Bushwillow Collection is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (71 reviews)

Bushwillow Collection

4 Star Game Lodge at Kuleni Game Park, Hluhluwe, 3960, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is

Excellent

from 71 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Bushwillow Collection in Hluhluwe?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Zululand.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 71 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

August 2015

Excellent

Review by Daniela & Paul Haas (Germany)

We really enjoyed our stay!! The staff is really helpful and we had a lovely dinner. It was a nice experience without TV and WIFI and only the nature and the private atmosphere. We recommend the spider walk and the morning walk! We hope to return soon.
Ps. Thank for helping us plan our activities_Stayed in the BOUTIQUE: Red Ivory chalet

June 2015

Very Good

Review by Mr & Mrs Kriel (South Africa)

What an amazing experience! we really enjoyed our stay here at Bushwillow. WE hope to return soon and appreciate the spectacular service and wonderfull informative excursions arranged for us. Thank you_Stayed in the BOUTIQUE: Yellowwood chalet

June 2015

Excellent

Review by Chris & Lana (South Africa)

We had a lovely time! So quite! And even though the Bush was dry it was magical.
If you book directly you get an complimentary bush walk which is very interesting! The stars are beautiful out in the bush. We will definitely do the stargazing next time. You're friendly & Hospitable tips were much appreciated. Hope to see you soon_Stayed in the BOUTIQUE: Yellowwood chalet

April 2015

Excellent

Review by David Fraser And Children Kristin & Sarah (South Africa)

Than you for the most de-stressing, peaceful few days. This is the perfect spot. You have created a gem. Next time the whole family will be with us. Ryan: the kids loved your spider tour - it was magic!
Stayed in the BOUTIQUE: Green Monkey Orange

March 2015

Excellent

Review by Bas & Leonarda (Dutch)

Thank you all very much. We had a wonderful time in a wonderful place with wonderful people and GREAT food. And thanks for making us happy, you all did.... especially on my birthday!
Stayed at the LODGE: Tambotie

January 2015

Very Good

Review by Martin & Andrea Mueller (Germany)

Thanks so much for this very best service, excellent cooking and romantic dinners. The spider walk with big and small spiders and scorpions was great- and then that python and the bushbabies.
We will be back!
Stayed in the LODGE: Marula

January 2015

Excellent

Review by Stephen & Alison Brown (Scotland)

The welcome - warm & friendly.
Accommodation - Beautiful
Dinner & Breakfast - Delicious
Location- Perfect
Spider safari- Not to be missed!
Complimentary Bush walk - Fascinating
Our overall experience was awesome! Thank you to each and everyone of you.
Stayed in the BOUTIQUE: Red Ivory

December 2014

Excellent

Review by Eileen Tozer (UK)

We had a wonderful time at Bushwillow. Everyone was so nice, the room was beautiful , and the food was great. Thanks so much

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Stefan & Leeanne (Cape Town)

Thank you very much for an awesome stay, the place was peaceful and tranquil. We left there already wanting to come back.

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Nicola & Peter (UK)

A wonderful but all too short stay. Thank you all for your care and expertise.

November 2014

Excellent

Review by Marco & Jessica (Netherlands)

Lovely stay at Bushwillow. Great food and great excursions in the park. Jana, Jabu, Victoria, Nothile and Ryan thank you so much for all your good care. For sure we will go back.

October 2014

Very Good

Review by Dirk (Belgium)

What a magical place to stay!! Keep up the good work!
Thanks for everything.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Rudi (Australia)

The team at Bushwillow made our stay such a wonderful time, we would love to come back any time.
100% service
100% Food
+ 100% Helpful to our needs

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Catherine & Mike (Switzerland)

Dear Bushwillow Team!
We spend a week in your beautiful Green Monkey orange(Boutique)and we had a great time. We hope to come back one day and will speak to our friends about this place. Thanks for everything.

October 2014

Excellent

Review by Phil Trew (Wegbridge)

We have had the most wonderful stay at Bushwillow, the staff including Jabu and Victoria made us feel very welcome and the choice of food was excellent. Thanks to Jana, Liz and Julian for organising our stay, the game drives were fantastic, although Kuleni Park was great in order to see Giraffes, Zebra etc. We would highly recommend the Elephant Interaction which was a great experience. Once again thanks to everyone at Bushwillow.

September 2014

Very Good

Review by Klaus & Monica (Germany)

Thank you so much for a beautiful holiday at Bushwillow. It's a nice place with many animals. All the best wishes for you and your family's. Thanks for everything, it was a perfect stay.

September 2014

Very Good

Review by Schechner Family (Germany)

Many thanks for the fantastic days at bushwillow! excellent food, thank you jabu. It was just perfect

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Martin & Charlotte (Germany)

We booked to stay 2nights and we ended up staying for 5nights in that beautiful place. Thank you very much for the great service and hospitality, the rich packed breakfast + lunch, recommendations for trips, the awesome tour to Mabibi with Ukuhamba guiding, the spider walk and the whole bush experience!

September 2014

Excellent

Review by Ronald & Yvonne (Netherlands)

We had a great stay at Bushwillow. The staff was friendly & efficient and compliments for Jabu and Victoria- chefs

August 2014

Very Good

Review by Coetzee Party (Hermanus)

"Stunning" and what a privilege to enjoy such beauty and peace. Many thanks for a lovely time spend in Marula and the exquisite food! Special thanks for all your friendliness.

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Lieve & Wim (Netherlands)

Thank you for the wonderful stay in Tambotie room. We loved the giraffes that passed our house and the warthogs that came to visit us.. The spider walk was also fantastic!

August 2014

Excellent

Review by Matt & Reluca (USA)

We really enjoyed our stay and visit with all. The rooms are beautiful and so private. We loved being amongst the trees and bush. Food was yummy and enjoyed the walk. A lovely time. Thank you

July 2014

Very Good

Review by Michelle Benatar (JHB)

Lovely hospitality, picturesque location and well-appointed accommodation. The staff are friendly and helpful. We will certainly come again.

July 2014

Very Good

Review by Birgitte Roe (Norway)

We have had a lovely stay, thank you so much! Great place and very helpful staff. Hope to come back some day!

July 2014

Very Good

Review by Noack Family (Germany)

Thank you for this great and peaceful days! We had a wonderful time. We loved the food, you spoiled us! You made us feel special and we are sure to return.
Also thanks to Ryan: The spider walk was amazing!

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Kov & Holly (Durban)

Thank you so much for such an amazing stay. We really had an amazing time. The food was superb, thank you Jabu & Victoria. The service was also so amazing. We loved the family personal way the lodge is run & together with that we felt like royalty which was awesome. Thank you! Kov had an amazing birthday, thanks to you all. Hope to see you again.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Cara Andriunas (England)

Thank you so much for looking after us, we started our honeymoon in style. We've had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back. The ladies cooking is fantastic! All the best for the future, you're doing an amazing job.

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Marnie & Russel (Cape Town)

What a wonderful stay in Yellowwood. Thank you all so much for making us feel so welcome and at home. The small touches really makes a difference and Jabu's cooking is superb.
We will definitely be back!

July 2014

Excellent

Review by Trevor & Lynn (Cape Town)

Many thanks for a wonderful stay- we loved our yellow bungalow- so stylish and yet so simple. It's fantastic what you achieved. The staff were great!- next time we would love to experience Jabu's meals. We also loved Ryan's walks. The spider walk is sheer brilliance! next time frogs and butterflies. The detailed information via email from Liz on what to do in the area was also much appreciated.
The plan is to return....

June 2014

Very Good

Review by Fabio (Italy)

"People are strange, when you are a stranger" (J.Morrison)
Not at Bushwillow!! Friendly accommodation, wonderful place, quite. Love it.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Henk Jooste (Nelspruit)

An absolute MAGIC experience. Peace and quite at a very high level! Loved everything: accommodation, food, hospitality and animal viewing. Hope to return soon...

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Greve Family (Germany)

Listen & see!
Thank you all for the great and peaceful days. It was a great pleasure to be so close to the animals. We had an interesting night tour with Ryan looking for spiders.
The service was brilliant.

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Sjaak & Anita (Masera, Lesotho)

Dear Jabu, Victoria, Nothile, Jana & Ryan

We thank you very much for the great hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the lodge.
We surely recommend all the visitors the early morning walk with Ryan. We did it two out of our three mornings, and could have done it all mornings. Ryan is very knowledgeable on plants, trees, insects, birds, animals, you name it! A good start to the day!
Again thanks for all!

June 2014

Excellent

Review by Stefan Van Der Meijs (Netherlands)

We had a great time there. Learned lots about spiders, lovely house and staff.

May 2014

Very Good

Review by Rod & Liz (Durban)

Fantastic! We enjoyed our 3 days in Yellowwood.
We will be back

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Walt, Natalie & Dennis (Netherlands)

Our stay in Green Monkey Orange was amazing!
We loved the people, the bush and the beautiful flora & Fauna. The bush walk with Ryan we can highly recommend. We learned a lot and it was fun to do.
The staff we special thank and compliment for their good care and kindness. Liz you did a great job with everything you do and we hope to be able to visit this beautiful place again

May 2014

Excellent

Review by Jacqui & Family (Cape Town)

Thank you for a warm welcome and friendly staff, we felt at home and the accommodation was very comfortable with everything we could possible need.
Beautiful place, enjoyed the walks and all the animals.
We will have to make a plan to be back very soon.
(Stayed in Yellowwood)

April 2014

Very Good

Review by Eijer-Spycher Family (Switzerland)

It was a few busy but also relaxing days at Bushwillow cottage. Busy because we went off early everyday to visit one of the park or taking walks in Kuleni park. Jana took us to False bay where we got a lot of information about trees, birds and life in general in Kwazulu natal. The cottage and its surroundings are extraordinary, imagining zebra's, warthog and Nyalas walking through your backyard.

March 2014

Very Good

Review by Terry & Bonnie (Johannesburg)

Thank you once again for all the little things that made our stay perfect. Awesome place, tranquil, peaceful, and yet chic in the wilderness. Awesome walks with the birds & animals! Thank you to the team for a good job well done!!

February 2014

Very Good

Review by Gibbins Family (UK)

The combination of a lovely well appointed lodge in a setting like this has made for a great few days there. We enjoyed walking around the park and seeing the animals- including the kudu and giraffe, and the resident warthog.. Also a great base for visiting other local attractions. The advice from Jana was really helpful. Nothile looked after the cottage well, and was very discreet.
All in all, a wonderful place to stay, and we were sad to leave.

February 2014

Excellent

Review by Wright Family (UK)

Having stayed in many game lodges throughout SA and Namibia, we agree that this is definitely one of the best. We stayed at Bushwillow cottage and we loved being outdoors enjoying the sights, sounds and smells of the bush, rounding each day relaxing in the wonderful spa bath followed by a braai. The cottage is beautifully appointed and cared for by Nothile very discretely. Thanks to Jana & Liz for also making our stay special.

Its also worth noting that the activities we booked through Bushwillow seemed superior to the others on offer. We benefitted from the local knowledge and I would encourage others to book through Jana/Bushwillow as we really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks!

January 2014

Excellent

Review by Till & Marena (RSA)

Dear Liz & team

Thank you for a lovely stay.
We will be back soon.

December 2013

Excellent

Review by Paul & Sandy (Holland)

We were the first guest to stay in this beautiful cottage. We enjoyed the cottage to the max, the abundant wildlife, the help and information from Jana the hostess and the lovely smile each day from Nothile. We had mommy warthog visiting us every night with her babies. We woke up with giraffes walking around the house and had sooo many sightings of antelopes and zebra's. A true nature experience. We hope to be back one day!
Thanks to all!

November 2013

Very Good

Review by Chuck & Kandy (Califirnia, USA)

We've had a very relaxing time there at the end of our first week in Africa. Thank you to Liz's hospitality and her staff Jabu & Victoria!! We hope to come back.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Evelyn & Ton (Netherlands)

Wy hebben geweldig genoten van ons verblyf in dere mooie lodge en jullie service! hef was een groot feest. Alles goed en liefdevol. Thank you very much!

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Paul & Cynthia (NZ)

Thank you so much for a wonderful quiet bush experience. The food was excellent, the staff were all lovely and the room felt like our home for our 3 day stay. Could happily have stayed longer.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Tim & Marieke (Netherlands)

Thank you very very much for making our honeymoon here a great experience at Bushwillow. The girls took very good care of us and their cooking was fantastic, it dint matter what they made, everything was nice. Also the whole ambiance at the park was great.

November 2013

Excellent

Review by Calum & Rachel (UK)

Many Thanks for our wonderful stay at Bushwillow. Food was amazing. The girls are a great help and very friendly, and a very helpful manager. We had a great time. Love

October 2013

Very Good

Review by Paul & Judy (Tenby, UK)

Thanks for making us so welcome. It was so relaxing and the food and service was excellent.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Vincent & Esther (Netherlands)

Dear Bushwillow
We loved our stay. The area is beautiful, the food was excellent and the people were so friendly! We hope to be back some day.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Paul & Judy (Tenby,UK)

Thanks for making us so welcome.
It was so relaxing and the food & service excellent.

October 2013

Excellent

Review by Chris & Rosey (UK)

Thank you for a lovely stay, great food and hospitality. The room was lovely and we really enjoyed our bird walk with Jana. Hope to see you again sometime.
Thank you

September 2013

Very Good

Review by Malevu Family (Empangeni)

What a wonderful stay we had. All our expectations were met. Jabu's food was divine. Thank you so much to the rest of the team especially Jana who booked all those exciting activities for us. Well done guys.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Yan & Tercia (Cape Town)

Thank you for a wonderful discovery in a hidden Gem! Thank you too, Jana, Jabu and Victoria for all your special attention and Liz for you patience. Too little time to see all there is to see so we will be back and tell others.

August 2013

Excellent

Review by Jonathan & Tracey (JHB)

What a wonderful, relaxing break! Jabu and Victoria you looked after us so well- every need was taken care of. Gabriel and Dominic miss the cooking and cuddles! Jana, thanks for the great advise on what to see while we were there. We hope to see you again. Many thanks

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Rodger & Linda (JHB)

The most memorable and relaxing stay that will be treasured for a long time. A very special place indeed. We ate like Kings. Thank you to Jabu and Victoria for everything, you are an asset to this beautiful place.

July 2013

Excellent

Review by Gordon & Stephane (Ireland)

What a wonderful place! Amazing service, ambience and nature. Beautiful people which gave us a feeling of never wanting to leave!!! Thank you Jabu, Victoria and Jana! You are great.- Stephane

I agree! also attention to detail everywhere from architecture to food & service was second hand to none. You must eat there!! I will never eat anywhere else again. Thank you lovely people- Gordon

June 2013

Very Good

Review by Raymond & Loise (Durban)

WOW what a wonderful time we have had at Bushwillow. Jabu's wonderful meals were outstanding and she is a true Gem. The wild life was superb, we had giraffe right at our doorstep, it was magnificent!! This time at Bushwillow was very special to us and will always be remembered.

We will be back.

Ps. Thanks for making our anniversary so special we really loved it so much.

May 2013

Excellent

Review by Ray & Angie (Plettenbergbay)

The whole experience was fabulous, wonderful setting, extremely friendly & helpful tourist advice, the highlight being those superb dinners! Many thanks to everyone especially to Jabu & Victoria for making it a very special stay- highlight of our road trip! We hope to see you all again soon.

April 2013

Excellent

Review by Simon & Cayli (Australia)

Thank you for an amazing 3 nights. Straight from the plane to the serenity of the African bush! Bushwillow you exceeded all expectations. The personalised service is 5 stars and we will definitely be back.
Thanks for everything.

March 2013

Very Good

Review by Fleur & Jasper (Netherlands)

Very beautiful place, nice and quite! The staff is wonderful. We had a lovely stay. Thank you

March 2013

Excellent

Review by Pierre & Maryke (Nelspruit)

Wonderful 2 nights, we enjoyed every minute of our honeymoon here.
Thank you for the warm welcome & awesome service!

February 2013

Excellent

Review by Paul & Liz (UK)

Lovely place & Staff. Thank you very much & Hope we see you again.

January 2013

Very Good

Review by Els & Ed (Netherlands)

It has been a fantastic stay. the breakfast and dinners were top quality. Worth a star from the Michelin guide book on restaurants.
Accommodation sublime and well kept.
Thank you for the beautiful days.

November 2012

Excellent

Review by Cornelia Schreyer (Germany)

What a wonderful place! We travel through South Africa since 20 years and had many good and excellent accommodation. But only few had this special atmosphere that makes you dream of it, once you get home. Peaceful, adventurous, exciting, luxurious, bush-feeling and, and, and.... We loved our bedrooms with wonderful sights of the surrounding. We were spoilt by Jabu and Victoria with their friendliness and excellent service. We experienced giraffes standing in front of us. Wow, they are tall!!! We had unforgettable braai evenings. All of us hope that we can return one time.

September 2012

Excellent

Review by Lyndall Jordaan (Norway)

Everything was perfect. Great walks & service from Jabu. Will definitely be back when in the area.

August 2012

Excellent

Review by Schaffer Family (Durban, London, L.A.)

What a good choice we made. Fantastic 4 star Lodge in natural surroudings, private and tastefully decorated and we chose the self-catering option as we were 3 couples and had exclusive use of the Lodge. Our family came out from U.K. and U.S.A. and thoroughly enjoyed themselves and will not forget this experience in a hurry especially the visits by the giraffes, warthogs, bucks etc... Bookings were made for us for the elephant inter-action, Game tour and we also visited the Cheetah Project all of these are within an hour's drive away. Thank you LIz and Julian for a wonderful stay, we will return.

July 2012

Excellent

Review by Carolyn Moulton (USA)

Thanks so much. Had a lovely time. Amazing walking to the room and seeing all the game and giraffes. The kitchen ladies are wonderful and the food was great. Thanks for making it a memorable trip.

April 2009

Excellent

Review by Dave Adamson (London, UK)

We spent 11 days at Bushwillow over Easter on a self catering basis with teenage children. Fabulous luxury accommodation and total privacy. If you want to get away from it all in total comfort- this is the place. Waking up to find giraff, zebra, antelope and warthog grazing in front of your deck was magical. Despite being in the middle of no-where we were always only a phone call away from Liz who always reacted to our every request and Jabu our maid would appear magically in the morning and tend to our every need in such a discreet manner that we hardly knew she was there but we certainly appreciated everything she did for us. Yes there were plenty of insects and the occasional power cut but it all added to the feeling of being away from civilisation.

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Tanya Smith (London)

My husband and I spent 3 amazing nights at Bushwillow for our honeymoon last month and I can truely say that our experience was magical. I grew up in South Africa and have been to a number of game parks in the past, whilst my husband is English and this was his first trip to South Africa and to a game lodge. My brothe and sister-in-law actually got engaged at Bushwillow a few years back and highly recommended us to stay there. We searched around on the internet a lot and to be quite honest Bushwillow is great value for money. It is a convenient drive from Durban so we hired a car and there is not off road vehicle required to get there. Access into Kuleni is secure and safe. We were warmly welcomed by our hosts on arrival and were delighted to be told that we were the only ones there over our 3 nights stay as towards the end of March is going into out of season so definitly a good time of year to go.

I was really blown away to see just how beautiful the lodge was, all wooden furnishing in the dinning/relaxation area, onto a open wooden deck with splash pool with lounger chairs overlooking the wilderness. Our room was just a long a little deck, and completely surrounded by bush. The windows are full length and the mosquito mesh see through which meant you could see the bush around you at all time making it fee; as if you are litterally living in the bush and no one ever comes past your room which makes it so conveniently private so there is no need to close the blinds or curtains!

The bed was possibly the biggest we'd ever seen, although I would recommend asking or bringing an extra pillow each. Lovely air con kept us cool at all times and the room is cleaned daily by Jabu who hosted us throughout our stay. The bathroom shower is huge and again like you're taking a shower in the bush. Beautiful african features throughout the lodge give it a special touch. They also gave us a bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon which we really enjoyed!

Lizelle who managed the lodge was excellent and booked all our game drives and helped us with anything we needed as well as gave us great advice on what to see and do.

It was so peaceful there at all times and it really allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves. We ate all our meals just the two of us on the deck for breakfast and dinner. The food was really lovely. We would suggest bringing your own snacks for lunch, there is a fridge that you can use there, or just drive into the local town 10 min away as one can get peckish in between breakfast and dinner.

Our game drives were so amazing, we had a guide and land rover all to ourselves which was such a blessing, this was booked by Lizelle with an outside company. The hluhluwe game reserve is a 20minute drive away, you could do a game drive or as many as you like in your own vehicle but we decided to treat ourselves to two - one early morning and one late afternnon when weather is a little cooler and game viewing is the best.. Some of the other game lodges have there own game drives but they were packed with people in them whilst we enjoyed a more personal experience.

We had so many close encounters were the Big 5, the park is just so beautiful and we were really humbled to experience game that close in their natural environment. We sadly didn't see any lion, but its just depends as they are normally spotted at least 3 times a week, but we were really blessed to see wild dog of which there are only 40 in the park as they are an endangered species so that was something really special!

Overall I would definitly recommend staying at Bushwillow to anyone, we most certainly hope to return. The service and hospitality was excellent, the cost was very reasonable, the game viewing was fantastic and the accomodation was beautiful!

Thanks to bushwillow for such a memorable honeymoon stay!

March 2009

Excellent

Review by Will Edgcumbe (Durban)

My wife and I stayed here for five nights on honeymoon and it was simply amazing! The lodge is beautiful and comfortable and the service is brilliant - we were the only two people staying at the lodge, which meant we had absolute privacy. Not only is the lodge beautifully situated, but the price is reasonable, the hospitality is warm and the food is wonderful. We can't recommend Bushwillow enough!

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -27.905172
Longitude: 32.355482

Closest airport(s)
Durban International - 250km
Richard's Bay Airport - 130km

Children policy
Bushwillow Cottage: Children of all ages are welcome under adult supervision.
Bushwillow Lodge & Bushwillow Boutique: Children 8 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
February 2003 - 71 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap