Avoca Lodge is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (16 reviews)

Avoca Lodge

Guest House / Self Catering at 148/1 Avoca Road, Nortons Home Estate, Benoni, East Rand, Johannesburg, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 16 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to Avoca Lodge in Benoni?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to East Rand.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 16 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

September 2015


Review by Nikki Mommen (Pietermaritzburg)

The stay at Avoca Lodge was really good. I stayed in the flat and it was spacious and very comfortable. Michelle and her staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good.

Will definitely stay here again.

September 2015


Review by Nicky Unter-Smith (Estcourt KZN SA)

We really enjoyed our stay. the open space and quiet was a real bonus.. The breakfeasts were wow all home grown and fresh.
thank you so much ....hope to stay again next year for the next conference....

August 2015

Very Good

Review by Anita (Phalaborwa)

I really had an awesome stay at Avoca Lodge. The room that I stayed in was spacious and very comfortable. Michelle and her personnel are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was awesome.

I especially liked peaceful and quiet atmosphere.

I will definitely stay there again.

July 2015


Review by Fred (Durban)

What a wonderful surprise I cannot say how welcome we have been made and the level of service WOW WOW and not to mention the amazing Farm style breakfast each morning! I have stayed in many guest houses and Avoca Lodge will be on the list again :) thank you for everything!

June 2015

Very Good

Review by Marelna Graupner (Bray)

Warm, friendly and homely atmosphere. Feels like old friends visiting

May 2015


Review by Samkeliso Ngozo (Swaziland )

Mitchelle and her partner are wonderful and gracious hosts. The breakfast is superb and very filling. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are quite comfortable. You will truly enjoy your stay.

February 2015


Review by Kyle Denn (Lake City)

Great hosts, very kind and willing to help out in any way possible. Had excellent meals and a beautifully maintained area to look out on during meals.

February 2015


Review by Blaize (Johannesburg )

Friendly and excellent service effort.

February 2015


Review by Candice (London)

My husband, two children and I spent a week at Avoca Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Michelle made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and always so friendly. We loved staying in the cottage and enjoyed the pool and grounds which was beautiful! The breakfast was delicious and served to us on the outside terrace overlooking the grounds! I would highly recommend Avoca Lodge.

We will definitely be back!

January 2015


Review by Ntombifuthi Mxotyelwa (Durban)

We spend two nights and the place is beautiful, clean and the service was very good. Michelle gave us a warm welcome, its home away from home, she is very good with her guest. I wouldn't mind spending week there. I love the place...and the food served with a smile. Thank you Michelle

December 2014


Review by John Newham (Swaffham, Norfolk UK)

We spent two nights here just after Christmas 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Avoca Lodge. The breakfasts were great and the room clean and comfortable. Michelle was most obliging with everything and she also went out of her way to help us with detailed instructions on how to get to our destination.

November 2014

Very Good

Review by Amy De Villiers (Cape Town)

Wonderful service (airport and venue drop-off/pick up, individual meals, all at times that suit the guest) and clean, comfortable accommodation made the stay restful and convenient. Excellent food and lovely surroundings. Friendly and helpful staff and hostess.

September 2014


Review by Julie Wolmarans (Bloemfontein)

It was a fantastic stay, comfortable and clean and the were so assisting with our pet we brought in from America and needed a stay over for him aswell.

Will go back anytime

August 2014


Review by Graham Berndt (Cape Town)

I have stayed there for the best part of 6 months - usually from Sundays to Thursdays - I have always felt that Avoca is home away from home in Cape Town. I would highly recommend the Lodge for a short or long term stay.
Great Location, wonderful hosts and great views.

Thanks to Michelle and her team.

July 2008


Review by Jen Whitting (Washington)

What a wonderful establishment. My bags were lost and Michelle sorted me out with overnight cloths and toothbrush. I felt so much at home and safe after the airport stress's. I would highly recommend Avoca Lodge to any person and my partner has stayed there on route to Madagascar.
The views in the morning are unbelievable.

April 2008


Review by Sofie Beya (Cincinnati - USA)

I arrived in Johannesburg at Easter Time from Sudan where I did voluntary work with orphans. I was welcomed with open ams and being the only guest there I was invited into their home constantly. I loved the solitude of my room and after being in Sudan it helped clear my emotions and set me up to carry on in my quest. Thank you so much Michelle, Trevor and the girls for making my Easter in SA a memoriable one. God bless you

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -26.105541666666667
Longitude: 28.315544444444445

Closest airport(s)
OR Tambo International - 12km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2009 - 16 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap