Cypress Cottage is rated 5/5 by visitors (11 reviews)

Cypress Cottage

Bed & Breakfast at 3 Voortrek Street, Swellendam, Cape Overberg, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 11 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Cypress Cottage in Swellendam?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 11 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2016


Review by BONHOMME (PARIS (France))

The best place to be in Swellendam!!!
An old but perfect house, great breakfast.

Etienne, Vera and their daughter are wonderful hosts.

My third and I hope not last stay there.

August 2010


Review by Howard And Anne Munro (Glasgow Scotland)

A warm welcome from our host Etienne to his beautiful home. We arrived late in the afternoon and were soon sipping wine provided by our host on our terrace overlooking the garden. Our comfortable accommodation and delicious breakfast made this a lovely stop -over and we regretted that we did not have more time to let us further enjoy Cypress Cottage and to savour this lovely little town.

January 2010


Review by QUILLET (Réunion Island)

C'est probablement le meilleur endroit à Swellendam, Etienne l'hôte de ces lieux est très attentif et amical. Les chambres sont mignonnes spacieuses et confortables. C'est certain, si nous repassons dans le secteur nous retournerons chez Etienne.
Profitez-en pour visiter, De Hoop, merveilleux parc à découvrir absolument.
Anne et Laurent.

October 2009


Review by Agnieszka (Warsaw, Poland)

We arrived quite late ca. 2045 and thought no one would let us in but what a pleasant surprise! Etienne - the attentive host - was there waiting for us: we were given two spacious rooms to choose from, private parking, offered assistance with luggage and complimentary drinks (nice wine and tea) that he delivered personally to the room. The night was cold but we slept on electrically heated matresses - comfortable and cozy. Tasty breakfast was served in quite a setting: lit candles, "Love Story" theme played in the background. We spent some time relaxing at the back garden's pool later in the morning. We enjoyed Etienne's company, warm and welcoming who gave us tips and suggestions on what to see en route to our final destination in Knysna (recommended a couple of nice restos there too). A very positive place with an enchanting host!

August 2009


Review by Rachel (Israel)

The best place to stay! when in Swellendam, I was sorry we could not stay longer... Etienne is the perfect knowledgeable host! thank you!

April 2009


Review by Nicole & Stephen (London)

What an unforgettable place! Ettienne and Vera truly made us feel welcome and went out of their way to help us. We were able to call them at 18:00 and ask if they were able to accommodate us which they did, and had a bowl of soup waiting upon arrival. We have now stayed at Cypress Cottage a few times and every time it feels like a second home. Ettienne's breakfast is the best you will ever get! And the attention to detail is fantastic. Hope to see you soon.

December 2008


Review by Brenda Field (Cape Town)

What a great find. Very attentive host in Etienne who makes every guest feel special - starting off with the complimentary drink delivered to the room on a beautifully laid tray & fresh flowers. Lovely room and garden. I so enjoyed the swimming pool which was kept in immaculate condition. Two nights was just not long enough and I will definitely return to Cypress Cottage next time I visit Swellendam.

December 2008


Review by Louis Du Preez (Vredenburg)

What a nice place.Etiene and vera are good persons.made you feel like it is your own home,and the breakfast was delightful.My wife and i went four a tour on our bike and stayd there for 3 nights,a place where will defnatly stay over again when we pass thru swellendam again.

Louis & Marlene

July 2008


Review by Gerald U. Anita Fröhlich (Bad Schönborn Germany)

Very beautiful House with an perfect interior. It was very lovely and the hosts Etienne and Vera was very friendly and helpfully.
We felt like Prince and Princess. The Breakfast was very deligthfull.

Gerald und Anita

January 2008


Review by L. Murray (Dublin)

Fabulous spot. Lots of colonial character. Great rooms. Incredible service.
Kind & helpful hospitality for the owners.
It rained for the whole trip so Swellendom didn't leave a great impression on us but the hospitality certainly made up for it. If you are looking for a place to stay in Swellendom, stay here!

November 2007


Review by E Van Der Plas (Amsterdam)

We have spent a week in this excellent guesthouse, and we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and the surroundings. The room was very nice, very suitable for a family with a small child, as we were. The breakfast was great, the hosts were extremely friendly, and we think that once the swimming pool is ready (probably already) it would be hard to break away at all.

We can recommend it to everybody who comes to South Africa to enjoy the nature reserves, the atmosphere.

Emiel van der Plas

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.016747
Longitude: 20.447793

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 200km
George Airport - 200km

Children policy
Children of all ages welcome. Cots and sleeper couches available. Family suites available. Baby-sitting can be arranged as well as dinners on request.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Exceptions by arrangement

Listed on
October 2002 - 11 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap