Travellers' reviews of Umzantsi Afrika Tours, rated 5/5 at

HOW SAY YOU? The average visitor rating is:
Review by: Doris von Reding, Zurich
Addo Elephant National Park Eastern Cape (December 2014)

Dear Lynn, we sensed that you love the park and its animals which made communciations easy. You were kind from your heart, responsive, knowledgeable. We learned a lot about Addo from you and enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you also for your safe driving in a perfectly comfortable car in which relaxation was complete (apart from being central Austrian Standard clean!).
Review by: Elizabeth Collins, United Kingdom
Tailor Made Tour (May 2014)

My husband and I traveled all over South Africa last month. For the first leg of our trip we hired Umzantsi Africa to personally drive us all over Cape Town, Stellenbosch and finally Oudtshoorn. Peter was our driver; he picked us up from the airport, took us to dinner, and gave us a tour of each town.

Peter knows everything about everything. We spent many hours driving around with him and learned so much about the history of S. Africa including its geological history dating back 100s of millions of years. He knew great restaurants too. Our first night we went to the most amazing African restaurant with live music and dancing. Peter was an absolute joy to be around.

The company made our dinner reservations, booked our hotels and organized our itinerary. At the last minute they found us an even better hotel in Stellenbosch and it was well worth the switch. Literally one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. Thanks to them, my husband and I had some of our most memorable experiences in South Africa. – E Collins
Review by: Kostas Panopolous, Greece
Other Tour (January 2014)

We live in Europe but decided to visit S.A. for our honeymoon so I could introduce my wife to the country I grew up in.
We booked 3 safari day tours in the Kruger National Park through Umzantsi travel as well as a full day combo tour of Cape point and the wine lands in Cape Town. We also did a hop on hop off in the city of Cape Town. All drivers were very friendly, punctual and very helpful with anything we requested. They picked us up at our hotel in Nelspruit to take our to our Kruger National Park drives. They organized a taxi to pick us up at the airport in Cape Town and another to drop us off on the day we left. The combo tour of the Cape Point - Wine lands was also very nice. The driver - guide was very entertaining, informative and funny. The whole day was so much fun we didn't even realize the time had passed.

Anything I wanted during the trip I contacted the travel agent and they were fast at resolving it. At one point in Cape Town there was a mix-up with our taxi fair at the airport pick-up, and I payed the driver though it was included in the honeymoon package we had pre-paid. I informed them when I realized it was a mistake and although it wasn't that much money they went into all the trouble of contacting the taxi company and managed to get them to refund me in cash on the day of our departure! That was amazing customer service!

Overall it was a lifetime experience and my wife is already urging me to plan another trip to S.A. (three months later...!)
Review by: Rachel, Vermont
Elephant Back Safaris (April 2013)

I went to South Africa last year in March and had the pleasure of touring with Umzantsi for 2 of my tours, the ferry river cruise and Elephant-backed safari, both very enjoyable! I would definitely recommend this tour company!
Review by: Dr Nico J. Smit, Johannesburg Auckland Park, South Africa:
Tsitsikamma National park, Monkeyland & Birds Park (August 2008)

Thank you for your help and organization of the bus for my students to and from Tsitsikama. Everything really went very well. I will definitely be contacting you again early next year to arrange the transport for the next field trip!
Review by: Andrea Konrad, Stefan Peter, Germany
Other Tour (June 2008)

Hallo Peter, wir hatten das Glück, Mitte September, mir Dir zusammen von Kapstadt(ab Winchester Mansions) bis Port Elisabeth zu reisen. Die drei Tage waren für uns ein unvergessliches Erlebnis.

Die vielen fundierten Informationen, Tipps und Anregungen durch Dich sowie die vorher nicht eingeplanten Stopps und Abstecher haben uns sehr gut gefallen. Wir haben uns einfach wunderbar umsorgt gefühlt.

Nach Möglichkeit werden wir versuchen, auch für unseren nächsten Südafrika-Aufenthalt, eine Tour mit Dir einzubauen. Vielen, vielen Dank und Grüße aus dem (jetzt saukalten) Deutschland.
Andrea Konrad und Stefan Peter.
Review by: Roswitha & Anja - TUI TRAVELStar Reisebüro Sendig Stadt-Galerie, Germany
Other Tour (April 2008)

Hallo Peter u. Lyn,

...Ich wollte aber noch von der Reaktion unserer gemeinsamen Kunden berichten. Herr Piehler war Ende April bei mir im Büro. Er hatte sogar eine tragbaren DVD Player mitgebracht, um mir die Aufnahmen vom Haitauchen vorzuführen.

Von der Reise selbst war er restlos begeistert. Ehrlicherweise hat er auch eingestanden, dass er diese Reise niemals zu diesem Preis bekommen hätte, wenn er ein vergleichbares Angebot aus einem Katalog eines unserer großen Anbieter TUI / Dertour / Meiers Weltreisen etc. gebucht hätte. Wir haben gemeinsam also alles perferkt organisiert.
Review by: Theresa Scoble, UK
Tailor Made Tour (February 2008)

Thank you so much! We tell everyone about the gorgeous scenery and how Peter knew how all the towns were settled and named and exactly where to stop to stay over night.

It was truly an amazing experience. It is a good thing we had some excitement to come home to. Otherwise, it would have been really difficult to come back after such a great trip.
Review by: Donna Robertson, Nottingham UK
African Dream Tour (January 2008)

I have had the pleasure of taking two tours with Umzantsi Afrika Tours when I have visited South Africa from England.

I employ a chauffeur myself and am a discerning client. The planning and choice of accommodation also the places visited have been excellent. The guide, Peter Haller, is attentive and polite and pays attention to detail.

Being on a private tour has meant that we have seen more than the average tourist does and with a lot more comfort. I recommend him as a tour guide and Umzantsi Afrika Tours.
Review by: Una Monaghan, Dubai
Addo Elephant National Park (November 2006)

Just wanted to say thanks for your help with Safari, car reservation etc. The safari day was brilliant, loved every minute of it and so did my sister.

Car hire worked out great too as they upgraded to a bigger car with no extra charge! The rest of the vacation went great, had a fabulous time everywhere and the weather was very good to us. It felt like we were away for a month.

Anyway just wanted to drop you a line to say thanks for everything. Best of luck to you and Peter for 2007.
Security Image
Picture of Umzantsi Afrika Tours
Picture of Umzantsi Afrika Tours is not a booking agent and does not charge any commission or service fees to users of this site. You Deal Direct and Save on your bookings for South Africa Safaris and accommodation in South Africa. Our Editors have selected a set of related pages that may interest you if you are travelling to South Africa or explore our South Africa Attractions pages for ideas on what you will experience in South Africa.
Deal direct and save on your holiday bookings with
South AfricaSouth Africa