Basil's Boma is rated 5/5 by visitors (20 reviews)

Basil's Boma

Guest House at Farm S82, Skeerpoort, Hartbeespoort Dam, Bojanala Region, North West Province, South Africa . Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average travellers' rating is


from 20 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Basil's Boma in Skeerpoort?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Hartbeespoort Dam.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 20 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2016


Review by Bernice & Willem (Benoni)

Wat n onvergeetlike naweek, die rustigheid en gasvryheid van Basil & Joannne. Sal hierdie plekkie beslis aanbeveel vir enigeen wat net wil wegkom van die stad se lawaai.

Dankie Basil & Joanne.......sien jul gou weer!

April 2016


Review by Khulekani (Glen Austin)

If you want a home away from home Basils Boma is for you. Peace, Serenity, Nature, calmness, etc the list goes on it was wonderful.

Thank you very much Joanne & basil

March 2016


Review by Modiegi Mashigoane (Kempton Park)

We spent the most amazing long weekend "Baecation" at the Basil's Boma,we stayed in the Potter's Shed which was recently renovated...This place is breathtaking,peaceful and just a stone's throw away from the dam, the cable way and snake and animal park just to name a few places...We had the pleasure of meeting Joanne the owner of this beautiful place,who is just an amazing woman.I can't put in to words how much we enjoyed our stay there...

Can't wait to go back to that magic place.

Thanks Basil & Joanne for an amazing stay

March 2016


Review by Koos Moolman (Krugersdorp)

What a fantastic and relaxing weekend it was. Took my wife for a "baby-moon" holiday, last weekend away alone before our first child is born. They have met and over exceeded on every possible expectation from hospitality, friendliness of staff, layout of the boma and peacefulness. Even with assisting me with arranging a surprise full body message for my wife whereby they setup the message bed on the deck of the boma for her. This was a unforgettable weekend and will we surely return again. The breakfast was beyond compare and more then enough to satisfy the hunger of any man hands down.

March 2016


Review by Koos Moolman (Johannesburg)

By far one of the best getaway weekends we had. Took my wife for a "baby-moon". Absolutely worth every cent without any form of argument. Peaceful, secluded, friendly service, exceptional breakfast, exquisite views all around the Boma with nothing to disturb the silence other than the crackling of the firewood at nights and the melody of the winds through bush and birds around you. Will recommend to anyone searching for a break from the city or society and will most certainly return again in the near future. Thanks Joanne & Basil for the being the perfect hosts.

December 2015


Review by Glen Erasmus (Pretoria)

What a fantastic weekend away. Basil and Joanne made us feel very welcome. We totally relaxed and even stayed a little longer than we should have. Thank you Basil and Joanne, we will be back, that's for sure.

November 2015


Review by Joleen (Johannesburg)

It was an excellent stay! We were received with warmth, treated like royalty, the food was awesome!
A great and peaceful break away!
By far the best place we've visited.

October 2015


Review by Elmie Wolmarans (Potchefstroom)

We stayed in the new and upgraded Shed for the weekend...still felt 1 day too short. There are so much to experience and do that you feel 2 days are just too short. The splash pool and outside shower is one of a kind with a view beyond compare. We are leaving a part of our hearts there!!!

September 2015


Review by Cindy Grove (Springs)

Awesome awesome awesome. We felt like royalties!!!! LOVELY out of the catalogue accomodation.....Genuine Hospitality not found easily now days and breakfasts out of this world...(to be waited on was a real treat for us). Joanne keep doing what you doing. Wishing you showers of blessings to continue what you doing.....We will be back soon. Basil and Cindy Grove. We will be recommending you to family and friends.

August 2015


Review by Harmans & Nadya (Haarlem The Netherlands)

This is perfect!
We were looking for a quit place close to the city, our stay here was great.
Basil & Joanne and the staff are great, the are the perfect hosts.
The breakfast prepared by Joanne is better than we ever tasted and the Picnic was wonderfull. We had lot's of plans to explore the area but we enjoyed the terras and pool so much that we only left the lodge for a few hours.

We will be back,
Thank you so much!!

January 2015


Review by Taryn Bok (Johannesburg)

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of celebrating my one year anniversary at Basil's Boma over the weekend. The service was excellent and I was pleasantly surprised by the host's attention to detail. The breakfast was exquisitely presented and delicious especially the fresh, homemade crumpets with cream and jam. I'll be dreaming about them for weeks to come. Waking up to the breathtaking view of the Magaliesburg mountains was a definite highlight as well as our Sunday morning breakfast picnic. What a wonderful start to 2015! We will definitely be back.

November 2014


Review by Vernon (Pretoria)

What a amazing place to forget all your worries and just get away. Basil shed was very relaxing and neat. Amazing host Joanne & Basil and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back.

August 2014


Review by Sebastian & Jess (Johannesburg)

What a fantastic place to just get away from it all!! Joanne, Basil, and all the staff we very welcoming and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be coming back when its a bit warmer to try the plunge pool out.

April 2014


Review by Meera (JHB)

Basil Boma was a beauty and gorgeous trip away. It is nestled in the and amongst the mountains and nature. We have an absolutely amazing stay. Thank you to Jonanne and Basil for there warmth and hospitalility. We will definately be visiting Basil Boma again.

March 2013


Review by Agnieszka Van Veen (London)

Basil's Boma is a little gem set amongst the gorgeous South African wilderness. It is a beautiful, tranquil place, full of character and elegance at the same time. We had most wonderful time and would definitely come back one day. Thank you Joanne and Basil for putting your heart and soul into creating this beautiful place. You are indeed truelly wonderful people.

December 2012


Review by Francois And Candice (Roodepoort)

Basil's Boma was exactly what we dreamed of when we decided to spend the weekend away on our Honeymoon. Joanne and Basil made us feel right at home from the start, and really spoiled us with the wonderful food at breakfasts. The experience was totally amazing and we will go back anytime. It's the perfect place to unwind and just relax, anytime of the year. The Boma is truly beautiful and what you see of the pictures on the website is really not even close to the real thing. You would have to experience it for yourself.

October 2012


Review by Melissa (Johannesburg)

We were looking for something to get away from the city and came across Basilís boma. As soon as we walked in the place I knew we would have a wonderful week end. Two chairs were set onto a balconey overlooking the bush, a good book at hand, my hubby by my side and a glass of bubbly: I was enchanted ! And there is a lovely private pool to cool off and a shower in nature which makes it very special and romantic. (Also shower inside). I felt so relax it was almost disorientating to get back to the city. Basil and Joanne are lovely hosts and will make your stay very special. I will definitly go again.

September 2012


Review by Bets Van Wyk (Krugersdorp)

Basil's Boma is something out of this world. We stayed for 2 nights but would have loved to stay for another night. The accommodation is luxurious in a rustic way, very comfortable, lovely bed linen, secluded and very private with a beautiful view. Joanne is an excellent cook and her breakfast and picnic basket were different from the usual and tastefully presented. Basil and Joanne are the perfect hosts and very special people. We will definitely be back.

June 2012


Review by Brian Neilson (Johannesburg)

We have rarely relaxed as quickly and as deeply, in a too-short weekend spent in a place that seems a thousand miles from the city. Not to mention being spoiled rotten. Thanks Joanne and Basil for creating this getaway so close to Johannesburg! (Great mountain biking at Van Gaalens too.)

May 2012


Review by Steyn (Pretoria)

Very nice stay with a awesome breakfast.Peacefull and quiet,just the place to enjoy the bush and peacefull surroundings. Basil and Joanne are the true hosts to compliment a wonderfull stay. They will surely see us again.

Tonight From
per unit, per night

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -25.742210
Longitude: 27.847297

Closest airport(s)
Lanseria Airport - 25km
OR Tambo International - 80km

Children policy
Children 15 years and older are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 10h30

Listed on
December 2011 - 20 Reviews has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German. © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap