A Hilltop Country Retreat is rated 5/5 by SA-Venues.com visitors (17 reviews)

A Hilltop Country Retreat

Self Catering at 7 Bergsig Avenue, Swellendam, 6740, Cape Overberg, Western Cape, South Africa. Show on Map

Have Your Say

The average SA-Venues.com travellers' rating is


from 17 reviews.

Submit a Review

Have you been to A Hilltop Country Retreat in Swellendam?
Let us know what you thought of the venue and how you enjoyed your visit to Cape Overberg.

Reviews & Comments

Showing 17 reviews (ordered by date of stay, most recent appearing first)

October 2016


Review by Howich (South-Africa)

We recently stayed in a family room. The unit is very spacious and beautifully decorated. It is kitted out with everything one could need and very comfortable. There are lovely welcoming gestures, such as milk in the fridge and complimentary sherry. We loved the wood burning fire because we had very cold weather. Will definitely recommend and

October 2016


Review by Cynthia (Germany)

Hilltop Country Retreat was the perfect overnight stay on our tour of the Garden Route - only wish we had more time to enjoy all the facilities of the beautiful House. The house is very spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, ideal for 4 people travelling together. The open plan living area with comfortable lounges, open fire place and beautiful art work to enjoy in every room and the creative touches of a very artistic owner made for a truely wonderful stay.

September 2016


Review by Sherry (Australia, Brisbane)

Swellendam is a must see destination for all visitors to South Africa! It is one of the oldest towns in the country and has a fabulous museum which provides lots of history of the area. Hilltop Country Retreat is just the perfect place to stay to enjoy it all. The accommodation is very spacious and luxurious with very comfortable beds. It is fully self contained with a well equipped kitchen and large dining and living areas decorated with an African theme. There are lots of outdoor entertaining areas with magnificent views of the Langeberg mountains and the valley below. It is close to town but set on a hill so it seems quite secluded and private. Host Lana is just SO helpful and friendly! She is a local so has a wealth of knowledge and suggestions for things to do.

September 2016


Review by Laura (Cape Town, SA)

A Hilltop Country Retreat is absolutely perfect. We sadly only stayed 1 night in the newly built unit 8. but really, I wish I could uplift the whole place and make it my home in Cape Town.

The decor is elegantly rustic with every mod-Con you could need. The kitchen was stylish and had everything you need to make a perfect meal and the separation of upstairs and downstairs is a rare godsend in a guesthouse and if you have a light sleeper as a 2yo.

The staff had ensured our daughter had a cot set up and ready and even catered for a baby bath without request. Above and beyond and is an understatement for the friendly staff.

Anyway, I can't thank the staff and owners enough for finally showing me that you can provide accommodation of an exceptional quality at a reasonable price.

September 2013


Review by Daryl-Ann (Cape Town)

Our stay at A Hilltop Country Retreat was a real 'treat'. The welcome from Jane on the Friday evening when we arrived was nothing but warm and friendly and, when she showed us our room, we were absolutely taken back by the rugged yet charming decor and comfort. All the necessities that we required were at our fingertips. The e-mails to and from Lana to arrange our weekend away was also friendly and efficient. We loved our stay there and will definitely be returning in the very near future. A truly lovely establishment!

April 2013


Review by Tom (Germany)

Very nice, very clean, lovely room, full kitchen and all really new.
Absolutely recommended if you wanna stay in Swellendam!
Not in Center of town but this means no noise and a wonderful sleep.
P.S. Best bed we had on our Trip in South Africa.

April 2013


Review by The Abduls (Cape Town)

I'm not the kind of person who likes to rough it out in the great outdoors. So for me there's nothing worse than being on holiday, paying for a weekend away and missing your home comforts. Luckily, I didn't miss home at all. I loved every minute we spent at A Hilltop Country Retreat.

Its a wonderful getaway.

The attention to detail, the effortless luxury and the thought that went into presenting the place to the guests was an absolute pleasure.

We were there over a very rainy weekend and we stayed indoors quite a bit. We were comfortable and not bored. They provided DVD's for grownups and kids. There's a fireplace and very very nice bedding.

No expense was spared, I could tell they wanted to make sure the guests were comfortable.

All of that for very reasonable rates. We were very impressed.

I highly recommend A Hilltop for your next stopover in Swellendam.

August 2012


Review by Jane Brown (South Africa)

We had a wonderful 3 nights at Hilltop thanks to Lana who was a great host.
The room we had was lovely and had everything you can think of provided.
All lovely and the log fire just made it for us

May 2012


Review by Eugene & Jannie (South Africa)

A very special and unexpected experience. The accommodation was superb. We could not have asked for more. Hope to be back soon!

April 2012


Review by Anne &Tim (Denmark)

We spent a great time here, explored the beautiful nature - mountains, beaches etc. Hilltop is a good place to stay, we were glad we found you on the internet!

April 2012


Review by Michael & Kim (U.K.)

Thank you for a very enjoyable holiday at A Hilltop. Your hospitality and the service from your staff have been first class. A Hilltop & South Africa has been our best holiday ever! "FANTASTIC"

March 2012


Review by Mrs McCann (Cape Town)

After searching high and low for self catering accommodation which suited our style, comfort and budget, my husband and I were over the moon to stumble upon A Hilltop Country Retreat.

From the pictures I could immediately tell that the owners' style, attention to detail and emphasis on delivering the highest quality and comfort to their guests was a perfect match for our requirement.

Coming from busy city living where we juggle full time jobs and raising 3 young boys, we definitely needed a luxury country retreat and that's exactly what we found at A Hilltop.

Although we only stayed one night, our batteries were thoroughly recharged in this beautiful environment. The large and well-designed room, fitted with beautiful finishes, a King Size bed, crisp Egyptian Cotton bed linen with a 400 thread count, a cosy fireplace and the display of unique ornaments and art made us feel right at home.

We opted for the option that our fridge was to be stocked for breakfast, and what a treat that was! Only the best quality all round. I really recommend this option.

For dinner, the owners recommended a romantic restaurant/pub, De Molen, 5 km outside of Swellendam, where we enjoyed a top notch T-bone steak while getting acquainted with a few of the locals.

All in all, we had an unforgettable stay at A Hilltop and will most certainly be back in time for summer when the owners hope to unveil a 20m lappool overlooking the Swellendam mountains! Can't wait!

March 2012


Review by Willy Tschopp (Cape Town)

The best Bed & Breakfast in Swellendam for shure, the only problem is it should have a 5 star rating. Thank you very much!

March 2012


Review by Dick Henry (Cape Town, South Africa)

The best two nights sleep I've had in years. You have a very high standard here. Best wishes, Dick

March 2012


Review by Leo (Jhb, South Africa)

We loved the beautiful natural setting and the peaceful decor of the rooms. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

March 2012


Review by Peter Louis (RSA)

What an amazing getaway! A Hilltop is the perfect place to recharge your batteries XXX

February 2012


Review by Hannah & Hennie Louw (Kleimond)

Soos konings ontvang, soos konings geslaap, soos konings gevoel, 5 sterre ***** Heerlike atmosfeer.

Not Available

At least one of the dates requested
is fully booked. Please refer to the calendar below to view available dates.

Pay online with these credit cards
Mastercard Visa

Quick Facts

GPS location
Latitude: -34.01398183333333
Longitude: 20.446205999666667

Closest airport(s)
Cape Town International - 215km

Children policy
Children of all ages are welcome.

Check-in/out times
Check-in from 14h00
Check-out by 11h00

Exceptions to check-in/out times may be arranged, please enquire.

Listed on SA-Venues.com
March 2012 - 17 Reviews

SA-Venues.com has been assisting travellers with their South Africa travel plans since 1999, and is the largest online travel guide for South Africa available in both English and German.

SA-Venues.com © 1999-2016. All Rights Reserved. Find and book hotels and accommodation in South Africa. Sitemap