Carter's Lodge is rated 5/5 by visitors (9 reviews)

Carter's Lodge

Bed & Breakfast at 54 Armstrong Avenue, La Lucia, 4051, Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 9 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Carter's Lodge in La Lucia?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Umhlanga Coastline.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 9 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2013


Review by Mpumi (Johannesburg)

A home away from home, Carol is absolutley fantastic and the same can be said about her staff. We had an excellent stay, I was a bit sick though but Carol called a doctor and booked an appointment for me and took me to the doctor personally, now that is what I call service! The breakfast was awesome and the rooms too very quiet and tranquil. We'll definitley go back there :)

December 2009


Review by Christie (Midrand, Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa)

Dear Carol,

Just wanted to say thank you thank you thank you for making our December holiday so special. We were spoilt rotten by your staff and yourself and were able to relax completely. It was a true pleaseure staying at your guest house and you catered for everything making us feel so papmpered. I will definately be passing on your details to all who will be holidaying in Umhlanga/La Lucia. Like I said to you while we were there by you "I think the rest of Umhlanga needs to come for Services lessons at Carters Lodge cause you guys out shone eveyone!" Thanks again for making our stay so special. Kind Regards
Christie & Paul
27th December 2009 - 5th January 2010

January 2009


Review by Pritesh Chiiba (Johannesburg)

Always a pleasure for us coming here. This is what we call "Home away from Home". Keep it up and you'll see us always.
Niral, Pretesh, Ajay

January 2009


Review by Kobus & Sandy Boolsen (Middelburg, Mpumulanga)

Carol, Thank you so much for you hospitality. My wife and I needed a break and this was exactly what we were looking for. The accommodation was great, staff friendly and the breakfast splendid. We will be back shortly, hopefully this time with the rest of our extended family.

Kobus & Sandy

November 2008


Review by Jerry Kaapu (Sandton)

I always feel at home at Carter's Lodge, away from home. It's my other home in Durban. There is no better place and your staff are outstanding and go all out to make us feel at home. Keep up this nice home. Lovely.

November 2008


Review by Karen Jacka (Cape Town)

I have been staying here for 2yrs now for business but today is my last visit as I have resigned and relocating overseas, but want to say that Carter's will always be HIGHLY recommended to friends and colleagues - your place is Classy & Stylish and your staff warm and friendly. Keep up the good work!!!.... and hopefully I can return for pleasure not business.

July 2008


Review by John & Jackie Walker (Springs)

A fabulous place to stay to chill out. Excellent breakfast, friendly owner and staff. We'll be back !!

March 2008


Review by Pranitha (Johannesburg)

Dear Carol

Thanks to you and your staff for your hospitality, my stay was very short, I only wish I could have stayed longer and spent more time at Carters lodge instead of running off in the morning and returning late at night.You have a beautiful place there, you and your staff are very friendly and pleasant, I will definitely return for a holiday.

Many Thanks

February 2008


Review by Zaneen Bryant (England)

Hi Carol , We returned home safe and sound on Sunday afternoon , I just wanted to thank you for a lovely stay, we both really enjoyed ourselves , thank you for your hospitality, you were most kind running us about ,you and your staff are very attentive and friendly, we were very spoilt, the rooms were done lovely and were very comfortable, the grounds and pool were really lovely to relax in, we really liked the area and enjoyed this part of our stay, im sure we may return again, I will be sending my highly recommendations on trip adviser review site, many thanks
Zaneen & Grant
24th Feb 08- 28th Feb 08

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -29.75563888888889
Longitude: 31.064555555555554

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 30km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on
February 2004 - 9 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap