninsular has to offer and is highly recommended

November 2010


Review by Mark (Fribourg)

A warm welcome and a fantastic location make all the difference. The rooms are cosy well arranged. You'll also enjoy a go to the jacuzzi after a long walk up table mountain ... The more the location is perfect : Beach, Table Mountain or Cape Point.

November 2010


Review by Matthijs &Hilly (Heerenveen)

We would stay only 1 night, but at the end of it we stayed here the last 5 nights of our 1 month holiday in SA. Dunvegan Lodge is a well situated, well kept, really nice, gorgeous place to stay. You will have a warm welcome from Sylvia & Peter, Jenna and their lovely staff. The jacuzzi, cosy swimmingpool, your own little perfect housy and stunning view makes Dunvegan Lodge a perfect stay to relax and enjoy the warm hospitality. We are so glad we stayed here our last nights. Its really 'home away from home'.

July 2010


Review by Nazley (Cape Town)

Good Day Sylvia
I hope you are enjoying your trip to PE, I thought I would email you just to let you know that my husband and I had such a lovely stay at your guesthouse over the weekend.
Both of us actually did not want to leave, and was sad when our weekend came to and end, but then again all good things come to an end. J From the moment we arrived we were wowed by your stunning property and views, the cottages are lovely, it felt like my home away from home. It was my first visit to Fish Hoek, and I definitely want to return, I think every once in a while one needs a break from the busy life in Cape Town, and I have found my “happy place”. I will definitely return to Dunvegan as soon as I can, and I have and will recommend your lovely lodge to all friends, family and collogues.
Once again thank you for a lovely weekend

January 2010


Review by Stuart & Anne Burns (Lytham, England)

This last visit was as excellant as all the others.The more you gone the harder it becomes when you have to leave.The attention you get from Sylvia & Peter and the staff is great and the lodge is well situated for golf and sightseeing. Some interesting shopping near by.Will definately be going back.

February 2009


Review by Rob & Terry Gooding (Solihull)

After spending the last 12 years every summer in this magnificent home away from home I would strongly reccomend this hotel to couples, families and groups. The owners are wonderful and do their upmost to ensure you have the perfect stay in South Africa. the complex is very convenient to visit all aspects of the Cape and We never had a dull moment there! With perfect views, a wonderful jaccuzzi and modern spacious rooms this is a perfect place to be whilst in Cape Town!

December 2008


Review by Selu Mdlalose (Limerick, Ireland)

Dunvegan Lodge was the recent venue for our family reunion and we can't have imagined a better place to stay. Facilities were excellent, rooms spacious and the service from Sylvia, Pete & staff was first class. It felt just like home - only without the views, esp from jacuzzi! :)
Location was just right - beach nearby and to lots of little shopping treasures in Kalk Bay village a couple minutes drive away.

December 2008


Review by C.J. Mdlalose (Stoney Creek, Canada)

Dunvegan Lodge was absolutely awesome. The Lodge has been well cared for and is well kept. We enjoyed the sheltered pool area, the jacuzzi and just being in Fish Hoek.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.124372221555554
Longitude: 18.43434444411111

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 40km

Children policy
All ages welcome, by arrangement.
We accept Children on request but must point out that with us being on the mountain, we do have lots of stairs to climb and we have a swimming pool. So it is not child proof and it can be a strain on parents who have the full responsibility of watching their small children. We do not have any special extra facilities for children.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00 to 21h00
Check-out by 10h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
September 2000 - 13 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap